We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent food and company!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Food Tour Malaysia

Food Tour Malaysia
Book In Advance
More Info
US$62.00*
and up
Eat Like a Local: Kuala Lumpur Hawker Center and Street Food Tour by Night
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Food has always been part of our communities. Having multiple ethnicities where you live gives you great chance to be a part of so many celebrations. And with all these celebrations there is always a meal. So you see, us Malaysians take our food very seriously. Food Tour Malaysia Food in Petaling Jaya and Kuala Lumpur is unique. Some dishes here you will not be able to find in other parts of the country, and if you do, chances are that they probably could trace their roots to these 2 cities. Penang being the only other exception. The daily ritual of eating communally is one of the most endearing of Malaysian experiences. It is warm, and it's at the dinner table where you get to really understand and get the authentic 'feel', the heartbeat of the Malaysian community.
Cannonvale, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food and company!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

We recently had the pleasure of an evening of Malaysian food with Farah. With only four of us in the group for the evening it made for a very personal and informative night. The only disappointment was we couldn't eat enough! Very nice food all round. Farah was very generous in sharing insights into the Malay life and culture. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Visited October 2015
Helpful?
Thank Jam_52_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    696
    86
    8
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Time and money well spent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2015

My girlfriend and I participated in the food tour during our stay in KL. The experience was fantastic! Our guide - Farah's knowledge on culture & food was exceptional. Thank you for the great time!

Visited October 2015
Helpful?
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“A fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2015

This was a wonderful tour. Our guide Farah was friendly and hilarious. Fantastic food from local restaurants - come with an empty stomach!

Visited October 2015
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really worth a night out for a short stopover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2015 via mobile

My wife and my parents had 2 days in KL on our way to Australia. I booked this food tour and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. Farah was lovely, informative, passionate and caring. It wax good to get out to the suburbs to see how locals eat out, loads of food in 4 locations, Malay, Chinese, pancakes, Indian. A minibus takes you everywhere and drops off back at the hotel so not much walking, loads of eating ( be warned don't start off eating too much too soon), Farah explained lots about the culture and mix of the three ethnicities and his they enjoy each type if food. I did mention in advance we were travelling for my wife's birthday and Farah organised a card on the final Indian astonishing sweet bread/biscuit tower and gave her a sarong. So unexpected and what attention to details. We all really recommend this, even for a short stopover. Thanks again Farah.

Visited October 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank andy_humphries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic not matter what your spice level is!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2015

The guide for the night was Farah and she was fantastic, very knowledgeable and funny!. The spice range for people on the tour was very mild to very hot and she could accommodate all of tastes. It was a great experience and I will definitely do it again if I ever return to KL.

Visited October 2015
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Food Tour Malaysia also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Food Tour Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing