We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ice Breaking section is interesting.”

Dining In The Dark KL
Ranked #2 of 5,092 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: A restaurant in total darkness. A completely new sensory experience. Dining in The Dark KL, the very first of its kind in Malaysia.The optic nerve is overridden – your other senses take over. Every sound, every movement, every taste, every breath is an adventure!Thoughtfully designed and carefully prepared surprised menu fit for a fine dining—Starter, Soup, Main, Dessert—with varying flavours to give your palate a wonderful experience and your mind... an exciting challenge!
Reviewed 5 days ago

The meal is tasty, service is very nice. The overall of the section from ice breaking to the end of the food are good.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TeoYP3nG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wernersk, Public Relations Manager at Dining In The Dark KL, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi TeoYP3nG, glad that you enjoyed your dinner time with completely new sensory experience where every sound, every movement, every taste, every breath is an adventure! Please come back to visit us again. =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 1,644 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Being a hotelier, I was amazed by the fact that the service was flawless and the food was created with so much thought. Every thing was wonderful and we had a great time. Will defenetly come back on our next visit to Kuala Lumpur.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank balarccl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wernersk, Public Relations Manager at Dining In The Dark KL, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi balarccl, glad that you enjoyed your dinner time with completely new sensory experience where every sound, every movement, every taste, every breath is an adventure! Please come back to visit us again. =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The dinner was filled with a lot of surprise and fun! The place is easy to find near Bukit Bintang monorail. Ben was the one who attended us initially. He was very friendly and played an ice breaker game with us. Marcus was our guide in the dark. He was very attentive and constantly talked to us when he served the dinner. Overall fun experience! Highly recommended!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank see min n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wernersk, Public Relations Manager at Dining In The Dark KL, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi see min n, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit and for recommending our restaurant to other travellers. Glad that Ben and Marcus has offered excellent customer service during your visit. We hope that you enjoyed your dinner time with completely new sensory experience where every sound, every movement, every taste, every breath is an adventure! Please come back to visit us again. =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

I went in with reasonably high expectations for a unique dining experience, and I was not disappointed.

The evening began with a non-alcoholic cocktail for which we tried unsuccessfully to guess the 3 ingredients, and then a blindfold game where we were to find paper-clips in a bowl of rice. These comprised our introduction to dinner.

We were next led into the complete darkness by our waiter, AK. He got us seated and explained how everything was going to happen. Each course was comprised of 3-to-5 little dishes, and we had a good time trying to navigate food towards our mouths and then guessing the ingredients. In the end we were about 50% successful, with some wild misses.

The three of us were all full by the end, and the food was delicious. I went for the experience, and was pleasantly surprised by the food and service. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kazabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wernersk, Public Relations Manager at Dining In The Dark KL, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi kazabu, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit and for recommending our restaurant to other travellers. We're truly happy that we managed to live up to your expectations during your visit. We're also glad that you enjoyed your dinner time with completely new sensory experience where every sound, every movement, every taste, every breath is an adventure! It was indeed a pleasure to have you with us, please come back to visit anytime. =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

As many have reviewed, it's truly a very experiential meal; one that my partner and I thoroughly enjoyed. The service was excellent as soon as we stepped into the premise. We were led by a lovely and attentive waiter, Marcus, to our seats in the dark. He was careful in his explanations and always made sure we were comfortable. He was very nice to take time to explain about certain questions that we had.

The food was great. I don't want to give too much away other than it was delicious and felt sumptuous (it was in total darkness, I can't see the food). The darkness does amplify your hearing, taste and touch senses quite a bit.

The experience truly makes us realize how privilege we are to have our sights intact. The servers were visually impaired. Not being able to see my delicious food while eating it makes me sad and I'm only experiencing this for a short moment.

The darkness also allowed us a much needed break from our screens and focus on the moment.

Dining in the Dark is dining in the moment.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IsaiahSaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wernersk, Public Relations Manager at Dining In The Dark KL, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi IsaiahSaw, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit and for recommending our restaurant to other travellers. We glad that you enjoyed your dinner time with completely new sensory experience where every sound, every movement, every taste, every breath is an adventure! Please come back to visit anytime. =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dining In The Dark KL also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Dining In The Dark KL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing