We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
frequentraveller39
Sousse, Tunisia

Good location in KL

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Nov 2012
I Stayed 7 days in the hotel with my wife: 3 days for a seminar in the hotel and 4 days for tourism and shopping. The room is far from being a 5 star room: it is quite small and the furniture is starting to show its age. The hotel is well situated next to the Petronas Towers, shopping centers (Suria KLCC and Pavilion) a beautiful park and many restaurants and bars are at walking distance. The members of the staff were very helpful and the breakfast was perfect with plenty of choice. The complimentary selection of local fruit was a nice touch (a different fruit every day). Price is a bit steep compared to other 5 star hotels in KL and elsewhere. I would recommend the hotel.
Date of stay: November 2012
Trip type: Travelled on business
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review
Responded 5 Dec 2012
Dear frequentraveller39

Thank you for staying with Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We have taken note on your comments with regards to our guestroom and furniture. We are glad to advise that the hotel has plans for a complete renovation for all rooms which will address the needs of discerning travelers such as you.

We have also taken note of your comment on our room rates and allow us to share that our rates are very competitive compared to the other 5-star hotels in town. However, kindly rest assured that your feedback will be reviewed as part of our regular market benchmarking analysis.

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and breakfast service.

Aside from the above, we trust that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
RM 219
  • Priceline
    RM 211
  • Agoda.com
    RM 189
  • Vio.com
    RM 197
0.8 km from Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 940
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    RM 945
  • travelup.com
    RM 784
  • Hotels.com
    RM 945
0.9 km from Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 596
RM 445
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 498
  • Priceline
    RM 477
  • Hotels.com
    RM 489
1.2 km from Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Free Wifi
Pool
RM 1,090
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,090
  • Priceline
    RM 951
  • Hotels.com
    RM 1,090
0.4 km from Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 612
  • Expedia.com
    RM 612
  • Agoda.com
    RM 523
  • Priceline
    RM 556
0.4 km from Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 540
  • Priceline
    RM 528
  • Agoda.com
    RM 514
  • Expedia.com
    RM 543
0.7 km from Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 221
  • Expedia.com
    RM 331
  • Trip.com
    RM 140
  • Priceline
    RM 221
1.0 km from Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Free Wifi
Pool
RM 299
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    RM 286
  • Agoda.com
    RM 210
  • Expedia.com
    RM 334
2.4 km from Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 650
  • Official Site
    RM 720
  • Vio.com
    RM 370
  • Expedia.com
    RM 720
1.3 km from Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Free Wifi
Pool
RM 376
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    RM 367
  • Agoda.com
    RM 325
  • Hotels.com
    RM 368
1.0 km from Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviews (7,986)
Filter reviews
7,986 results
Traveller rating
6,018
1,318
352
155
143
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
6,018
1,318
352
155
143
Show reviews that mention
All reviews petronas towers mosaic restaurant the club lounge klcc park park view infinity pool chinese restaurant our honeymoon luxury hotel corner room amazing hotel shopping centre late check buffet breakfast mosaics mokl heen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5,501 - 5,506 of 7,986 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Stayed three days at this hotel, in my company training course. I have to say that every staff truly friendly, helpful & understood customer service. I highly recommend this hotel if you are thinking of a holiday or stop over in Kuala Lumpur.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferShih
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Dear JenniferShih

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn of your pleasant experience and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012 via mobile

Check-in 22/11 and Check-out 23/11. Late booking on the same day via phone call. Just left my hand phone number and receptionist return my call. The process on booking is most experience moment whereby first time staying in MO. Great booking service and very smooth.

Arrived late due to flight delay from Alor Setar to KL. Manage to arrived at receptionist counter at 11.30pm, being greeting and get memories smile from the door bell staff up to front counter. All my booking according my phone call.

First time entering the room (executive single room) my jaw open looking at astonishing furniture with the background view of the PETRONAS Twin Tower.

First word come in to my mind, this is the most luxuries hotel ever in Kuala Lumpur compare to my experience at other hotel around KL.

Recommended for rich and VIP person which preferred to get the superior customer services with high international standard. Not suitable for short business stay. The rte is too expensive for Malaysian.

The most remember moment and it gave me a best experience on one night at the distinguish hospitality services.

In summary, the room is complete with all basic need and plus with the special presentation of local fruits in the room.

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitoradvise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Dear visitoradvise

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and trust that when shared with our colleagues, it will further motivate them to continuously delight our guests.

We appreciate your recommendation of our hotel for high profile VIPs and you may rest assured that we provide the same high level of service to all of our guests.

We have noted of your comments on our room rates and allow us to share that our rates are very competitive compared to the other 5-star hotels in the city. However, we will include your feedback into our regular market benchmarking analysis.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Good location. Lot of varied restaurants. Next to a nice shopping center. Friendly staff. Rooms are a bit dated but still correct. Very good breakfast. The spa is quite small compared to the rest of the hotel. Magnificent view of the twin towers.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alcf2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Dear alcf2312

Thank you for your kind patronage at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We have taken note on your feedback on our spa and you will be delighted to learn that the hotel has plans for a complete renovation for The Spa to better address the ever changing needs of discerning travelers such as you.

Aside from that, we are delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Had almost a week at this hotel, in a training course.
Extremely nice decor in main breakfast room - outstanding! Great buffet breakfast. Huge gym, with almost everything you need. Great service at the pool - very comfortable, nice touches with the cold water and frozen grapes.
Rooms are above what I expected.
Large shopping centre almost attached to the hotel with plenty of restaurants to choose from.
Lunches at the hotel conference area were pretty ordinary - could improve a lot.

Overall, a pleasant stay nd would stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Dear DSwindells

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We have also taken note of your observation on the lunch which was served during your training. We will include your comments in our next menu review with our chef to continuously enhance our meetings and conventions’ food and beverage offerings.

Lastly, thank you for your kind patronage and we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

The main problem with the Club floor is that the food is so good that you end up eating there every night and you don't explore the restaurants in KL! Fantastic service in the Club Lounge - they really do make you feel special. We stayed a few days ago and then returned after a week in Australia and the staff remembered the wine we preferred and even our choice of tea! Very personal service and the food is fantastic. We've previously stayed at the Shangri-La and the Traders but neither comes close to the Mandarin Oriental. Located right next to the KLCC shopping and the Petronas twin towers. 10 out of 10.

Room tip: View is much better overlooking the park - can get a room looking at other tower blocks which isn't good. I suggest spending a little more and do the Club lounge. Food and service is fantastic. Internet is included as is 5 items of dry cleaning and laundry each day - very handy.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin511
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Dear Martin511

Thank you for choosing to stay with Mandarin Oriental in your recent visit to Kuala Lumpur.

We are happy to note of your experience and trust that when shared with our colleagues, it will further motivate them to continuously delight our guests making their stay memorable.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again in the future should your travel brings you back to Kuala Lumpur.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews