We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
truzoom
Kamloops, Canada

I Wanna Go Back

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Sept 2012
Our family of 4 stayed at the Budget Inn Kyoto for 3 nights in Mar 2012. We enjoyed our stay there very much. We had a busy schedule, so we didn't spend much time in the hotel. The directions we received by e-mail led us from the Kyoto JR station to the Inn with no difficulty. The walk was an easy 10-15 minutes. We found the desk staff friendly, helpful and English savvy, The accommodations were comfortable and housekeeping/cleanliness was very good. Self serve tea in the lounge was a nice touch. Our party of 14 was split between Budget Inn and Capsule Ryokan, which is a few steps away. Both are under the same management. As group organizer, I did not hear of a single complaint concerning our accomodations. It represented good value for money. I recommend Budget Inn and Capsule Ryokan without hesitation. I wanna go back some day.
Date of stay: March 2012
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
RM 799
RM 271
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 515
RM 479
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 436
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 495
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 919
  • Booking.com
2.4 km from Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Rakuten Travel
    RM 327
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 233
  • Hotels.com
2.7 km from Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 927
  • Priceline
2.1 km from Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn
Restaurant
Room service
新特別室RIKYU 庭
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 538
  • Booking.com
7.2 km from Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kyoto
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
96
62
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
96
62
4
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This was one of the few places we could find which would accomodate 4 people in one room. My children loved the Japanese style lodging. I found the mats on the floor more comfortable than any of the beds we slept in during our stay in Japan. We were able to check in early and was offered to store our luggage after check-out. Easy walk from JR station even with luggage, many convenience stores in area, bus stops, restaurants and many ideas on what to do, see, and eat contained within a booklet in the room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My children really enjoyed the free Kimono fitting offered at the Capsule.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayd with my husband and 2 daughters at Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn for three night. Mr. Keiji and his freind were very kind and helpful. the ryokan is near kyoto station ( for us need 10-12 minutes to walk to the ryokan). We can take subway or bus go to everywhere.The room was clean. It's a guest house not a hotel, so they didn't make up the room everyday. we can try the Kimono (free of charge) to take a photo, and with 200 yen we can use the laundry machine. The room price is reasonable (12.900 yen for 4 people in one room with private bath room inside). I recommend this ryokan

Room tip: If u want stay at budget price, Budget inn Ryokan is good for ur choice.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hetty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Easy to get to from the station, very helpful with suggestions and directions, very quiet and comfortable. Couldn't ask for more!

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 23JulieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed with my wife and daughter for 2 nights, and it was great. Granted, it is not cheap for any other country standards, but for Japan, it is quite reasonable, and the place was very clean and confortable, ryokan-like style, so gave us a flavor of Japan-style lodging, and located very close to the Kyoto terminal, so provided excellent point from where to start the day. Overall, excellent!

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RaulMostos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Budget Inn Ryokan is easily reachable on foot from Kyoto JR station in around 10 minutes. When we arrived the hotel receptionist was very kind and let us check in before the usual check in hour because our room was already made up. He gave us a lot of information and was very helpful.
The room itself was big, with japanese style tatami and futon beds. Bathroom was private and despite not being very large it was very clean and practical, separated from wc, which was situated in a little room. Our room had a balcony too, so we could hang out the washing we made with the coin washing machine near the entrance. Wifi worked good for us. By walking back to the station you can reach any destination, either by train or by bus. A very good experience and a place we can count on if one day we will come back to Kyoto.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maxpontello
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews