We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ribbon Stayyz Bed & Breakfast Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
US$201
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
US$139
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Impiana KLCC Hotel(Kuala Lumpur)
US$75
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$64
US$58
Aloft.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
US$125
US$100
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
50
41
22
7
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
41
22
7
15
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The hostel was fairly small and cramped. The living room was fairly nice and homey, but the two couches were definitely not enough to accommodate the many guests staying in the hostel. We had a private double room, and the size of the room was the size of the bed, plus half a meter of luggage space. There were no windows, only an aircon to ventilate the room. Sheets and bedding were unclean, with hairs stuck all over the linen. The bathrooms were fine, but the staff failed to notify anyone of how to turn on the hot water (a red switch outside the bathrooms). This lead to many people complaining that there was no hot water in the hostel. Located in the middle of Chinatown- definitely a bustling part of the city, but extremely dirty and overpopulated. Staff gave poor directions to the hostel- you need to go through the convenience store underneath to access the hostel and this was not even mentioned. Members of the staff slept on the couches on the 2nd floor during the night.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisau28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

this place is great! the staff are amazing Joy, Ally, Kakow. yes the rooms are a bit small but, its a massive city. and buildings are all cramped. there is nothing at all to complain about. dont understand people complaining about it... some people are never pleased, blame them not the hostel. its clean, tidy, safe and quiet! in a fantastic location with easy access to trains, buses, china town etc. we have stayed here for 2 and a bit weeks and love it. A/C in most rooms and comfy beds!
we love this place and would come back here in a hot minute!!

Room Tip: red ribbon 6! double bed and window!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stuart a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Liked: Good location right in the middle of Chinatown (which we were told was sketchy, but we felt fine there) and near a subway station, very busy area (which can also be a dislike for some), but it made the area feel safe and not deserted to us. The facilities were clean, and the staff is friendly. Sometimes the bathrooms ran out of toilet paper, but it was usually checked on throughout the day. The aircon worked great but with the humidity, and no windows it could get a little damp in the rooms and the pillows smelled of damp. There is a convenience store on the ground floor which came in handy.

Dislike: Cramped rooms and I've stayed in small rooms before, We could barely fit both of us and our one backpack in there. The walls were thin and you could hear everything if people were in the hall, no windows which is probably why the furnishings smell damp....but these aren’t secrets, you get what you pay for. If you are a backpacker and don’t care about space, just a place to sleep, you will probably like it. It’s the cheapest place around in a pretty good location. The breakfast was meager and we'd end up getting another snack downstairs, and upon early checkout there was none ready for us. They were apologetic and tried to scrounge us up something to make but we were in a hurry and didn't bother. We probably wouldn’t stay there again, but just because of personal preference.

Room Tip: The second floor of rooms seemed quieter so we went with that.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank destinationnation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I needed somewhere cheap for a couple of days, centrally located and with wireless connection.
The check in was very smooth, with the staff being being very nice and efficient.
There is wireless free of charge even inside the dorms and of course at the reception area.
When at the dorms, i was not crowded and i felt comfortable...
The location is excellent, near Puduraya bus stop and near many food shops and minimarkets(there is one right downstairs).

I did not like the fact that there were not enough toilets and showers..especially toilets.
And i don't understand why everybody takes their shoes and slippers off, when they walk around the hostel(this is a buddhist practice-see Thailand). The bathrooms are ok for showering, but never did without wearing slippers.
Maybe I am not the best backpacker in the world but i could not walk around without slippers inside..
The other thing that would probably need attention is the breakfast. The area for it is the reception area, and the kitchen occupies a very small corner, and it is not very convenient if more than 2 people want to make breakfast (you make it yourself from what I could understand-never had any), it is very difficult and then there is not enough space to eat it. My opinion of course.
The beds are also not very very comfy and they move a lot when someone wants to climb to the top one, so the person below will be annoyed for sure!
Possibly the private rooms are a whole different story.

Bottom line, I would stay there again if I needed somewhere cheap to stay and with internet access.

Room Tip: Try the private rooms in the hostel..probably worth it.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank private-villas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We booked this place for a short stopover while in KL. Got there at 4am in the morning and someone was there to help us check in and get to our rooms. Location was excellent, close to the Pudu bus stop so it was easy to catch the bus to the airport. Shopping area was less than 5 mins walk away.

The people were very helpful in giving directions and travel tips. Even on the way back to KL we did not book a room but our flight was delayed. We had half a day to spend in KL so we went back just to take a shower and keep our luggage. Very friendly staff and would definitely recommend going back there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews