We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
mandyb64
London, United Kingdom

A wonderful experience at a very classy hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Dec 2012
My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in November and had a wonderful experience.

We had a great room with amazing views of the Petronas Towers.

The level of service was exceptional. The staff managed to find perfectly that sometimes difficult balance between being attentive and intrusive.

The facilities in the hotel were top notch. My husband and I used both the spa and the gym. I had a wonderful facial at the spa and the gym was extremely well equipped. I also had one of the best haircuts I've had in years at the salon. Unfortunately, I can't remember the young girl's name who cut my hair, but a big thank you to her.

The hotel is in a great location. If you like to shop, Suria KLCC is the place to go. There's a covered walkway from the hotel to the mall, so you don't even need to get wet.

KL really is a foodie heaven and food is very cheap. Chinatown should not be missed. A friend had also recommended 'Bijan', which was described as fine dining, Malay style. We had a wonderful meal there.

It was also our wedding anniversary whilst we were in KL. The staff sent cake and flowers (beautiful red roses), which was a lovely gesture

The hotel was gorgeous and lavish, whilst remaining friendly. We also thought the hotel was exceptionally good value for money. When we return to KL, will will definitely stay at this hotel.
Date of stay: November 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review
Responded 11 Dec 2012
Dear mandyb64

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and trust that when shared with our colleagues, it will further motivate them in our mission to continuously delight our guests.

We wish you and your family happy holidays and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your husband to the hotel again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
RM 609
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    RM 690
  • Agoda.com
    RM 372
  • Vio.com
    RM 423
0.2 km from Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Free Wifi
Pool
RM 536
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    RM 540
  • Agoda.com
    RM 478
  • Vio.com
    RM 540
0.7 km from Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 459
  • Priceline
    RM 459
  • Agoda.com
    RM 401
  • Expedia.com
    RM 459
0.4 km from Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 450
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 366
  • Agoda.com
    RM 307
  • Expedia.com
    RM 394
1.2 km from Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Free Wifi
Pool
RM 608
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    RM 675
  • KLOOK
    RM 263
  • Priceline
    RM 341
0.8 km from Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 367
  • Expedia.com
    RM 408
  • Trip.com
    RM 326
  • Priceline
    RM 408
0.7 km from Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 172
  • Expedia.com
    RM 229
  • Agoda.com
    RM 133
  • Priceline
    RM 141
1.0 km from Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Free Wifi
Pool
RM 367
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    RM 344
  • Agoda.com
    RM 310
  • Hotels.com
    RM 315
1.0 km from Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 570
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    RM 536
  • Agoda.com
    RM 417
  • Priceline
    RM 500
1.3 km from Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviews (7,934)
Filter reviews
7,934 results
Traveller rating
5,974
1,315
348
155
142
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,974
1,315
348
155
142
Show reviews that mention
All reviews petronas towers mosaic restaurant the club lounge klcc park park view infinity pool chinese restaurant our honeymoon luxury hotel corner room amazing hotel shopping centre late check buffet breakfast mosaics mokl heen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5,452 - 5,457 of 7,934 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We have stayed at Mandarin Oriental a few times over the course of the past 2 years. As always, service is top notch and the check in and check out was done quickly. I was impressed by the phone reservation team this time as they were very professional and very helpful in my booking.

Mandarin Oriental benefits from a superb location, right next to the Twin Towers and next to the KLCC shopping mall. LRT is a short walk away and there is now a pedestrian bridge that you can walk to the Bukit Bintang area.

The room is very comfortable with all the usual amenities available. We expected the wireless to be complimentary but was told that it will be charged. Being a 5-star hotel catering to a lot of business travelers, I have expected that wireless internet would be provided for free.

The hotel is expensive but it is a luxury hotel after all. There are other hotels with cheaper rates nearby but you do pay for the service and comfort in Mandarin Oriental.

Room tip: The deluxe rooms are the same in size. The difference in price gives you different views. Probably not worth paying extra if the view do not matter. But paying to upgrade to the club level is worth considering as you get food and coffee with good views of the city.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ytravel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Dear ytravel18

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor.

We have taken note of your comment on providing complimentary WIFI and room rates. Please allow us to share that due to the high cost of bandwidth in the city most hotels charge for WIFI accordingly. However, guests who opt to stay on our club floors receive complimentary internet access. On this note, our hotel provides, by far, the highest level of bandwidth in the city.

Thank you for your kind comments about our reservations team, service and room.

Aside from the above, we trust that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Wonderful hotel, stayed for 3 days on business. Didnt use pool, spa, or eat at the restaurants so cant comment on those

Pro:
Very smooth and professional check-in
Relatively large room with all the amnities.
Bathrooom with bathtub and separate shower, toilet
Wonderful desk, very suitable for working.
Very comprehensive breakfast buffet
Next to KLCC
Nice bar with excellent food

Con:
No real lobby, if you want to meet people better meet at the bar
Traffic is very heavy in the area and turns to a standstill when it rains during rush hour (monsoon).

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joko888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Dear Joko888

Thank you for staying with Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We have taken note on your comments with regards to our lobby. You will be pleased to note that we have plans for a complete renovation of the lobby in the near future and the new design will create additional seating options.

Aside from the above, we trust that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I stayed for attending an alumni event and a night stay with my wife. As for my first time to stay in the Mandarin Oriental Hotel, I was very satisfied with the level of hospitality they can extend to us from the first encounter. The receptionist walked through the process of check-in very attentative. We stayed at city view delux room, and the set up of room is sufficient but yet gives the taste of luxury. After the reception party, though it was in the middle of night, the person in charge of transportation was kind enough to arrange a taxi to come over for us to go out for second round drinking. Though we did not have time to use the facility including the pool, gym, and spa, it all looked very attracting. I would recommend this place for any sort of occasion, especially if you do not want to disappoint your partner, accompanied ones.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TokyoTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Dear TokyoTrotter

Thank you for your kind comments on your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We are delighted to learn that you have had a pleasant experience with us and trust that when shared with our colleagues, it will further motivate them in our mission to completely satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the MO so much in the summer of 2011 we decided to go back there at end of our honeymoon in July 2012. Well I was surprised how standards slipped in just one year. It's still a beautiful hotel in a fabulous location but the welcome didn't seem as warm the second time around - we had had 24 hrs free wifi in 2011 not in 2012. I was told this was because the first time I had booked direct at their website whereas this time I booked through our travel agent. Also there was no special treatment for honeymooners at all - not even any chocolates. Nothing. So having to pay extortionate wifi fees, no honeymoon upgrade or even any nice touch we weren't off to the best start. One of the most memorable parts of our stay in 2011 was the best hotel breakfast we had ever had. In 2012 they moved the restaurant for breakfast and there was an already irritable queue by the time we arrived in the morning. The staff were far from helpful and one patron was so impatient he answered to
our name and we had to follow them into the room to take our rightful table. The selection was still good but smaller and the tables were not cleaned very fast. It's still a great hotel but I fear standards have slipped. I hope if we return it is to the place we remember from summer 2011 and not 2012.

Date of stay: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamelajaneabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Dear pamelajaneabroad

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Tripadvisor.

We have taken note on your comments about the service that you’ve received during your stay in July 2012 and we apologize for the experience. We have addressed this matter with our team and remedial actions have been initiated to avoid similar occurrences in the future.

Further, please allow me to share that due to the high cost of bandwidth in the city most hotels charge for WIFI accordingly. However, guests who opt to stay on our club floors receive complimentary internet access. On this note, our hotel provides, by far, the highest level of bandwidth in the city.

Our mission is to delight our guests and we truly hope you shall return so you can experience the MO style you have such fond memories of.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

The ambiance is great, both outside hotel, lobby, club lounge and in-room ambiance. In-room goodies are nicely surprising. The location is fantastic, few steps away from the Petronas. The only challenge is the spread of breakfast, lunch and other food. Being a bit choosy about Indian food, it is difficult because you get mostly a lot of east asian food stuff. The only solace is availability of rice and curry, otherwise it's a challenge. If there was a bit more Indian choice it may be a `fantabulous' experience. Overall a great stay.

Room tip: It's a great hotel to chill out, sleep well and enjoy.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manoj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Dear SMNS

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We have noted on your comment about the Indian cuisine selection at our restaurant. We will ensure that your feedback will be considered in our next menu review by our chefs.

Lastly, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews