We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something strange going on.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #26 of 353 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2017

The management and staff of this place seem to operate with a chip on their shoulder it would seem. Perhaps this place is intended for ethnic Malays and visiting Muslims only. Strangely the bathroom is open to the bedroom.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icecream90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 2,642 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

Other than the lobby at this hotel nothing is Five star about it.
Was forced to stay here as it was close to the hospital we needed and was not happy at all
I cannot understand the raving reviews some people have written about this place. Certainly not five star by any means.
The rooms are large but very old and dated. Bathrooms were nice and spacious. And cleanliness was not a priority at this hotel.
I can certainly think of better hotels in KL to stay in, but maybe the price of this one attracts people and I guess you get what you pay for.
Even the staff were not particularly friendly, and check in was not pleasant.
Concierge guy was nice though.
Breakfast was vast but tasteless.
They charged me £ 5 for a Diet Coke at breakfast, don’t think their whole buffet was worth that much.
Will not be staying there again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Juliekass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerRCKL, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Juliekass,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologise on the instances that made your experience less than perfect.

We have shared your feedback with the respective departments for immediate improvements. As our goal is to welcome guests to experience a true Malaysian hospitality, we continuously seek ways to enhance the overall experience of valued guests like yourself.

We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you and to regain your trust in Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you very much and have a great day ahead.

Sincerely,

Kamaruddin Baharin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

Stayed at the Royale Chulan some time ago and really enjoyed my stay then and was not disappointed this time. The hotel is very impressive in looks and style. Location is good with the Pavilion shopping mall a short walk and the shopping area of Bukit Bintang close by. Staff all friendly and professional and make you feel very welcomed.
Room good size, clean and well maintained. Breakfast also had a large variety of selections which was very enjoyable. Used the gym and swimming pool regularly especially the pool also had a great massage in there spa. Would not hesitate to stay the Royale Chulan again.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerRCKL, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Colin M,

Warm greetings from Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you very much for leaving us your wonderful feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you had a great time with us.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Have a nice day!

Sincerely,

Kamaruddin Baharin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

We stayed there for three nights. Things were largely good for two nights till things went wrong on the last. First the good: Nice, spacious rooms, decent ambience and feel - nice lobby and nice colonial look from outside. Staff generally very warm - Wizam in the concierge was particularly helpful with directions, information, etc. Location is good - walking distance to Pavillion Mall and even to KLCC. Breakfast spread was good but as is typical in many hotels, was the same food on all days. Some variety will be good.
Now the disappointments: On the last day, hot water stopped in the middle of a shower and had to complete the shower in cold water. Staff attended to immediately but when supply resumed, water was cold and dirty. We had to call a second time to get it fixed. On the last morning, muesli in the breakfast tasted spoilt, which was a shock. When we informed staff, it was removed from the line. Staff at the spa also mixed up one of our massage selections - not what you expect. The other though minor issue was very limited vegetarian options in the inhouse restaurants - only pasta, pizza and salad. And the pricing is wrong - a large pizza costs almost the same as a coffee. So while the pizza is great value, the coffee is really expensive!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view of Petronas towers, the view at night is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sing76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerRCKL, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Sing76,

Thank you for sending us your feedback based on your recent stay with us.

It has to come to our attention that you have encountered an unfavourable experience during your stay. Please accept our sincere apology on the instances that made your stay less than perfect.

Based on the issues addressed, kindly be informed that our hotel is currently upgrading our facilities to serve you better.

Nevertheless, rest assured that your feedback has been conveyed to our respective departments for immediate improvements.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Kamaruddin Baharin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

When i talk about this hotel, everything is positive from my experience. The room is spacious for 3 adults. bathroom is perfect and big. So far its the best hotel room with afordable price. The area is very near pavilion mall (the biggest mall in kuala lumpur). Not to mention the buffet every morning which is so many various of food. Recommended. 5 star for sure.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank alvinalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerRCKL, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Dear Alvinalexander,

Greetings from Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur! :)

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us.

Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur continues to strive and deliver efficient service standards and we are delighted to know that we have achieved this during your stay with us.

Thank you once again for providing us with your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kamaruddin Baharin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
2.1 km away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.3 km away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Istana
Hotel Istana
#27 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
4,100 reviews
3 km away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
1.4 km away
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
#18 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Address: 5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#26 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: RM 327 - RM 444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur incorporates contemporary services and facilities and features Malaysia's unique architecture. Guests have the opportunity to relax in one of the 402 rooms and suites or in any of the well-appointed serviced apartments and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing