We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel let down by food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Samadhi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Samadhi
Ranked #1 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel let down by food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I spent a night at this beautiful hotel hidden away in the heart of KL. Amazingly large room and bathroom complete with our own jacuzzi, The room leading straight out into a beautiful pool. The staff were very helpful and manager was very knowledgable about KL. Having just come from the Samadhi's sister hotel The Japamala on Tioman Island were we had been spoilt by the wonderful food we had great hopes for the food here as well. We were initially surprised that on a Friday night we were the only ones dining in the restaurant however when our food arrived we knew why ! My husbands Duck starter was a mass of soggy pancake with only a little filling in the middle and my main course of spaghetti with prawns and garlic was just that, a tasteless bowl of dry spaghetti with 3 prawns plonked on the top and a few slices of garlic ! We were so disappointed after our high hopes and this is why we are only giving the hotels 4 stars.

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KLsamadhi, Manager at Villa Samadhi, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Michele B
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Villa.
We are of course sad and apologetic to hear that your dining experience was not up to scratch, I will personally look into what happened in the kitchen that evening. Thank you for choosing to stay with the Samadhi group both at Japamala and at Villa Samadhi in KL. Sincerely, Ewan and the happy team at Villa Samadhi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    121
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
51
535
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I had a wonderful stay at Villa Samadhi and recommend it to anyone who's looking for a luxurious but laid back hotel with a boutique flair. The staff welcomes you like a friend arriving and makes you feel at home right away. I had the privilege to enjoy a sarang room. It was enormous with a view over the beautiful swimming pool, a fantastic bathroom, a private jacuzzi on the balcony and a very large - but for me personally unnecessary - kitchen.
The breakfast is very nice and caters to many tastes. The restaurant was not that convincing in my opinion regarding dinner. You can most likely find better value for the money elsewhere.

Stayed February 2017, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank GoTravel196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KLsamadhi, Manager at Villa Samadhi, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear GoTravel196

Thank you for choosing to stay with Villa Samadhi, KL and moreover thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt 'at home'. Kind regards, Ewan and the Samadhi family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Samadhi Villa is an excellent place to stay in Kuala Lumpur. The rooms are really nice and Spacious. The sarang rooms have direct access to pools from the rooms. They have jacuzzi in their rooms which was the best part according to me. After tired of travelling you just relax in it and rejuvenate yourself. We stayed in luxe crib which was pretty big enough and it had jacuZzi too. It's not like other commercialised hotels but at the same time it is near to all the big landmarks in KL. The staff is nice and friendly too. That help you with everything if you haven't booked your itinerary in KL but yes they do not know much about in and around KL which was a bit surprising. They have limited menu which is expected if you are living in such a place. But hardly any veg options which was a bit disappointment for us since we are vegetarians. Apart from that we enjoyed our stay at Villa Samadhi.
They had free cocktail hour in the evening where they would make some really nice ones. It's an expensive stay but totally worth it if you want to shed some extra penny.

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nisarg V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KLsamadhi, Manager at Villa Samadhi, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Nisarg V

Thank you for taking the time to write the Villa Samadhi a review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed so much about your stay and especially made a mention of the whirlpool, large rooms and the staff service. Apologies if you felt there was not enough vegetarian options on our menu, something for us to look into!
Sincerely, Ewan and the team at the Villa Samadhi, KL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We've been in KL for the past 5 weeks on business so, after reading reviews on TripAdvisor, thought a stay at Villa Samadhi would be a nice break.

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights and couldn't have been more disappointed. The many shortcomings included a mosquito infested room, pillows as hard as concrete, inadequate AC, lukewarm hot tub, old & discolored linens an towels and a TV that buzzed so loudly with interference there was no point in watching it. The F&B experience wasn't any better with very poor service and subpar food at best.

The concept of a boutique hotel in the middle of the city on an oasis like property in a quiet neighbourhood is great and we thought it would make for a wonderful escape to recharge. Unfortunately, this was not the case and we couldn't wait to leave and return to moe refined accommodations.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadians-in-Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KLsamadhi, Manager at Villa Samadhi, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Canadians-in-Dubai

It is always sad for any manger to read when guests have not enjoyed their stay and I honestly am sorry that our hardware let you down in a few instances and that we could not meet your expectations.

I do however find it baffling that you did not ask our staff for assistance or allow us a chance to correct any issues you were having which led to Sir having an unhappy stay. Any one of the issues you encountered could have been resolved quickly but we have no log or reports about any one of the issues highlighted.

Please allow me to assist readers with a few replies to your review.

Our beds have 4 pillows, 2 hard and the other 2 are soft. For guests who prefer even softer we do have such and would have been delighted to offer these to you, had we been made to understand your preference.

We do not have hot tubs, but, we do have in room whirlpools which are not meant to be hot, but warm as Malaysia is already an incredibly hot country.

AC and TV issues are most unfortunate and we can only now apologise, but once again Sir, had we been informed then maintenance could have assisted you immediately so that the rest of your stay could have been enjoyable.

Upon your check out I was chatting with you and again there was no mention of the issues you had. I understand that unfortunately the Villa Samadhi was not a suitable choice for you and that your preference would be for the larger chain hotels but I do feel that this fact hindered you from enjoying your stay at an altogether unique property.

We all do hope that your next hotel met your expectations and you found the refinement you mentioned.

Sincerely and once again our profound apologies.
Ewan - Villa Samadhi, KL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
219 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Once the taxi has found this secluded boutique hotel, you are entering a blessed place. Large rooms with an exquisite Zennish interior design around a large pool. Internet is fast all over the compound, should you need to give up your rest. The goodies and extra's (free cognac and snacks) are a treat. The staff is a bit overly attentive with standard small talk.
Three issues preventing this hotel to get 5 TripAdvisor dots:
No room for shelving one's clothes, only hanging, probably due to the requirements of the interior designor.
Orders at breakfast take a long, long time - but lovely strong coffee.
The jacuzzi seems a treat, but one cannot switch it off or on, only through reception. This large volume of continuously heated water makes the bathroom hot and musty.
Further a great place. We will come again. And..... Don't forget the two restaurants Samahdi has: Tamarind Spring and Tamarind Hill, among the very best of KL.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PieterdeN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KLsamadhi, Manager at Villa Samadhi, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear PieterdeN
Many thanks for taking the time to write the Villa Samadhi, KL a review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and our restaruants and hope to see you again on your next visit to KL. Sincerely, Ewan and the team at the Villa Samadhi, KL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1.6 km away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
1.6 km away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
2.2 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#4 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,363 reviews
2.6 km away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
4.2 km away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Samadhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Samadhi

Property: Villa Samadhi
Address: No. 8, Pesiaran Madge | off Jalan Madge, Kuala Lumpur 55000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#14 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price range (per night): RM811 - RM1,298
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Samadhi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best described as Kuala Lumpur's ultimate treat to nest in. This ravishing villa-in-a-room boutique hotel is one-of-a-kind in the capital city. Tucked within an upscale locale just 10 minutes drive from town, Villa Samadhi becomes an immediately accessible respite to restore soul into one’s exhausted self. Its collection of 21 contemporary Asian-inspired rooms, with each spanning from 600 square-foot to over 2000 square-feet of living spaces are accented with a collage of elements to create a raw yet sophisticated Asian dwelling. Discreetly recede from street view, the most distinguishing feature of Villa Samadhi is the massive, soaring grass thatched-roof that shouts 'Malaysia'. But most eye-catching is the mysterious-looking multi-layered thatched roof structure of the rooftop bar-lounge ‘Bumbung’ which is floating above all else. Open the bamboo-clad gate and the surprise is over, a facade in absolute russet harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Samadhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Samadhi Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing