We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #5 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“very good!”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed shangrila for 2nights n 3 days as part of our honeymoon and i must say that it was 5 star experience. Perfect lication an within walking distance to KL tower, KL Minara, KLCC. This is how i would rate the hotel:

1. location 5/5
2. Service 4/5
3. quality of accommodation 4/5
4. food 3/5
5. value for money 4/5

Great place to stay in KL and i would definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gooner4lyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,225
    1,386
    355
    78
    49
See reviews for
1,319
3,054
436
1,333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,449)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

stayed at the shangra la for 4 days before moving on, this was a 5 star hotel in a fab location, fantastic staff and the room was beautiful, it was our anniversary and the staff laid out flowers fruit and a huge cake on the day without asking for any of this, if you want good food then this is the hotel to stay at the breakfast itself was out of this world, with indian, asia and western cuisine we could have easily put on a stone with the breakfast alone. The hotel has nightly entertainment in Arthurs bar the band were great and had everyone up dancing and singing! 2 beautiful ladies from the philipines and there band. The staff are so attentive you don't want to leave. I would definately go back and recommend this to fellow travellers thinking of going to KL.

Room Tip: all the rooms from this hotel either have a view of KL tower or the petrona towers, we had a deluxe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wobblyannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

An overwhelmingly nauseating odour assails your senses the moment you step into the lobby of this hotel. Apparently it's called the Shangri-la Fragrance, designed, supposedly, to enhance the guest's experience of the hotel. Not!

Any mood enhancing device must be so subtle that it is only perceived at a subliminal level. Here it's very much in your face and you can't escape its presence without walking back out into the fresh tropical air of downtown KL.

Polluting the air with such an obviously synthetic fragrance surely has a negative impact on the guest. If the aim is to create an atmosphere of subtle sophistication then it fails as the result is a pong as sophisticated as the offerings at the scent counter at Woolworth's! It certainly isn't Chanel no 5.

Perhaps beautifully arranged displays of aromatic fresh flowers in the lobby would create the desired effect with the added bonus of visual delight.

Apart from that the hotel is great and I will continue to stay there when in KL which I do three of four times a year.

The outdoor pool area on the second floor is one of the great assets of this hotel. A veritable oasis of tropical lushness in the heart of the busy metropolis. Here you can experience the true atmosphere and ambiance of a tropical rainforest and if you're really lucky - perhaps around sunset - you might just spot a tribe of naughty macaque monkeys foraging in the hotel grounds on their way back to Bukit Nanas park where they usually spend the night.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikTheBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed here a few times with business.

The hotel is located opposite quite a few night spots in KL including Hard Rock Cafe and several night clubs like Beach Club and Rumba.

Service is the usual Shangri-la hospitality: attentive, friendly and efficient.

Good , high quality breakfast with plenty of choice.

Rooms are plush and well maintained, but looking a bit dated specially for the price. Internet speeds can be woefully slow in the evenings.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adi-Bandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Traveling around the world for work I mainly use 5 star properties and also this time I wanted to book the Mandarin Oriental, but based on the reviews on the Tripadvisor I changed my decision and booked Shangri-La. I have to say I am already typing this after being one hour in the hotel and having worse experience that happened to me after checking in. The staff was very rude and did not give any attention to my requests. After beeing in the room for 10 minutes the maintainance team arrived and changed the filter of the aircondition. After they finished we notice the television were not working. They changed us the room, but into the really bad smelling room in wich I could not breath. I almost checked out and went to Mandarin Oriental and belive me I was realy looking forward to my first stay with Shangri-La chain. The sUtaff keep explaining they can not provide proper service since they are very busy and highly occupied.
In my opinion I can not belive Shangri-La allows something like that to the brand reputation that it has.
I was really looking for pampered service but I guess Sangri-La can not deliver it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Katia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments regarding your unpleasant experience with our service while staying with us. Please accept our sincere apologies and be assured that service improvements will be made. In order to facilitate our training enhancements, please do contact me at rosemarie.wee@shangri-la.com so that I can address the concerns highlighted by you personally. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.9 km away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
9,810 reviews
0.7 km away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
1.2 km away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
1.4 km away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,587 reviews
1.3 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price range (per night): RM369 - RM708
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing