We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury hotel but the rooms do not match!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka
Ranked #31 of 298 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Luxury hotel but the rooms do not match!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Luxury hotel but the rooms do not match!
I was impressed with the lobby, restaurants, staff, the service and all the facilites of this place but the room I got was a deception, except for the bed that was very confortable the room and bathroon looks like it hasn't been renovated since the 70's, maybe it was the tower i was staying at (west tower) because i couldn't believe the diference was so big!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W0rldTraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    789
    253
    57
    20
See reviews for
373
292
252
491
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
255 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

I was upgraded to the "Executive floor" upon booking. The room was OK, especially the bed (very confortable), altough the finishings - bathroom, etc. - are not really the lastest standard. There was a huge queue at the breakfast buffet, which I never experienced and the staff response was disappointing. There were large groups of families with children, which have a right to be noisy and slow in moving, but not really a treat for the business traveller. Luckily enough, we had the option of eating at the executive lounge, although they offered only the bare essentials. During other months of the year the situation is probably different, the staff however is not trained to respond in a proper manner or to handle situations - even slightly - different from the usual. The congierge also did not accept to credit airline mileage because the payment was made directly from the office. Even if there were no major fault, all considered, I would like to stay at a different location next time. Small problems always happen, but it is the response that counts.

Room Tip: Try to be upgraded to the executive floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luigi_Fino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuxuryOnABudgetNY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed one night at Rihga Royal Osaka. It was a huge and busy hotel.

I had a Tower Wing room with a king bed. The room was clean but seemed to be showing age as the hotel itself.

The main problem I had was that the room only had central air conditioning, and it was blowing hot air into the room (I should have taken the picture). I called the front desk and they made a change, but it was still blowing air - just not nearly as hot and not as strong.

I had a Japanese breakfast at one of the restaurants downstairs. The food was ok but nothing special. It was apparent that the food was prepared in advance to deal with a huge number of customers. I believe that is common practice among large hotels.

Overall, the hotel was acceptable, but I will try a newer and smaller hotel next time. Since Rihga Royal has been a well-known brand in Japan, I guess my expectation was relatively high, but the hotel did not live up to my expectation.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxuryOnABudgetNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

Very clean comfy hotel with lots of dining options and regular bus into Osaka shops.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

This is a very big hotel and does not have a cozy feeling, but it does have great concierge services. You can also send you bag from the hotel to another hotel in Japan which is nice.
The concierge services are great and can help you with purchasing the train tickets. You can't buy them there but you can get the type of ticket and the seat location and have them write this for you in Japanese and take it to the train station to purchase the ticket.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soccergirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Imperial Hotel Osaka
#7 of 298 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Hankyu International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Hyatt Regency Osaka
Hyatt Regency Osaka
#22 of 298 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#49 of 298 in Osaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
The Westin Osaka
The Westin Osaka
#20 of 298 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka

Property: RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka
Address: 5-3-68 Nakanoshima, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0005, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#12 Business Hotel in Osaka
#18 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#19 Family Hotel in Osaka
#31 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price range (per night): RM407 - RM1,523
Hotel Class:4 star — RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 984
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising above the waterways of Nakanoshima, the RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka (our group flagship) offers the finest in traditional Japanese services, luxurious rooms, banquet halls and restaurants, plus delightful surroundings: the perfect combination for a relaxing stay in Osaka. During its history of over half a century as Osaka's premier hotel, the RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka has played host to innumerable guests from Japan and overseas and has kept pace with the emergence of Osaka as one of the world's most prominent commercial cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, JAPANiCAN and HotelQuickly so you can book your RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rihga Royal Osaka Hotel Osaka
Osaka Rihga Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing