We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hostel - cosy and friendly”
Review of Hostel 64 Osaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostel 64 Osaka
Ranked #20 of 316 Speciality lodging in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Cute common room area with heaps of books, magazines and helpful staff. There was a bit of an error with our booking (because we arrived late they gave the room to someone else, even though we had given notice of our expected arrival time), however the hostel quickly made an unoccupied staff room available to us, which was very spacious and modern - and an upgrade to what we would have been staying in otherwise. The customer service here is great. The location is a bit of a walk from the main area (15-20 mins), but there are plenty of public transport options - or just hire a bike from the hostel!

Room Tip: The private rooms are nice and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kirsteen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Really nice hostel, clean and staff are very helpful.

Great location, only 3minutes from the underground station.

Only thing I would say is that the privacy curtain should be a curtain rather then a sash. Still the best hostel I visited in Japan.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

I quite enjoyed this place. My room was in the basement during the summer and it is quite cool, comfy bed and pretty private. Access to washroom and bathroom are fairly easy (up one flight of stairs). The staff was super helpful too. If I needed help or need of any recommendations, they're quite helpful and enjoy helping you. Though, I don't think this place has an elevator so it can be a pain for people with bad mobility. Also, carrying a suitcase from the reception floor to down to the basement might be a bit of challenge because, the stairs a bit steep.

There are 2 subways close by (One 10min walk other 15min). I recommend having an ICOCA or SUICA (if you came from Tokyo side), so you can dump money on to your card and take the subway with less hassle. Note: The subways are not part of JR, so you can't use JR Railpass. It is pretty easy to get to and from the Hostel to anywhere in Osaka. Also, having a portable hotspot WiFi on your trip through Japan would help too!

The neighbourhood is quite nice. It's quiet and calm. I didn't see a lot of people during the daytime on a weekday. There are several convenience stores near by if you need to get cash from an ATM.

If I'm back in Osaka and need a place, I'd definitely choose this place again.

Extra stuff:
Free WiFi is good and reliable.

Breakfast western style:
2places I tried that's not too far from the Hostel:
Eggs 'n Things - good food but pretty expensive.
West Wood Bakers - good food but seating isn't as plentiful as Eggs 'n Things. I went here twice because the price was quite good.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Sush a nice place With Lovely foodoptions in the neighborhood. The staff is verry welcoming and tjek have good local beer and a massage chair! Good and verry clean rooms. If You enjoy meeting People This place is a bit quilt..

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tamar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

We stayed four nights here in Osaka, and the location was perfectly placed to explore the surrounding areas. You are close to two different subway lines, so it made it easy to get around.
We stayed in a private double room, which had a comfy double bed, and a nice little couch to relax on. The building is beautifully designed, however the wood floors and sliding doors do make for a noisy room if any of your neighbours are coming home late at night.
The toilets and showers are nice - especially the ones on the first floor with the common areas. We did have a few guests break the no hairdrying late at night rule - which made for some sleepless nights. Otherwise a fantastic little hostel - definitely recommend the breakfast set - such great value, and delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meg_cameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
4.5 km away
Osaka Guesthouse Nest
Osaka Guesthouse Nest
#8 of 316 in Osaka
80 reviews
1.1 km away
Osaka Hana Hostel
Osaka Hana Hostel
#9 of 316 in Osaka
281 reviews
2.5 km away
Drop Inn Osaka
Drop Inn Osaka
#5 of 316 in Osaka
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Fuku Hostel
Fuku Hostel
#1 of 316 in Osaka
209 reviews
3.2 km away
Hostel Namba Minami Kanon
2 km away
Fuku Hostel Nagomi
Fuku Hostel Nagomi
#3 of 316 in Osaka
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel 64 Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel 64 Osaka

Address: 3-11-20 Shinmachi, Nishi-ku, Osaka 550-0013, Osaka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 316 Speciality lodging in Osaka
Price Range: RM 183 - RM 265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel 64 Osaka 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed Boutique Hostel in the central Osaka, Japan. Friendly staff will welcome you! Please enjoy the atmosphere and interior decoration of this charming building renovated by local architect designer. There are three styles of rooms. -Purely Japanese tatami room (futon mat / Ryokan style) -Western style bed room -Dormitory (very spacious and higly independent) Located in walkable distance to Shinsaibashi, Minami (the shopping and nightlife area). 5min walk to two subway stations. Good access to Kyoto, Kobe and Nara. 1 and half hour to KIX by train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hostel 64 Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing