We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and fascinating dinner experience”

Dining In The Dark KL
Ranked #2 of 5,092 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: A restaurant in total darkness. A completely new sensory experience. Dining in The Dark KL, the very first of its kind in Malaysia.The optic nerve is overridden – your other senses take over. Every sound, every movement, every taste, every breath is an adventure!Thoughtfully designed and carefully prepared surprised menu fit for a fine dining—Starter, Soup, Main, Dessert—with varying flavours to give your palate a wonderful experience and your mind... an exciting challenge!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was a one-of-a kind experience; we were amazed by the promptness, agility and helpfulness of the waiters, especially Marcus. Being served by 'visually impaired' waiters made us realize that we're fortunate enough to see. Dining in the Dark gave us the opportunity to actually feel how it is. We would definitely recommend anyone travelling to KL to visit Dining in the Dark.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shaziah1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wernersk, Public Relations Manager at Dining In The Dark KL, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi shaziah1606, thank you for sharing and glad that you enjoyed your dinner time with your friend with completely new sensory experience where every sound, every movement, every taste, every breath is an adventure! Thanks for coming and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 1,644 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife found this restaurant on Trip Advisor and suggested we go there for our wedding anniversary dinner.
I made a booking on line and was happy to read that advance bookings on line were subject to a 13% discount off the RM 120.00 per person set menu. During the booking process I realized that I was still charged a total of RM 240.00 off a discounted "value added" higher price. Not sure how they do the pricing since we did not get anything extra, unless they consider the mini fruit juice cocktail in the bar before the dinner an extra item.
We ordered a bottle of wine and bottle of water at the restaurant which cost another RM 150.00 + RM 6.00. Not sure what we finally got served since I never saw the bottle in the dark, obviously, and the wine tasted like some cheap plonk.
The 4 course menu consists of 4 appetizers served in 4 small bowls sitting on a wooden plate. 2 soups are served in 2 demi tasse cups. Main course is served in 3 small bowls sitting on a wooden plate and dessert consists of 1 ice cream and 4 different sweets. Since there is only a fork and spoon to eat with and the food is portioned into small cubes and strips for easy eating. The darkness does play tricks on the senses and it is not easy to guess what kind of food one is eating. Onion Soup, prawn with penne pasta and fish were some of the easiest to guess. All in all, the food was nothing to get exited about. It is more about sitting in absolute darkness and guessing what is on the plate. I suspect flavour enhancer MSG is used as I was very thristy after dinner, just like after eating Chinese food that contains MSG or ajinomoto.
The service staff Markus was excellent. He is from the Iban tribe in Sarawak and it was good to see that he has a job that enables him to work inspite of his handicap, especially in a country that offers few jobs for the visually impaired. He was very helpful and kind. I hope some of the profits from this outfit go into his and his colleagues wages.
To rank Dining in the Dark as the best restaurant in KL is certainly not because of the food.It is not a great culinary experience but just the novelty of being temporary blind. I have to admit that it is a very unique dining experience and the management of the restaurant is not shy in pushing its patrons toward giving high reviews on Trip Advisor.
The fact that cell phones or smart watches are not allowed into the dining room is a plus since it gives diners a chance to focus on each other and the art of conversation has a chance.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank borneo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wernersk, Public Relations Manager at Dining In The Dark KL, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Borneo88,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. Glad that our darkness expert, Marcus has offered excellent customer service during your visit.

We serve 4 course surprise menu at RM130 + tax per pax (which is RM137.80nett). On TableApp, our online reservation platform, you can enjoy 13% discount for your online prepay reservation on top of the normal price and RM120nett is the amount after discount.

In terms of the food, we would like to mention that all the servings in our menu are carefully picked, crafted, and cooked by our experienced chef using only the freshest ingredients, we don't use any MSG in our kitchen.

We uphold careful thought and deliberation in our diners' servings. Therefore, if customers believe that any of the requirements are not met, we highly appreciate that the matter to be brought to our attention immediately. Same goes for the wine bottle you ordered, if the taste doesn't seem to suit in any way, we would rectify it there and then.

Once again, thank you for choosing Dining In The Dark KL. Looking forward to see you again. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visiting Dining in the Dark with a friend travelling from Sydney. It had been a few months since we last saw each other and this was the perfect place to enjoy a good meal, catch up and really spend quality time with each other. The overall experience was wonderful. We really enjoyed our meal, the service was great, the staff was friendly and the experience of savouring a meal in darkness makes you appreciate it so much more and heightens your senses. Will definitely be back for more.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nafisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wernersk, Public Relations Manager at Dining In The Dark KL, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Nafisa D, thank you for sharing and glad that you enjoyed your dinner time with your friend with completely new sensory experience where every sound, every movement, every taste, every breath is an adventure! Thanks for coming and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The restaurant opens at 6pm, so if you arrive too early you might have to wait Once inside you will be required to leave your phone, watch etc as they cannot open the lights in the dining area if you dropped any of your belongings. You start with two mini games - trying to find 3/4 paper clips in a cup of rice (to sharpen your touch senses) and try to guess the ingredients of a "mystery" juice (to sharpen and condition your taste buds). These mini games are necessary to get your senses to be more sensitive before the dinner. Once you are ready they will call out the waiter who will guide you to the dining area. Let's just stop the review here as we really shouldn't spoil the fun for you. Afterall you will be paying for the dinner. It may be a bit higher price but considering that you get 4 appetizers, 2 soups, 3 main dishes and 5 desserts, we think it's worthy. Plus they change the menus every 3 months. Please give some tips for them - they employ real blind people as the waiter and chefs. The tips are not necessary - they won't even ask for it, but please do.

A small advice - don't wear white. Hahaha...

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Akf A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wernersk, Public Relations Manager at Dining In The Dark KL, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Akf A, thank you for sharing and glad that you enjoyed your dinner time with completely new sensory experience where every sound, every movement, every taste, every breath is an adventure! Thanks for coming and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time tried this and we are so excited. The host served us welcome drink when we reached the restaurant and we need play a small game (to find out 4 pcs clips through the rice can) with your eyes closed.
Before we are going to the dining area, the Host will explained to you about the journey. Our Dark Expert - Radha was the man who served us the dinner in the dark. Radha was amazing, he knows how to make us relax and will chat with us. Thank ypu so much, Radha.
Dining in the Dark, you will never know what are you eating (You can pre-inform the host what is the food that you're not prefer). We have a great time in the dark, no cell phone , just talk to your company. And you will just know how to do it (eat) when you're in the dark. After the dinner, we have a fresh air from the outdoor area and the host show us the dinner menu that we had just now. Honestly, we are guess wrongly all the menu, lol.
Overall this is an amazing experience, recommend to all.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wernersk, Public Relations Manager at Dining In The Dark KL, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Mandy C, thank you for sharing and glad that you enjoyed your dinner time with completely new sensory experience where every sound, every movement, every taste, every breath is an adventure! Thanks for coming and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dining In The Dark KL also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Dining In The Dark KL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing