We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good new hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #2 of 350 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2012

A very good Hyatt in a very good location with great room and enthusiastic service. Location is near KLCC, with 15-minute covered walkway to the Bukit Bintang shopping-eating area. Guards positioned in key points outside the pereimeter of the property shouts security and also telling those not staying here, "don't come". Doormen and receptonists all very enthusiastic. Checkin lounge is at the topmost (39) floor, another security feature -- rooms are from 17th upwards. Freeform pool with cabanas (recommended) on 2nd floor. Gym is modern with interactive control screen on each machine (although the control varies from machine to machine). Shower and locker facilities are excellent. Room obviously very up-to-date in layout and furnishing. We had twin beds which face the floor-to-ceiling windows. Entry to toilet-shower-vanity area from both sides of the room. Nice glass partition between bath and bed which can turn translucent with the switch of a button. Free wifi only in the lobby. Staff all-round very enthusiastic given that this is a new operation.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Twin Towers have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manitree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,424 - 2,428 of 2,989 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

There's something a little bit off about this place. It's pretty sterile and modern and corporate, but has some weirdo practices that keep the guest off-balance.

The location is phenomenal. Close to where you want to be, and the views are great. Initial steps into the street lobby are cold and confusing. Lots of staff all welcome you at the same instant, and nobody really in charge of directing the guest through the processes. Before heading upstairs to the real check-in, you have to stop at the ground level bell desk (which is not labeled, and I assumed was the check-in desk) for some reason that is still not clear. Check-in at the sky lobby is slow, but the staff is friendly and will probably get the hang of it all soon.

The rooms are okay. The technology is good - nice TV, ipod hookup, good phones, multi-voltage outlets - it's all there. A clock, however, is not. Just a crazy decision on their part, that they should rectify. Also missing was any information about the hotel (as mentioned by another reviewer) - nothing that explains the amenities or even a room service menu. The room otherwise was good. I liked the bathroom (killer shower), and the bedroom has a modern Park Hyatt aesthetic, although the *quality* of the materials didn't quite live up to the design. It was typical hyatt/hilton/marriott hotel furniture - not 5-star, but not terrible. The bed was super-hard, which I was very cool with. The room was quiet, and A/C was easy to use and worked great.

The bar/restaurant on THIRTY8 was really odd. Phenomenal views, but not really comfortable or luxurious. I think they bought their furniture from the same company that furnished the bedroom. Drinks were good, but in terms of food, we were told that they served only dessert until 6pm, and there was nowhere in the hotel to get lunch at all. Only dessert. That's just not hospitable.

Maybe the most annoying quirk is the elevators. To get to the street from your room, you need to take the elevator from your floor *up* to the sky lobby, walk around to the elevators that go to the street, and go down from there. Although the elevators are cool and modern, it doesn't make any sense to force guests to go up and switch elevator banks before they go down. Obviously, you've got the same problem going from the street to the room also.

Not sure which way this one's going to go. You get a perfectly fine room and the staff is great (and seems really smart, actually), but there are some bad choices they've made in terms of guest convenience and experience. Maybe it'll all get fixed in the shakedown over the next few months.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeremyZNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

1. Lobby and Services
Check-in and out took a bit of time, but the sky lobby magnificent city view wow effect might make you ignore the pretty reception girl in front of you, which happen to me during check in. As for their services, my usual comment to all Malaysia 5-star hotel remain the same, no match for Japanese 5-star hotel. Malaysia hotel industry need to look into this, most staff just know how to smile but not using their heart to greet and making connection with guest. My benchmark on this is Ritz-Carltorn, Osaka.

2. Location and building
Unbeatable location, walking distance to KLCC and convention center. Steel and glass square building complementing the twin tower style, sandwiching Mandarin Oriental in the middle.

3. Room and workstation
The room impress me with full L-shape surrounding floor to ceiling window, breathtaking city panoramic view from Jalan Pinang to KLCC park. I personally dislike the workstation location which facing opposite dull building instead of facing KLCC. We check in the 65sqm View Deluxe King and it does not come with the light central control which means you need to walk around to switch off light before sleep. And there's no stationary set, business people will find this annoying.

4. Bathroom
Bathroom is great where you can naked shower facing the city view, not many hotel with this features. However the poor insulation design allowing air exchange between room and bathroom making after shower super cold, as if i'm taking shower in a winter country home with no heater.

5. Facility
swimming pool is well design with plenty of water featured walkway, but no infinity pool and it's on 2nd floor. Nothing to shout about regarding the gym and spa.

6. Restaurant
Dine-in experience, seriously worst experience of any hotel dine-in, minimum choice, taste bad but i reserve this as i believe the hotel is not fully ready. Restaurant38 and Lounge39 will definitely make it into KL folks favorite hi-tea and birthday celebration place. with their 360 KL unobstructed view, this is the best place for firework watch.

In a nutshell, it felt more like a 5-star residential place that a hotel.

Stayed September 2012, on company review purposes.

Room Tip: If you are paying extra for twin tower view, ask for the room facing/closer to ExxonMobile building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dmonddes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

Over the last 16 years I have been a celebrated regular guest at The Mandarin Oriental KLCC . Simply the unrivalled hotel in all categories in KLCC though in need of refurbishment. It's unchallenged status is about to end . The new rising steel and glass spectacle that adorn KLCC skyline The Grand Hyatt is a serious competitor . With impressive lobby greeted by genuinely attentive and professional staffs with the signature Hyatt greet you know you are in for a treat. The check in lobby is at the 37 floor of the building making it the highest lobby in KL with spectacular unobstructive view of Petronas twin tower and KLCC skyline . Impressively minimalist but a very warm welcome . The rooms start from the 17th floor upwards. Polished wooden floor with sumptuous bed with areas circling the bed with separate powdering area, exquisite marble bath with roof shower and separate WC. The walk in wardrobe is huge and the toiletries for sure a collectors items. The lifting is impressive . The room facing the twin tower is the nest but cost slightly higher. Impressive room and this is standard room . The swimming pool is on the second floor making the mandarin oriental pool by far the best . The hyatt spa is wonderful so as the gym and the restaurant near the top flirt lobby has a view to due for . Staffs are extremely accommodating without being intrusive . A mere walking distance to KLCC and the park . My stay was graced by the rightful owner of grand hyatt KL HRH the sultan of Brunei who had a red carpet entrance . A perfect into to this magnificient establishment . Yes I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FABREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur is a brand new hotel, smack in the middle of the KLCC, spitting distance from the Petronas Towers. The location cannot be beat, and the rooms a large and very comfortable. Floor to ceiling windows offer majestic views of the city, while the open design shower area offers a modern touch. Overall, I would say the rooms are tasteful and luxurious, certainly up to standard. The gym is well equipped and offers 24-hour access to guests, which was a huge plus for me. The main restaurant, Level 38, is enormous and offers a well stocked breakfast buffet. An oddity is that the lobby is on the 39th floor, and you need to go up through the lobby to get to the ground floor. A little annoying, but no big deal.

While the hotel itself glitters, it is apparent that the staff will need some time to get up to speed. I was apparently the 24th guest to check-in to this property, and at times I could tell. For example, room service staff seemed unfamiliar with the items on the menu, and a few of the items were not available at all. At check-out, there was only one person manning the desk, which led to a backlog; not ideal for people needing to get to the airport quickly, which is very far away. At breakfast, while the restaurant is huge, it seemed like they could have put more items on display. Side dishes like beans, hash browns, sausages, etc. were not available to pick and choose from.

All in all these are small issues and I'm sure the Hyatt will sort them out in due course. This hotel has a lot of potential and I can certainly see it becoming my hotel of choice in KL should Hyatt be successful in working out the kinks.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
3  Thank Kyle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.9 km away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
1.2 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
7,407 reviews
0.7 km away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
10,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
977 reviews
3.5 km away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#14 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
4,402 reviews
1.2 km away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur

Address: 12 Jalan Pinang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 350 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: RM592 - RM1,105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Petronas Twin Towers and adjacent to Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre, Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur is a five-star luxury hotel strategically located in the heart of Golden Triangle shopping and entertainment district. Features 411 guestrooms including 42 suites, also showcased as having one of the largest entry-level guestrooms in the city. Highly versatile, host dynamic meetings and events at our seven event spaces. Experience interactive and authentic dining with our three vibrant restaurants featuring interactive show kitchens. Rejuvenate with traditional Malay healing and ramuan at Essa Spa, unwind at our outdoor freeform swimming pool surrounded by tropical greenery or stay fit at the 24-hour fitness centre equipped with the latest strength and cardio equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing