We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Relaxed and Informative - VIP Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Food Tour Malaysia

Food Tour Malaysia
Book In Advance
More Info
US$62.00*
and up
Eat Like a Local: Kuala Lumpur Hawker Center and Street Food Tour by Night
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Food has always been part of our communities. Having multiple ethnicities where you live gives you great chance to be a part of so many celebrations. And with all these celebrations there is always a meal. So you see, us Malaysians take our food very seriously. Food Tour Malaysia Food in Petaling Jaya and Kuala Lumpur is unique. Some dishes here you will not be able to find in other parts of the country, and if you do, chances are that they probably could trace their roots to these 2 cities. Penang being the only other exception. The daily ritual of eating communally is one of the most endearing of Malaysian experiences. It is warm, and it's at the dinner table where you get to really understand and get the authentic 'feel', the heartbeat of the Malaysian community.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Relaxed and Informative - VIP Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2015

Just go! It’s the perfect way to get introduced to KL. The tour is very relaxed and tailored to each group, so it feels like more a friend taking you around to some favorite spots and making some suggestions, rather than a rushed tour group itinerary (and there is no pressure to like every item). I’m sure that in any “Off the Eaten Track” tour you’ll experience a range of Malay, Chinese, and Indian dishes and drinks, learn some Malaysian table manners, and see parts of the city you otherwise would not have visited (and likely won't see any other tourists in). The vendors know Charles and his groups so you feel like a VIP. It was particularly fun to visit a night market not only to sample snacks and fresh fruit but also to learn about some culturally specific non-food items that I wouldn’t otherwise have understood the significance of. On my tour, one thing I loved given the nice weather was that all of the stops had outdoor seating. The best part of course was chatting with Charles about life in Malaysia, as it is personal stories that stick with you. The excellent email communication ahead of time made it easy to book and clear what to expect on the tour.

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    696
    86
    8
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
devon,uk
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Amazing evening ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

A great night out in KL with Charles as our guide. Having arrived late at the pick up point due to transport problems,we thought our evening would be over before it had even started ! However, Charles had waited patiently for us, & greeted us with a smile.
There was only one other person with us for the night, which made for a great personal tour of all the foodie spots in KL.
A very informative time,great food, & a good laugh aswell. Trying the different food at the local night market was the highlight for us, a brilliant night,highly recommended,
Many thanks

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
2 Thank skins89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great introduction to Malaysian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2015 via mobile

Our guide, Farah, took our group of six people to four places where we sampled several dishes from each of the three main cuisines of Malaysia - Malay, Chinese and Indian. All places were favourites of KL locals and weren't touristy. Farah was very knowledgeable about Malaysian food, culture and history - which helped getting a handle on the dizzying array of food available in Malaysia. She was very accommodating of people with dietary restrictions and tolerance for spice. This tour was the highlight of my stopover in Kuala Lumpur and I highly recommend it. Word of advice - start this tour hungry and pace yourself!

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank larry4718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food Tour!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

We joined the tour last night. We were 6 persons and Farah was our guide. She's a very lovely person and she explained a lot about the Malaysian food culture. We drove in a small bus from restaurant to restaurant and Farah told us about the different food during the drive. First restaurant was a Malaysian one. The second was a Chinese coffee shop, then a quick stop to get some delicious coconut pancakes and the fourth and last stop was an Indish restaurant called Mamak where we got the best curries ever! I really recommend this great experience. Thank you Farah!

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious, extraordinary evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2015 via mobile

We had the most delicious time with our guide Farah and a group of six. We enjoyed every bite of this tour and can highly recommend it. From Malay to Chinese and Indian food- we tasted the variety of the Malaysian cuisine.

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Food Tour Malaysia also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Food Tour Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing