We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better spend the money eating!”

LaZat Malaysian Cooking Class
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Come and visit Lazat Malaysian Cooking School and bring back an authentic taste of Malaysia! Our hands-on cooking classes are held Monday to Saturday and presented in English by entertaining Malaysian instructors. We are located just outside Kuala Lumpur city centre and our school is furnished with purpose made demonstration tables and individual cooking stations. Each day of the week we teach a different ethnic menu and provide detailed explanations of ingredients and cooking methods. Students individually prepare their own 4-course lunch, usually consisting of an appetizer, main course, side dish and dessert. Malaysian cuisine is a unique fusion of Malay, Chinese, Indian and Baba-Nonya flavors, drawing upon our country's rich history as an historical crossroads for explorers and traders from around the globe. At LaZat our goal is to bring Malaysian cooking to the world by sharing with you our family recipes, which we have savored and perfected over generations.
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Ok, I have never joined a paid touristic cooking class where they charge you a bundle to learn how to cook simple things but I suppose this is the kind of classes.
Anyway, I always thought the money spent there is better spent eating the different varieties of food out there.
If you like something, try it again because "I have so many things to try!"

Thank azli j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 59 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2017

This was my third time back to attend LaZat's cooking school which I have enjoyed every time. I learn new things each time and thoroughly enjoyed my day again today. The market visit is always enlightening and interesting, the breakfast of canai roti & coconut chutney was delicious - rotis cooked before our eyes. Our cooking class enjoyed making scrumptious beef Rendang, cooked carrot & cucumber salad & coconut balls wrapped in banana leaves. Our teacher Hany did an excellent job and it was fun to have Ana join us for an impromptu noodle cooking lesson.

Thank Sydntooli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lazatcooking, Owner at LaZat Malaysian Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

You cannot imagine how wonderful it is to read your warm, enthusiastic comments about our cooking classes. Your thoughts inspire us to continue our passion of cooking for our guests. We are so happy that you came back to see us for the third time, to again experience our favorite Malaysian recipes, and we hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

I did the short course with my husband on the 28th Feb. We have been on a few courses in Thailand, UK and Vietnam.
This course is run very well - they have obviously refined it over the years to accommodate everyone's different levels and standards of cooking. We were also impressed at the care taken to look after you and the prep work which means you get to enjoy the fun bits - cooking.
The market was interesting - we spent time at individual stalls and it was good to share different ways of using produce.
The cooking it self was very well paced and we cooked a lovely meal which actually tasted pretty good.
The staff are excellent and will encourage you from all angles.
Would recommend to anyone who wants to try something different - suitable for couples and single travellers.

Thank Cornflakerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lazatcooking, Owner at LaZat Malaysian Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Thank you sooo much for the generous feedback! The entire team at LaZat is grateful for your kind words, which motive us to continue with our passion of cooking Malaysian dishes for our guests. Bon Appetit! We hope you will join us again when your travels bring you to KL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Enjoyable class with some delicious recipes. started the class with a tour around the local markets. Good starter class on malaysian cooking with breakfast included.
Only downside it is a long day and attempting to cook 3 recipes in a short space of time is too much for a teaching class. Spent too long on teaching of roti and tasting. Felt towards the end we were being pressurized to rush our cooking (despite being told to be patient with our cooking!) and lunch period because there was also an afternoon class.
Good activity to do though if you're looking for something different on your stay in KL

Thank mkscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lazatcooking, Owner at LaZat Malaysian Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Thank you for sharing your day with LaZat Cooking, and thank you for your valuable comments regarding the class. The entire team at LaZat works hard to make sure that our guests have an enjoyable experience, so we take your words to heart and will ponder them with care. We hope you will continue to share our love of cooking Malaysian dishes, and we hope you learned a little bit from the class.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

My partner and I decided to do something different whilst visiting Malaysia and as we are both into our food, we opted for this. If you are looking for a Malaysian authentic cooking class and experience, look no further. The owner, Anna is really the heart of the operation and makes the whole day so special. We started in the local market with breakfast and a tour, then cooked a curry and two side dishes, and then had the pleasure of eating it. It was so delicious and an interesting day learning about malaysian cuisine, of which Ana and Hani (our teacher) were clearly so passionate about. Thanks for a great day!

1  Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lazatcooking, Owner at LaZat Malaysian Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Thank you for your beautiful words about our cooking class, from one foodie to another! We are so happy that you enjoyed the experience of cooking Malaysian dishes with us, and we are always glad to see the word "delicious, for that is one of our passions, to provide you with a marvelous and delicious experience. Thank you again so much for visiting us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed LaZat Malaysian Cooking Class also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to LaZat Malaysian Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing