We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ben's Publika Mont Kiara KL, Food Not Bad, Service Appalling”
Review of Ben's

Ben's
Ranked #1,597 of 4,185 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Price range: US$3 - US$23
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: From a breezy marine penthouse to a sophisticated Manhattan townhouse, a Savannah plantation, an understated Australian house and a 1900s colonial-style interior; Ben's unique decor is modelled after a dream-like home right here in Malaysia. As a home-grown restaurant with its signature style, emphasis is placed on the familial quality that Ben's has adopted, hence the value of building relationships through food in a cosy and welcoming environment. Taking on a modern interpretation of East-meets-West, there are plenty of choices for everyone to enjoy. Whether for coffee, a big family get together or even a relaxed weekend brunch, Ben's is perfect for any occasion and welcomes friends and families to enjoy themselves just as they would at home.
Beeston UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ben's Publika Mont Kiara KL, Food Not Bad, Service Appalling”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This is about the recently opened Ben's at Publika Mall, not KLCC. Dined here late May with two friends. It took them over 20 minutes and two reminders just to rustle up three beers. Food service was disjointed and slow. Two of our mains arrived after a further long wait, the third, again after several reminders, as two of us were finishing ours. The staff did not have the usual Malay attentiveness and appear to have zero customer care training. Food quite reasonable, setting good, but a place to avoid until they get their act together!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank busmanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    126
    86
    49
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

My Review is not of the BENS in KLCC but in the new mall @ Mont Kiara called Publika.

Whilst the ground floor setting is lovely and amongst the busy mall traffic, we found the upstairs which lot don't notice to have a really nice abience to it.

We found the food and service pretty decent, was over the moon but the atmospshere more than compensated for it, would be a nice party location for 30 plus people - maybe more if standing cocktails.

Worth grabbing a bite here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thivanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang, MY
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dissappointed”
Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

Ordered for soft shell crab spagetti, cheese burger and lemon grass tea. Soft shell crab was overly deep fried and soaking in oil. Beef patty was soft and tasteless with overly burnt bread. Can't smell any lemon grass, taste more like green tea.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tieneit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladysmith, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

It's in the mall and very popular, as locals and tourists filled the place. The service was good and the food was very very tasty. We were glad we went.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Ben's at Publika ... terrible service, poor food quality!”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Had dinner with the missus one fine Sunday evening. Missus ordered a bowl of chicken soup, while I ordered a pasta. Mine came within 10 min from ordering time, the soup came just when I was finishing mine. That was like 15 min plus since I slowed down to await hers. Soup didn't arrive until my plate was cleared. Seated near to the kitchen - saw the soup had been waiting at the counter for a good 5 min or so. By the time the soup arrived, it was room temperature. The layer of fried piece of cracker which came as a condiment had kind of soften to the point that part of it has fallen into the soup!

Gripes : 1) food (even for only 2 pax) never came together. Not the first time this has happened. same experience with Journal by Plan B across the other end of Publika.

2) the indifferent service level by the foreign waiters in black T-shirts/pants. They kinda look like they are from Bangladesh or middle east. Ask them for water, they won't bother to serve; ask them to clear the table after one patron has finished their meal, they walk past without a word, let alone a smile.

All in all, a nice ambience marred by poor service. People pay money for nice ambience, good quality food and service, and friendly service by smiling, enthusiastic staff who want to please their customers to always keep coming back for more. Here at Ben's, it seems to me that customers are some sort of factory-produced goods waiting to be served and shipped out at the earliest possible time.

My missus and I patronised Ben's Publika back in February 2012, we have not stepped into another Ben's since then.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CongTye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ben's also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Ben's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing