We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Similar to a hostel, but with that quirky capsule experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sun Play Inn Nagahori
Ranked #176 of 321 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Reviewed 8 December 2016

As a solo female traveler I didn't feel comfortable on a co-ed floor. Luckily, this one offered an all female floor. They give you a key to get in and a locker so you can safely put your stuff away. You get a capsule assignment and in the capsule there's electrical plugs, a little TV, a shelf and wiggle room. Honestly, I stay in hostels so this didn't phase me at all. I liked the experience and have recommended this place since. I felt safe and left some of my stuff IN the bed with me (my backpack was too big for the thin lockers). There's a few showers and a huge vanity and sink area if you want to do makeup there. I'd stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank crishie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2015

Reasonable close to the city centre and the main shopping area. The B&C (Business and Capsule) Hotel can be found in between the two metro stations of Shinsaibashi and Matsuyamachi. In fact, the two stations are connected by an underground mall that runs underneath the main road that the hotel is located on. Look at the other reviews for directions to the hotel. As I had arrived past 12pm (metro had stopped running), I walked from the Namba train station through the shopping and bar / lounge area to get to the hotel. There are 2 entrances to the hotel from both sides of the road (main and back alley road). The ground floor is the restaurant where breakfast is served and the lobby is located on the 2nd floor. It is a typical capsule hotel where you have to leave all your larger bags at the check in desk and only bring a smaller backpack / pouch up to the capsule floor with the individual lockers where you will find your robe, slippers & towel. The shower is also the typical men's squat shower with a communal hot tub / jacuzzi (which is nice to sit in after walking all over the city at the end of the day). The capsule itself is large enough to sit up in if you aren't over 1.8m tall. There is 10 or so free TV channels if you wish to watch some local entertainment before bed. Depending on who is occupying the neighbouring capsules, the snoring can be quite loud so it is best to bring ear plugs. There is a power point in the capsule to help charge up your devices for the next day. The wifi is only available in the lobby area though I got a So-Net data only 4G LTE SIM card from the Osaka Kansai airport vending maching (1GB for 3000 yen or 3GB for 5000 yen) which still worked in the capsule. There is also a spa in the hotel but I did not make use of the facilities there. The free toiletries and toothbrushes are handy if you forgot to bring something on your trip.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2015

I've stayed in many capsule hotels before and can say this one is like a 5-star hotel compared to the rest. The price is medium for capsule hotel standard. It's not the cheapest but I've seen capsule hotels with double the price yet with so much worse condition.
Location-wise it's convenient. The nearest Metro is Nagahoribashi st, there's a long underground passage called Crysta Nagahoribashi which has elevators to lead you to ground level, so you can conveniently drag your luggage here and choose the nearest elevator to the hotel.
The male room is more expensive than female room. I think it's because the onsen (public bath) is for male only. The capsule is decent, with so many buttons (lights, alarm clock, etc) available next to you inside the capsule. The buttons are written in Japanese (I speak the language) only, so if you don't understand Japanese you might spend a while figuring out which one does which. There is TV and electric plug inside the capsule.
There is a locker provided (with lock you can choose) for each guest that has pajama (yukata), slippers, towels (both big and face ones) and some amenities. The bathroom is great, they have nice and wide shower rooms, with amenities like toothbrush, face cream, cutips etc free of charge.

My only complaints:
- Wi-Fi sucks, don't even think about it, it's almost non-existent
- You can't call the elevator from ground floor (imagine you just arrived with a big suitcase), you have to go to the reception floor and call the elevator to ground floor or tell the reception you carry suitcases

Room Tip: As in every capsule hotel, lower capsule is more comfy and easier to bring your stuff in
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LavaGyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2015

地下鉄長堀橋駅から徒歩30秒、大通り沿いなので迷う心配はありません。
シングルルームを利用しましたが、カプセルルームもあるようです。
部屋の広さは必要充分です。部屋に浴室はありませんが、その分トイレが広くて快適です。
風呂は大浴場があるので問題ありません。サウナもあるので、ゆっくり楽しめます。
レストランもあるのですが、無料休憩所としても使えるようで、持ち込みOKらしいです。
支払いはクレジットカードが使えます。
チェックイン時にレストランで使える生ビール半額券がもらえるので、忘れずに使いましょう。
朝食も同じレストランで食べられます。食べ放題ではなく1人1プレートでサービスされます。
和食と洋食から選べます。和食ならご飯と味噌汁はおかわりできます。
レストランでも部屋でも無料の無線LANでインターネット接続可能です。

You don't worry about to loose the direction from the station because the hotel locates beside the major street and the way from the nearest station Nagahori-bashi station of the Osaka City Subway is straight.
I stayed in a single room. They have also the capsel rooms. The single room has enough for a person, and no bathroom except restroom. The restroom is larger than that of ordinary hotels.
You can use the public bathroom in the hotel. There is a SAUNA room so that you can enjoy and relax.
They have a IZAKAYA-style restaurant in the hotel. You can have your supper with a glass of beer.
In addition to this, you can use the restaurant as a resting room with bring in drink or food by yourself. You will get a coupon ticket for beer half off, don't miss it!
You can have a breakfast in the reastaurant, and choose Japanese or Western style. Although it's not a buffet style, you can get another bowl of rice and Miso-soup (or toasts, I guess).
You can accsess the Internet via free WiFi service provided by the hotel in your room.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kaz594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Really good! I had never done a capsule in Japan and always wanted to.

First off, location. 5 minute walk from Shinsaibashi subway. I couldn't find exit 5 as suggested by others so asked, all good. Walk along the street parallel to the main street. Find Zara and and walk along the right side. The name isn't in English but 'business and capsule' is written at the front. Need to go through a cafe to the second floor for the reception.

Not much English from the staff but they try. Best to try to speak Japanese if you know any. They do have English print outs but mostly Japanese around the hotel.

I stayed at on the women's capsule floor. Small lockers so I left my suit case at reception. Bathroom is amazing. Hair products, makeup cleaners, face cleanser and so on. Very nice.

Wifi only on the 2nd floor but Internet computers on 3 floor too. Code for wifi needed.

Nice place, mostly Japanese and very quiet

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EJ_Jag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Ave Tennoji Hotel
Ave Tennoji Hotel
#280 of 321 in Osaka
11 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Business Hotel Shinbashi
Business Hotel Shinbashi
#255 of 321 in Osaka
20 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Business Hotel Chuo
Business Hotel Chuo
#84 of 321 in Osaka
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sakura Suite Osaka
#207 of 321 in Osaka
9 reviews
Hotel Chuo Selene
#115 of 321 in Osaka
99 reviews
Hotel Taiyo
#157 of 321 in Osaka
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Play Inn Nagahori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Play Inn Nagahori

Address: 1-10-3 Higashishinsaibashi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0083, Osaka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 321 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range: RM113 - RM277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun Play Inn Nagahori 2*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sun Play Inn Nagahori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing