We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Keihan Kyoto Grande
Ranked #74 of 376 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed 24 February 2015

Booked through a third party online booking site. No issues with checking in even if we arrived very late. They have walking maps available and staff has decent English skills.

We took the airport limo bus from KIX and as stated in some of the reviews here, the station is literally right in front of the hotel so we had zero issues finding the hotel. If you have a lot of luggage and prefer not to be hassled, I highly recommend booking this hotel and taking the bus instead of the train. If you are taking the train, Kyoto Station is huge, I would suggest just looking for the entrance opposite the Kyoto Tower and exiting the door nearest to Bellmart. It's terribly hard to get your bearings when you use the underpass.

The normal city bus also has a station right in front of the hotel and this makes it ideal if you want to tour the city. In Kyoto, there are more bus lines than trains so it is more convenient to take the bus to different places. It's also extremely easy to get back to the hotel since you just need to board a bus that says Kyoto Station.

Also since you are already in Kyoto station, it would take just a couple of minutes to find convenience stores, restaurants, a Mc Donald's, a Bic Camera branch, an Isetan branch and you can check out the 10f of Kyoto Station for the Ramen Floor.

Looks like the hotel has renovated some of its floors and we were lucky enough to get on a relatively new floor. They ask you to leave your key with the reception when you leave (it's a normal key, not a card key). You can probably not do this but this is Japan so you can pretty much trust almost everyone here.

As is norm in Japan, they have food and drinks vendos on every other floor and a microwave. I've forgotten which specific floors but you can find this out on your TV.

We stayed in a triple room but it was more of a double room turned triple. This is extremely common in Japan so no issues here, just a warning for those who might be expecting large rooms.

All in all, it was a decent place to stay and for the location, very affordable. It would be a great place to use as a base since you are right there in Kyoto station.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Reg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 121 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2015

2 of us stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in a "single room for 2 people" ...apparently something was happening in Japan, it was a very busy time and I was not able to get any other hotel close to the station except this one and only this room was available. The room was very small so I do not recommend getting this size for 2 people, it is meant for only 1 person. It was very clean and the bed although small was comfortable. Other than that, the location is perfect, the check-in was smooth, the staff very kind and helpful. They kept our luggage well after check out so that we could take a tour of Arashiyama. I asked for directions to a post office and they took my package and mailed it for me! Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to others!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NativeWahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2015 via mobile

I stayed in a single room for one night after arriving in Kyoto. Having done some sightseeing in the morning using an English map provided at Kyoto station, I thought I would collect my bags and check in. Beware - the hotel was listed on the map which I thought was very handy as my phone had gone flat and understanding addresses can be tricky. The location on the map was wrong! After searching for almost an hour around the backstreets just a few streets away I thought I would go to the Avanti department store to ask for help - and stumbled across Hotel Keihan!

I was feeling less than happy at this stage, but check in was quick and easy and my room was small but warm, clean and had tea, slippers and a dressing gown - enough to cheer me up quickly.

So long as you don't rely on maps provided by the station (and I think another review mentioned the google maps location was off too), the hotel is in a great location for travelers - across the road from the station but towards the end of the station, and right next to Avanti (technically they are joined in the same building I recall). Follow signs at the station to Avanti instead of relying on maps!

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annalies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2015

Overall a rather decent hotel and appears to be popular with Japanese tourists. Location wise it is very convenient as it is located across from Kyoto Station with access to JR lines and the local metro (via an underpass) and right next door to a mall (Avanti). For those using the Google Maps app on their phones, beware that the location of the hotel is wrongly stated there.

Staff of the hotel is what made the stay memorable. They were very helpful even with the struggles with English. We had a lost luggage that had been trailing us from Narita since the day we landed and started moving all over the Japan and communication with the airport baggage service people have been a nightmare. The staff were helpful in speaking to the baggage services people and managed to get our lost luggage delivered to the hotel.

Everything in the room worked as it should. Decor and fittings are rather dated but the room and bath was clean. The in-room air purifier and humidifier was much appreciated and made sleeping in the heated room during winter quite pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank OliK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2014

Not much to complain about but not much to rave about either. The hotel is easy to locate but trying to check-in/check-out/ask the reception questions takes quite a while as there seems to always be a long queue. Room is quiet and clean.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Daryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Southern Kyoto
Hotel Kintetsu Kyoto Station
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
#82 of 376 in Kyoto
527 reviews
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#48 of 376 in Kyoto
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tower Hotel
Kyoto Tower Hotel
#73 of 376 in Kyoto
563 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
#57 of 376 in Kyoto
647 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
#26 of 376 in Kyoto
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keihan Kyoto Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keihan Kyoto Grande

Address: 31 Nishisanocho Higashi Kujo, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8003, Kyoto Prefecture (Formerly Hotel Keihan Kyoto)
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 376 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: RM431 - RM1,918 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Keihan Kyoto Grande 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Fastbooking, JAPANiCAN, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Keihan Kyoto Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing