We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mendy S
Detroit, Michigan

Japan

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Sept 2012
This was one of the few places we could find which would accomodate 4 people in one room. My children loved the Japanese style lodging. I found the mats on the floor more comfortable than any of the beds we slept in during our stay in Japan. We were able to check in early and was offered to store our luggage after check-out. Easy walk from JR station even with luggage, many convenience stores in area, bus stops, restaurants and many ideas on what to do, see, and eat contained within a booklet in the room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My children really enjoyed the free Kimono fitting offered at the Capsule.
Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
RM 688
  • Priceline
    RM 594
  • KLOOK
    RM 446
  • Expedia.com
    RM 663
0.5 km from Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
RM 1,233
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • KLOOK
    RM 878
  • Hotels.com
    RM 1,162
2.4 km from Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 324
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 223
  • Skyscanner.com
    RM 187
  • Vio.com
    RM 249
0.8 km from Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 502
  • Priceline
    RM 564
  • Agoda.com
    RM 422
  • Vio.com
    RM 450
0.7 km from Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 373
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    RM 407
  • Skyscanner.com
    RM 272
  • Priceline
    RM 285
0.4 km from Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 437
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 416
  • Agoda.com
    RM 395
  • Expedia.com
    RM 436
1.0 km from Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 251
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 222
  • Agoda.com
    RM 213
  • Expedia.com
    RM 294
2.7 km from Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn
Free Wifi
RM 1,013
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 559
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,137
  • Hotels.com
    RM 1,138
2.1 km from Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn
Restaurant
Room service
新特別室RIKYU 庭
RM 664
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 569
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 537
  • Vio.com
    RM 608
7.2 km from Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kyoto
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
96
62
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
96
62
4
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayd with my husband and 2 daughters at Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn for three night. Mr. Keiji and his freind were very kind and helpful. the ryokan is near kyoto station ( for us need 10-12 minutes to walk to the ryokan). We can take subway or bus go to everywhere.The room was clean. It's a guest house not a hotel, so they didn't make up the room everyday. we can try the Kimono (free of charge) to take a photo, and with 200 yen we can use the laundry machine. The room price is reasonable (12.900 yen for 4 people in one room with private bath room inside). I recommend this ryokan

Room tip: If u want stay at budget price, Budget inn Ryokan is good for ur choice.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hetty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Easy to get to from the station, very helpful with suggestions and directions, very quiet and comfortable. Couldn't ask for more!

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 23JulieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed with my wife and daughter for 2 nights, and it was great. Granted, it is not cheap for any other country standards, but for Japan, it is quite reasonable, and the place was very clean and confortable, ryokan-like style, so gave us a flavor of Japan-style lodging, and located very close to the Kyoto terminal, so provided excellent point from where to start the day. Overall, excellent!

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RaulMostos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Budget Inn Ryokan is easily reachable on foot from Kyoto JR station in around 10 minutes. When we arrived the hotel receptionist was very kind and let us check in before the usual check in hour because our room was already made up. He gave us a lot of information and was very helpful.
The room itself was big, with japanese style tatami and futon beds. Bathroom was private and despite not being very large it was very clean and practical, separated from wc, which was situated in a little room. Our room had a balcony too, so we could hang out the washing we made with the coin washing machine near the entrance. Wifi worked good for us. By walking back to the station you can reach any destination, either by train or by bus. A very good experience and a place we can count on if one day we will come back to Kyoto.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maxpontello
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 June 2012

My parents and I stayed at Budget Inn for 5 nights and was very happy and satisfied. In Kyoto, going everywhere is easy, all you need is WALK and BUS. Budget Inn location was good and we enjoyed the privacy it given, where our room consists of bathroom and laboratory (separately) and a small kitchen, a extremely clear TV (sadly no english-spoken channel) and balcony. I had stayed in many hostel before and none of than were so well-equipped that one needs during travel. And the information provided on the file so helpful in planning our itineraries.

The only negative comment I have is the a bit "slow" internet connection of the inn lobby computer.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmajorLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews