We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic steak”
Review of El Meson

El Meson
Ranked #362 of 5,360 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Price range: US$30 - US$100
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: El Mesón brings you the best of Spain through the delivery of authentic and traditional fare. Our ingredients are sourced both locally and abroad, and goes through careful curation before each dish reaches the taster. Gastronomical offerings are made even more delicious with its evolving menu, which gets spruced up every 6 months.
Reviewed 11 October 2019 via mobile

With a mix of cultures in Malaysia it is never difficult to find a good meal and whilst my initial thoughts of a Spanish restaurant option were not positive in comparison to everything else on offer, I have to say it was a great meal and I would highly recommend.
Very attentive service, we enjoyed a relaxed meal and ordered tapas and then main meals a little later to enjoy an experience that wasn’t rushed. From the tapas selection of carpaccio, calamari and chorizo, the latter was my favourite. We then shared the rib eye special for 2 and ordered the mushroom tapas dish on the side which was a really good accompaniment. Our medium rare choice was executed to perfection and the steak had a beautiful char grilled flavour on the outside whilst being incredibly succulent.
No room for dessert unfortunately and although we only had 2 draught beers, the bill was a little more expensive than other dining options, however the taste and quality made it worth the money.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Lwatson1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2019

Returned to El Meson after a long spell. It was good to be back and to meet Prem Kumar ( manager ) and Selva ( Asst Manager ) who took the trouble to stop by and say hello to us.

My wife and I wanted to try the Seafood Paella and so decided to order just two tapas as starters. We had a Prawn Gambas which was excellent and then we also had a Chorizo with Potatoes. The Chorizo sausage was spicy and juicy and tasted heavenly. We also had some small slices of warm bread to dip in the olive oil ( with balsamic vinegar )

The servings of the tapas were quite generous. The prawns were medium in size and fresh. The seafood paella was done quite nicely. However, I would have liked a little less olive oil in them. We also had a squeeze of not one but two slices of lemons and this was just what was needed to enjoy the paella.

The service by the staff was courteous, friendly and prompt. El Meson continues to maintain a high standard. The presence of the two long standing managers must have had a positive effect.

Will be returning to El Meson sometime soon.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BenMorais
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 January 2019 via mobile

We ordered the Parlls r  Mariscos which was ok but nothing special. The
 Ensalada de espinacas was very good. The ambience is cosy and the service is great. Prices are reasonable.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Lina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackObrienn, Guest Relation at El Meson, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2019

Hi Lina,

Thank you for your review and your rating. We hope to receive your patronage some time soon and we hope to inspire a favorite dish for you to come back to!

All the best,
Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2019 via mobile

The food is really delicious and tasty it’s full of flavour on every bite this place is a must try. The dessert is all home made and the chocolate lava cake really is a lava with warm chocolate pouring out.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackObrienn, Guest Relation at El Meson, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2019

Hi Dave,

We're glad to have you as a valued customer. Thank you for your review and rating. We hope you'll come back some day soon!

All the best,
Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2018

After our recent vacation in Spain and Portugal, we were looking for tapas again but this time in KL. We returned to old faithful, El Meson and we were not disappointed.
As a paella normally takes about 20 or so minutes to cook, we ordered our paella dish first.....it was a Seafood Paella ( Paella Mariscos ).
We next ordered a Panceta dish and we dipped our slices of bread in the little gravy in the dish. We also ordered a Chorizos dish and this had an overdose of potatoes in it. Finally, we ordered a vege dish and this turned out to be crispy!
The paella dish was lovely and generous enough for three persons!
My wife had a cranberry juice and I had a mug of Heineken and followed this up with a Cab Sav.
All in all, it was a good time at this place and the service was excellent.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BenMorais
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackObrienn, Guest Relation at El Meson, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2019

Hi Ben,

Thanks for the lovely review. We're glad that our food was satisfactory and hopefully our customer service too! We'll always be looking forward to your patronage some time soon!

All the best!
Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Meson also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to El Meson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.