We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
29
8
1
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
29
8
1
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2017

In November 2017 I had the privilege of taking a personally guided tour with Zahren and Josh from Unseen Tours around the streets of KL.

Having visited the downtown area before, I was amazed at the amount of detail I'd missed. My tour navigated back streets, heritage buildings, political history (In a nerd) and the scenes of alleged ghost sightings, as well as filling me in on life on the streets of KL from the perspective of two people who've lived on them.

I enjoyed every minute of my 2.5 hours, which was all very walkable, and visited spots most tourists would miss.

I recommend flat shoes, an umbrella (to fend off rain and sun), water and lots of questions.

Zahren was charming, witty and genuine. No question was too dumb. This guy knows his stuff!

Best of luck with this venture, guys.

Hope to see you again next time I'm in KL.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RubyQue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 November 2017

After meeting at Central Market, we had a 2.5h tour filled with off-the-beaten track information and locales. The tour was led by a formerly homeless man and he knew all there was about KL & Malaysia -- no question was too trivial or too much for him. We learned a ton about ghost history, which was super interesting as one would have no idea of that aspect of the culture through any other tour. 4/5 stars due to quality and value, but probably just a bit too long (2h would definitely have done the trick!)

Thank you!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank VictoriaCumberbatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Stayed at YH and had an amazing experience with a social project which employs street persons as walking tour guides. UNSEEN TOURS is an Initiative of Malaysian Ministry of Finance under Volunteering for International Professionals Programme (VIP) and they are a LIFE TRANSFORMING project which deserves all our respect and support.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KryptoNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2017

The accommodation is fairly rustic at Yellow House, but it is also cheap and it is the IDEAL place to acclimatise after a long flight from abroad. The company is excellent, and Shyam is an absolute hero. What I was most taken by in my time at Yellow House was how much good they are doing in the local community, through homeless hairwashes and all manner of other things. It was quite amazing to witness all the good things they get up to at Yellow House, and it was an inspiring experience.
Thanks Shyam- I hope to see you again some time!

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank billyburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Our experience at the yellow house was great. We've helped and we've been helped a lot. The idea of share and help each other here is ordinary, which makes this place extraordinary.
Shyam has such a big heart, helping everyone and everything she meets on her way that needs help.
We want to come back one day!

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MatthewAroundWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews