We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$71
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$74/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Monterey Nagasaki(Nagasaki)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$76/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$67
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$89/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki(Nagasaki)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$67/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$135
US$109
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
US$76
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$74
US$55
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$515
US$475
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
37
56
12
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
56
12
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roomwifi connectionsfree walking tourjr stationmin walkair conevery guesttram stopbridgefacilitiescityenglishlaundryprivacycurtains
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2017

I had a lovely time at the Akari hostel. The employees are welcoming and helpful, the beds are good and the kitchen and common room very warm. A plus : the quiet and filled with books bookroom.
Only regret : no breakfast. But the hostel is very ideally situated and offers a detailed map with all the nice places where to eat near the hostel !
Another plus : different wi-fi connections for each floor, so you can always have a good access.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TTTT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

We stayed in this hostel for two nights whilst in Nagasaki. Staff were friendly and helpful if you have any questions. We arrived a bit earlier, and they allowed us to check in, even though it was their lunch time. The room was small but comfortable. We had our own private shower and toilet, which were both clean. There isn't an elevator (if you have a lot of luggage) but this wasn't a problem for us. There is a small lounge area and kitchen on the ground floor. Wifi worked well.

It's easy enough to get to via the tram from JR Nagasaki station. You can also walk down the river (which is quite nice, and lit up with lanterns during festival time), and within 10mins you'll reach a strip of shops and restaurants. It was fairly convenient getting to places e.g. Chinatown and 26 Matrys Museum.

We'd recommend staying at this hostel if you are in Nagasaki!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dave_n_judes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We had a nice time at this hostel. The location was about a 20 minute journey from the JR station (a tram ride of about 3 stops and 5 minute walk). The best part about the location is that it was right by the old river and traditional bridges that cross it, so as soon as you walk out the door you have a nice setting to walk into the town by the water which is very pleasant. The main hub of activity seemed to be heading down toward the port about a bit over a 5 minute walk away, near Chinatown.

They had a cool local map they had designed with points of interest. Some of the markings weren't very accurate and we couldn't find what they had indicated, but those we did find were really pretty good (an old tapestry designer's studio, for example). The staff were helpful and the facilities in the hostel were generally pretty good.

The building is old and our room was quite nice. Only issue would have been the bed that seemed to slope toward the middle and leave us feeling like a bit uncomfortable, as well as the sheets weren't as comfy and clean as some other places.

Finally there wasn't too much of a cool, communal, young vibe about the hostel. Maybe it was the older building or the people that were there at the time. Perfectly nice place with good location and staff, but just not really vibrant and fun like some other places.

Room Tip: Good option for Nagasaki stay
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steekomajeeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016

They allowed me to check in early (about 1 pm) and to safely leave my backpack in the room behind the front desk when I checked out early the next morning so I could "comfortably" tour Glover Garden, Dejima, the Atomic Bomb Museum & the Peace Park before going back to the hostel in the evening to pick up my stuff and head to the station for the train to Hakata, and one of the staff gentlemen also told me to take the tram Line 3 from near the Peace Park for the direct route back to Kokaido-mae Station near the hostel after my day's tour (I was initially planning to take Line 1 to Nagasaki-Ekimae from that famous site in the north of the city since I thought there was only Line 1 up there), so yes cannot thank them enough for such "superb" customer service! :) Also liked very much the wide stairways & hallways with "perfect cleanliness". The only downsides I encountered are "somewhat-small" lockers (my medium-sized backpack could not go in) and no elevator (I wished there was since my room was on like the fourth floor), and also I didn't see here a lounge or a living-room-kind-of area unlike at all the other hostels of Japan & Korea that I stayed at (especially the spacious tatami living rooms at Khaosans in Sapporo & Kyoto).

The location is quiet and "charming" where just across the small street in front of the Hostel is a "serenely beautiful" river with a number of stone bridges over it (including the popular Spectacles Bridge). As for the "sites" nearby, about a 10-minute walk to the east (opposite direction from the river) is the temple row or cluster with Kofukuji on the north end and Sofukuji on the south end which are both Chinese temples worth checking out with great settings inside, and about a 10-minute walk to the south (just pretty much alongside the river) is Hamanmachi Shopping Street with a long arch-shaped roof similar to the ones you would see at any other city of Japan (I loved all those covered market streets with easy availability of all kinds of food, ate at McDonald's in this street). Also, just near Hamanmachi & right beside the river is Nishihamanomachi Station from which you can take the tram Line 5 to the "very-popular" Glover Garden further south (get off at Ouratenshudo-shita Station & take a short walk).

If arriving by train at Nagasaki Station, it's about a 20-to-25 minute walk east to get to the Hostel, but you could also take a short tram ride on Line 3 from Nagasaki-Ekimae Station (right outside the train station) to Kokaido-mae Station and it's just about a 5-minute walk to the Hostel from there by crossing the river.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Just finished staying here for two nights. Right from the get go the staff were lovely and spoke great English. The room was awesome and the guide material provided was also very useful. Then when my friend lost his cards in Nagasaki the staff were very helpful, calling the tram service and restaurant we thought they were and then sending them to us when they were found once we left. Great experience!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews