We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #4 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Everyone should treat themselves for at least one night in a club room in the Shangri-La.

We have stayed here 4 times and found it to be the best of all the hotels we have stayed in.

Not only are the rooms beautiful the staff are superb.

They are not patronising like in some high class hotels. They are efficient and take time to chat to guests. They genuinely interested in their guests.

Don't just believe what we say, try it for yourselves.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wisertravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLKL-GM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for posting this fabulous review of our hotel. We are happy to know you have had an enjoyable stay with our team being equally thrilled by your feedback of the warm hospitality experienced. We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future. Thank you. Best regards, Manfred Weber, Area General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,940
    1,317
    344
    72
    48
See reviews for
1,227
2,929
410
1,251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,401)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was perfect from every point of view. I found the staff very friendly and helpful. Many restaurants in the hotel with good food. Great view in the room. Very very beautiful garden.
The location was great. I almost walked every where.
The horizon club was very comfortable with delicious snacks and plenty of drinks.

Stayed March 2017, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank fereshte k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLKL-GM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are glad that you found our staff to be very friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future. Thank you. Best regards, Manfred Weber, Area General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Shangri-La Kuala Lumpur hotel for over a month between October and November in 2016. The hotel itself was very clean and staff were all very accommodating and pleasant to work with. My room was very spacious and cleaning staff would always make sure it was well stocked. Laundry would also be returned within the evening it was sent out, which is a huge bonus for me. KLCC and several other shopping/restaurant areas are within walking distance so you have a lot of options for dining choices and places to see. The hotel also has scheduled shuttle service that takes you to several major places closeby, including KLCC and malls in the surrounding vicinity. While the hotel has several dining and room service options, service for ordering food was incredibly slow. The one time I ate at Zipangu, it look 1/2 hr. for someone to take our order and when I asked for the dessert and drinks menu, we waited for over 40min. before giving up and leaving. There were only a total of 5 people at the restaurant too. For room service, whenever I called to have someone pick up my cart I would wait for hours without anyone coming, only to finally leave it in the hallway so I can go to sleep. With that caveat in mind, my stay at the Shangri-La was still an enjoyable one without much fuss and I still consider it one of the better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyC_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLKL-GM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us during your trip to Kuala Lumpur. It was a pleasure being of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Thank you. Best regards, Manfred Weber, Area General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of this hotel is excellent. It is within walking distances of the Petronas towers and the KL tower. The hotel offers a shuttle to the KLCC and the Pavalion shopping mall.
The hotel staff are dedicated to providing a quality of service that is a very enjoyable experience and goes a long way to make it a sep above the usual hotel experience.
The staff are genuine in asking if there is anything taht they can do to help enhance your experience

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLKL-GM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are glad to learn that you were impressed with our staff and services. Your compliments will certainly spur us on to do even better for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional stay in the near future. Thank you. Best regards, Manfred Weber, Area General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The behaviour of the staff was really bad. We came in and the waiter just said: drinks? No menu, or anything. They looked like they are bothered of us. And the food.. Nothing special. Sushi was bad, tuna was stale, prawns smelled weird and salmon was like mud. Some veg food and desserts were good. We will never come back..

Stayed March 2017, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Petr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLKL-GM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We have taken note of your comments and please be assured that the issues highlighted has been looked into and rectified. We sincerely hope that you would accord us another opportunity to be of service to you again in the near future. Thank you. Best regards, Manfred Weber, Area General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.7 km away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.9 km away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,368 reviews
1.2 km away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#10 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,395 reviews
2.3 km away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.7 km away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price range (per night): RM518 - RM788
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing