We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience of our KL trip”

Dining In The Dark KL
Ranked #2 of 5,187 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: A restaurant in total darkness. A completely new sensory experience. Dining in The Dark KL, the very first of its kind in Malaysia.The optic nerve is overridden – your other senses take over. Every sound, every movement, every taste, every breath is an adventure!Thoughtfully designed and carefully prepared surprised menu fit for a fine dining—Starter, Soup, Main, Dessert—with varying flavours to give your palate a wonderful experience and your mind... an exciting challenge!
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was a brilliant experience and great value for money (about a fifth of the price that it is in London - and with very good quality food in KL - unlike London!). We enjoyed the whole experience from beginning to end due to the fantastic staff and thought that has gone into every step and dish. We were there for two hours.

We guessed about 30% of what we were eating - our minds were tricked by many of the textures! Our waiter (Radha) was brilliant (all of the waiting staff are visually impaired - this was just a small insight into what that means every day). Food was excellent quality which I didn't expect and I was very full at the end. It's four courses and each course is split into up to five dishes.

If you book online (just google dining in the dark KL) there is a discount so I would recommend doing this.

Don't miss this experience if you are in KL - you won't get it at the price or quality anywhere else in the world

P.s. I thought I might be scared of the dark - but this wasn't an issue at all! Relaxing music and your own personal waiter makes you feel very comfortable!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 50LouiseC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wernersk, Public Relations Manager at Dining In The Dark KL, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi 50LouiseC, thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. Glad that our staff and "darkness experts" has offered good customer service during your visit. We glad you enjoyed your dinner time with completely new sensory experience where every sound, every movement, every taste, every breath is an adventure! =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 1,680 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a great evening on New Years Eve 2018 having a dining in the dark experience. We were warmly welcomed by all who work there. It is a great experience to have a full meal in the dark, we couldn't have done it without our great waiter, Rahda who was friendly, helpful and professional. All of the food was fantastic and it was fun to try and guess the menu before it was revealed. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting KL

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank CD201901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wernersk, Public Relations Manager at Dining In The Dark KL, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi CD201901, thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. Glad that our staff and "darkness experts" has offered good customer service during your visit. We glad you enjoyed your dinner time with completely new sensory experience where every sound, every movement, every taste, every breath is an adventure! =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good experience with my wife. This is the first time I have to rely on my touch (table set-up and cutlery), smell and taste senses. Cannot say it is romantic because it is pitch dark. No handphones and watches allowed inside. My taste buds are hopeless as I found out that I was 90% wrong of what I think I ate. Food is OK and was told that they change the menu every 3 months.
There are people celebrating and singing "Happy Birthday"....without candles, of course.
Will be fantastic if Darth Vader is there with his heavy breathing......

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MikeYKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wernersk, Public Relations Manager at Dining In The Dark KL, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi MikeYKK, thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit and for recommending our restaurant to other travellers. We glad you enjoyed the night and this completely new sensory experience where every sound, every movement, every taste, every breath is an adventure! =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

I would recommend this place for diner whom in search of a different dining experience compares to your routine selection of meal only. Dining in the dark could be a dating option that could "wow" your partner.

IMHO, the 'PLUS' for this place includes:
1) exceptional experience to dine in total darkness - you don't get to see what you eat, not even your partner face
2) a good way to provide a platform for the vision impaired social members to earn their living with dignity
3) a personal journey to experience the challenges on vision impaired and experience of dining based on your other senses (smell, feel, or imagination)
4) the interaction session prior to the meal is interesting (using your other senses to figure things out eg. search stuff from a cup with your eyes blind-fold)
5) service of the staff is commendable.

The only negative could be the taste of the food is only about average.

In summary, I will recommend this place if you are looking for different dining experience, but don't go for the food.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chong_Penang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wernersk, Public Relations Manager at Dining In The Dark KL, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Chong_Penang, thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit and for recommending our restaurant to other travellers. We glad you enjoyed the night and this completely new sensory experience where every sound, every movement, every taste, every breath is an adventure! =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely incredible experience from start to finish.
Every course was amazing and even as a fussy eater I thoroughly enjoyed all of the food.
Our darkness expert, AK, was amazing too!
I couldn't recommend this more, it was a great way to spend our evening.

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank TiffAimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wernersk, Public Relations Manager at Dining In The Dark KL, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi TiffAimee, thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. Glad that our staff and "darkness experts" has offered good customer service during your visit. We glad you enjoyed your dinner time with completely new sensory experience where every sound, every movement, every taste, every breath is an adventure! =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dining In The Dark KL also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Dining In The Dark KL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing