We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
travelswrites
Denver, Colorado

Great location, superb staff, comfortable and secure

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Feb 2017
Fun to stay in a Japanese style ryokan near the transportation hubs of Kyoto. The staff was friendly and helpful, all as expected. The room was clean, the bathroom small but incredibly efficiently set up. We used the washer-dryer available, too. Recommended.
Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
RM 799
RM 271
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 660
RM 479
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 466
RM 436
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 491
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
    RM 326
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 232
  • Hotels.com
2.7 km from Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn
Free Wifi
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
    RM 909
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn
Restaurant
Room service
新特別室RIKYU 庭
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 537
  • Booking.com
7.2 km from Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kyoto
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
96
62
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
96
62
4
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2017

The family room was clean and comfortable and the service was excellent. We stayed for 8 nights and enjoyed it very much. Less that 10 minutes walk to Kyoto Station and close to grocery stores, many restaurants and cafes. The perfect place to base yourself to see all of Kyoto's sites. So much to see and do and so little time. We hope to return someday soon.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mjpearce68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We are a family of 5 (kids aged 19, 17,13) staying in December of 2016 for 6 nights. The Budget Inn was very easy to find, very well located near the train station. It was clean and staff were very helpful and friendly. Our first night the room smelt of smoke (unfortunately someone had smoked inside the room, which they are not supposed to) when we asked if we could change rooms there was no hesitation in doing so in fact staff were very apologetic for the situation. There is a bakery near by where we purchased pastries and brought them back to the Inn to eat for breakfast. They have communal room to sit (on the floor traditional style) and eat however we preferred the dining room in the Capsule Ryokin (associated accommodation) literally around the corner where we sat on chairs. The have amenities available as well. There are lots of places to choose from to eat nearby. They have a manual in the room with lots of information about what to do and where to eat which I found extremely helpful. During our stay we took the bullet train to Hiroshima and Osaka. We also visited the Bamboo Forrest which I really enjoyed. They allowed us to squeeze a fifth person into a room that is usually for 4 so it was a bit tight however we were appreciative that were able to do this as it made it more economical for us. Accommodation in Japan can be expensive but staying at the Budget Inn made it affordable. We even received parting gifts. It is budget accommodation but that's all we needed. Great stay with great service.

Room tip: Be sure to close the curtains at night otherwise the lights from the hospital may keep you up.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Locate near Kyoto station, near bus stop, easy to visit many places on foot. Staffs are very active and helpful, we're much appreciated. Of course, I will recommend to my friends.
PS. I found a nice Bento (take away) on the way from Kyoto station to the hotel, good price and tasty

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank pphassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

We are a family of four and stayed at the Budget Inn for four nights and we were so happy. The service is so good and friendly; they have thought about everything you could need as a tourist. The bed are really good, we slept so well and the rooms are clean.

It's nearby the train station witch is nice when you arrive, leave and are going places. There are many places to eat in the area and hang out with locals. There's also a french bakery and in the trainstation there's an cafe if you need to start your morning with something familiar.

It is far from the center, the old City and many of the tourist places but it is easy to move around in Kyoto and the taxi is not that ekspensive.

(Sorry for my poor english)

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank lmn1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

My father, sister, two sons (aged 7 and 10) and I were in Kyoto for the final 4 nights of our Japan trip. We checked out on the 4th July 2016 and returned to Australia yesterday. The family room exceeded my expectations. It was clean, the staff were friendly and helpful and it was close to Kyoto Station. The room was cleaned daily to s high standard. I am very glad we stayed in this area, as I had initially booked us in to a more central Kyoto location. We did day trips to Universal Studios in Osaka, Nara, and Hiroshima, returning late so being near the station was extremely convenient. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for somewhere clean, nicely renovated, cheap and convenient to stay. I don't have a single complaint.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews