We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My experiance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ribbon Stayyz Bed & Breakfast Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuala Lumpur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ribbon Stayyz Bed & Breakfast Guesthouse
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My experiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

have now stayed here for 3 nights and have to say its worth every penny. our host Joy on arrival will greet you with a cup of water and couldn't be more friendly and helpful and having a great touch and getting to know all who is staying with her by first names. breakfast is included and the atmosphere couldn't be more backpacker friendly and social-able. if visiting KL i would highly recommend this place for anyone travelling through. you cant ask for a better and friendly environment. thanks for everything to all the staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    41
    22
    7
    15
See reviews for
3
44
42
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

The hostel was fairly small and cramped. The living room was fairly nice and homey, but the two couches were definitely not enough to accommodate the many guests staying in the hostel. We had a private double room, and the size of the room was the size of the bed, plus half a meter of luggage space. There were no windows, only an aircon to ventilate the room. Sheets and bedding were unclean, with hairs stuck all over the linen. The bathrooms were fine, but the staff failed to notify anyone of how to turn on the hot water (a red switch outside the bathrooms). This lead to many people complaining that there was no hot water in the hostel. Located in the middle of Chinatown- definitely a bustling part of the city, but extremely dirty and overpopulated. Staff gave poor directions to the hostel- you need to go through the convenience store underneath to access the hostel and this was not even mentioned. Members of the staff slept on the couches on the 2nd floor during the night.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisau28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hue, Vietnam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

this place is great! the staff are amazing Joy, Ally, Kakow. yes the rooms are a bit small but, its a massive city. and buildings are all cramped. there is nothing at all to complain about. dont understand people complaining about it... some people are never pleased, blame them not the hostel. its clean, tidy, safe and quiet! in a fantastic location with easy access to trains, buses, china town etc. we have stayed here for 2 and a bit weeks and love it. A/C in most rooms and comfy beds!
we love this place and would come back here in a hot minute!!

Room Tip: red ribbon 6! double bed and window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stuart a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Liked: Good location right in the middle of Chinatown (which we were told was sketchy, but we felt fine there) and near a subway station, very busy area (which can also be a dislike for some), but it made the area feel safe and not deserted to us. The facilities were clean, and the staff is friendly. Sometimes the bathrooms ran out of toilet paper, but it was usually checked on throughout the day. The aircon worked great but with the humidity, and no windows it could get a little damp in the rooms and the pillows smelled of damp. There is a convenience store on the ground floor which came in handy.

Dislike: Cramped rooms and I've stayed in small rooms before, We could barely fit both of us and our one backpack in there. The walls were thin and you could hear everything if people were in the hall, no windows which is probably why the furnishings smell damp....but these aren’t secrets, you get what you pay for. If you are a backpacker and don’t care about space, just a place to sleep, you will probably like it. It’s the cheapest place around in a pretty good location. The breakfast was meager and we'd end up getting another snack downstairs, and upon early checkout there was none ready for us. They were apologetic and tried to scrounge us up something to make but we were in a hurry and didn't bother. We probably wouldn’t stay there again, but just because of personal preference.

Room Tip: The second floor of rooms seemed quieter so we went with that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank destinationnation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santorini
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

I needed somewhere cheap for a couple of days, centrally located and with wireless connection.
The check in was very smooth, with the staff being being very nice and efficient.
There is wireless free of charge even inside the dorms and of course at the reception area.
When at the dorms, i was not crowded and i felt comfortable...
The location is excellent, near Puduraya bus stop and near many food shops and minimarkets(there is one right downstairs).

I did not like the fact that there were not enough toilets and showers..especially toilets.
And i don't understand why everybody takes their shoes and slippers off, when they walk around the hostel(this is a buddhist practice-see Thailand). The bathrooms are ok for showering, but never did without wearing slippers.
Maybe I am not the best backpacker in the world but i could not walk around without slippers inside..
The other thing that would probably need attention is the breakfast. The area for it is the reception area, and the kitchen occupies a very small corner, and it is not very convenient if more than 2 people want to make breakfast (you make it yourself from what I could understand-never had any), it is very difficult and then there is not enough space to eat it. My opinion of course.
The beds are also not very very comfy and they move a lot when someone wants to climb to the top one, so the person below will be annoyed for sure!
Possibly the private rooms are a whole different story.

Bottom line, I would stay there again if I needed somewhere cheap to stay and with internet access.

Room Tip: Try the private rooms in the hostel..probably worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank private-villas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 km away
The Explorers Guesthouse
The Explorers Guesthouse
#3 of 247 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.2 km away
Rainforest Bed and Breakfast
Rainforest Bed and Breakfast
#21 of 247 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.4 km away
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 247 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
BackHome KL
BackHome KL
#1 of 247 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
1.0 km away
Serenity Hostels
Serenity Hostels
#69 of 247 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.0 km away
Bullock Cart Hostel
Bullock Cart Hostel
#37 of 247 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ribbon Stayyz Bed & Breakfast Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ribbon Stayyz Bed & Breakfast Guesthouse

Property: Ribbon Stayyz Bed & Breakfast Guesthouse
Address: No. 31-M1 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 247 Speciality Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price range (per night): RM44 - RM58
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose to stay with us for a truly Malaysian experience! Located along one of Kuala Lumpur’s oldest streets, experience the sights, food, people, culture and lifestyle right from our doorstep. Petaling Street is one of Malaysia’s heritage spots where you will find endless antiquities and local delicacies, cafes, clothing, souvenirs, cultural performances, temples, hundred year old buildings and so much more. Ribbon Stayyz is a brand new guesthouse that will make your stay pleasant with its cosy Malaysian interior, comfortable & clean rooms and facilities. All-day air-conditioning, hot shower, free wi-fi internet access, lounge and mini library. Daily breakfast and free flow of coffee and tea is also available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing