We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$119
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/21
Booking.com
US$119
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
US$94
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/09/21
Hotels.comUS$119
Trip.comUS$116
PricelineUS$104
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,831)
Filter reviews
6,831 results
Traveller rating
5,155
1,176
293
115
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,155
1,176
293
115
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviews petronas towers mosaic restaurant the club lounge klcc park park view infinity pool our honeymoon chinese restaurant luxury hotel corner room amazing hotel shopping centre buffet breakfast mosaics mokl heen keiko
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4,507 - 4,512 of 6,831 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We have stayed at Mandarin Oriental a few times over the course of the past 2 years. As always, service is top notch and the check in and check out was done quickly. I was impressed by the phone reservation team this time as they were very professional and very helpful in my booking.

Mandarin Oriental benefits from a superb location, right next to the Twin Towers and next to the KLCC shopping mall. LRT is a short walk away and there is now a pedestrian bridge that you can walk to the Bukit Bintang area.

The room is very comfortable with all the usual amenities available. We expected the wireless to be complimentary but was told that it will be charged. Being a 5-star hotel catering to a lot of business travelers, I have expected that wireless internet would be provided for free.

The hotel is expensive but it is a luxury hotel after all. There are other hotels with cheaper rates nearby but you do pay for the service and comfort in Mandarin Oriental.

Room tip: The deluxe rooms are the same in size. The difference in price gives you different views. Probably not worth paying extra if the view do not matter. But paying to upgrade to the club level is worth considering as you get food and coffee with good views of the city.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ytravel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Dear ytravel18

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor.

We have taken note of your comment on providing complimentary WIFI and room rates. Please allow us to share that due to the high cost of bandwidth in the city most hotels charge for WIFI accordingly. However, guests who opt to stay on our club floors receive complimentary internet access. On this note, our hotel provides, by far, the highest level of bandwidth in the city.

Thank you for your kind comments about our reservations team, service and room.

Aside from the above, we trust that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Wonderful hotel, stayed for 3 days on business. Didnt use pool, spa, or eat at the restaurants so cant comment on those

Pro:
Very smooth and professional check-in
Relatively large room with all the amnities.
Bathrooom with bathtub and separate shower, toilet
Wonderful desk, very suitable for working.
Very comprehensive breakfast buffet
Next to KLCC
Nice bar with excellent food

Con:
No real lobby, if you want to meet people better meet at the bar
Traffic is very heavy in the area and turns to a standstill when it rains during rush hour (monsoon).

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joko888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Dear Joko888

Thank you for staying with Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We have taken note on your comments with regards to our lobby. You will be pleased to note that we have plans for a complete renovation of the lobby in the near future and the new design will create additional seating options.

Aside from the above, we trust that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I stayed for attending an alumni event and a night stay with my wife. As for my first time to stay in the Mandarin Oriental Hotel, I was very satisfied with the level of hospitality they can extend to us from the first encounter. The receptionist walked through the process of check-in very attentative. We stayed at city view delux room, and the set up of room is sufficient but yet gives the taste of luxury. After the reception party, though it was in the middle of night, the person in charge of transportation was kind enough to arrange a taxi to come over for us to go out for second round drinking. Though we did not have time to use the facility including the pool, gym, and spa, it all looked very attracting. I would recommend this place for any sort of occasion, especially if you do not want to disappoint your partner, accompanied ones.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TokyoTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Dear TokyoTrotter

Thank you for your kind comments on your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We are delighted to learn that you have had a pleasant experience with us and trust that when shared with our colleagues, it will further motivate them in our mission to completely satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the MO so much in the summer of 2011 we decided to go back there at end of our honeymoon in July 2012. Well I was surprised how standards slipped in just one year. It's still a beautiful hotel in a fabulous location but the welcome didn't seem as warm the second time around - we had had 24 hrs free wifi in 2011 not in 2012. I was told this was because the first time I had booked direct at their website whereas this time I booked through our travel agent. Also there was no special treatment for honeymooners at all - not even any chocolates. Nothing. So having to pay extortionate wifi fees, no honeymoon upgrade or even any nice touch we weren't off to the best start. One of the most memorable parts of our stay in 2011 was the best hotel breakfast we had ever had. In 2012 they moved the restaurant for breakfast and there was an already irritable queue by the time we arrived in the morning. The staff were far from helpful and one patron was so impatient he answered to
our name and we had to follow them into the room to take our rightful table. The selection was still good but smaller and the tables were not cleaned very fast. It's still a great hotel but I fear standards have slipped. I hope if we return it is to the place we remember from summer 2011 and not 2012.

Date of stay: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamelajaneabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Dear pamelajaneabroad

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Tripadvisor.

We have taken note on your comments about the service that you’ve received during your stay in July 2012 and we apologize for the experience. We have addressed this matter with our team and remedial actions have been initiated to avoid similar occurrences in the future.

Further, please allow me to share that due to the high cost of bandwidth in the city most hotels charge for WIFI accordingly. However, guests who opt to stay on our club floors receive complimentary internet access. On this note, our hotel provides, by far, the highest level of bandwidth in the city.

Our mission is to delight our guests and we truly hope you shall return so you can experience the MO style you have such fond memories of.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

The ambiance is great, both outside hotel, lobby, club lounge and in-room ambiance. In-room goodies are nicely surprising. The location is fantastic, few steps away from the Petronas. The only challenge is the spread of breakfast, lunch and other food. Being a bit choosy about Indian food, it is difficult because you get mostly a lot of east asian food stuff. The only solace is availability of rice and curry, otherwise it's a challenge. If there was a bit more Indian choice it may be a `fantabulous' experience. Overall a great stay.

Room tip: It's a great hotel to chill out, sleep well and enjoy.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manoj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Dear SMNS

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We have noted on your comment about the Indian cuisine selection at our restaurant. We will ensure that your feedback will be considered in our next menu review by our chefs.

Lastly, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews