We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding Ceremony at an Amazing Hotel in KL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #8 of 350 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2015

My wife and I recently held our wedding ceremony at the rooftop garden of The Majestic Hotel. It was a beautiful wedding and all our friends and family enjoyed it. The success of this wedding ceremony must be attributed to the excellent team at Majestic KL in particular Bowie & Chrisleen of the Catering & Sales team.

Bowie was our main PIC throughout the entire planning and she has been nothing but top notch in all areas of her service. She is reliable, prompt and attentive to all details. She is experienced and we had no problem leaving the coordination of the hotel details into her hands. We could not have look any more relaxed than we were without Bowie in the background. She deserves all the credit where it is due and she is an excellent gem to the management of Majestic Hotel KL.

We would also like to thank Hakim & his service team for the arrangements, set up and service throughout the wedding ceremony.

Lastly, I would like to thank Michelle of the front office who has been nothing but excellent in her duties. She promptly checked in my entire entourage of 15 rooms in record time and has been helpful in all our request. Thank you as your service is truly a reflection of Majestic Hotel KL showing that the hotel is just not beautiful on the facade, but there is soul in the service.

Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JohnhansOei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,338 - 1,342 of 2,414 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

Harking back to a time gone by, or a rose tinted version perhaps, the Majestic has possibly the most perfectly trained staff ever. From the pith-helmeted doorman to the white jacketed waiters a gobsmacking level of service applies throughout everything they do. So many pluses - the biggest and most varied breakfast buffet I've ever seen, the perfect colonial jazz bar, a lobby you could land a plane in (probably)...
However, we were upgraded to a suite and told that this included a complimentary three course meal.
Then we were presented with a bill for it.
There was a brief "no, we checked and it's not included" explanation. It took some discussion at the desk and a phone call with management to arrive at a compromise to a situation that really should never have been allowed to arise.
The major downside though is the location. No amount of perfect service or colonial splendour can quite make up for the fact that everything you might want to see or do in KL is a taxi ride away. Shuttle buses are all very well and good but sometimes you just want to step outside and find a bar or a restaurant you can walk to. You can't from the Majestic.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Terence1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Stayed at this hotel in June 2015 for 4 nights and loved it. So full of character with the most helpful and friendly staff. Our room was huge with 2 modern bedrooms a living room a walk in wardrobe and 2 bathrooms and a view of the Petronas towers in the distance. Had afternoon tea in the hotel which was fantastic and i highly recommend (although make sure you book in advance as very popular) Breakfast in the hotel was lovely with plenty of choice however the teas/coffee's took forever to turn up much quicker to go up to the counter yourself! Took taxis to most places as that was cheap enough however i do believe that the hotel runs a shuttle bus service but we never used it! We did use the hotels car service from/to the airport though and we were very pleased with this.

Room Tip: ask for high floor with towers view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emma d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. We were offered a free laundry service on arrival and reception staff recommended a great restaurant in China Town. Good location for China Town, and free shuttle buses to Sentral Station and to main shopping centre. Breakfast staff couldn't do enough for you, very friendly and helpful. Everyone had a smile on their faces.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LKRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

The setting is just perfect. There is the old Railway Station, the old government building across the road, the Federated Malay State Railway Building next to it and a short walk away is the Dataran Merdeka where the iconic Sultan Sulaiman Building is sited and not to be left out the Masjid Jamik where Kuala Lumpur began.

This is old Malaya charm.

Sitting at any vantage point in this area and letting your imagination free, you will see history unfolding right around you.

And if you want to taste opulence of that old Malaya step into The Majestic.

The architects have done extremely well, capitalising on the old and historical Majestic Hotel and adding the new tower with a seamless design and integration.

I was upgraded to the Junior Suite which was fabulous and fits well with my choice of word: opulence. Simple, Clean, luxurious, stylish, functional.

I fell in love with the tea lounge, the colonial cafe and the bar. The service was excellent. It was near closing but the waiters were ready to accommodate and served us past the closing hours. That was iving up to old Malaya charm.

Enough said, this is the pride of Malaysia.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank LordOfKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.8 km away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#14 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
4,402 reviews
3 km away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
10,136 reviews
2.3 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
7,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
1.7 km away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
0.7 km away
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
2,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Address: No 5, Jalan Sultan Hishamuddin, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 350 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: RM429 - RM759 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur was built in the 1930s and was ranked as one of Southeast Asia's grandest hotels. Re-opening in December 2012, the hotel is poised to reclaim this former glory; its piece-de-resistance will be The Majestic Wing, whose Neo-Classical details have been meticulously restored. An annexe, housing the majority of the plush rooms, was designed to complement the historic building. A spa has been designed in art-deco fashion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing