We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced ”
Review of Kampachi Troika

Kampachi Troika
Ranked #379 of 5,107 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

The maitre’d was arrogant and suggested that we order Dom Perignon for nearly MYR 4000 telling us they didn’t have the tattinger for less than MYR 500 in stock. There is a lovely and knowledgeable waitress but substandard sashimi, yet great temaki. Won’t come back and can’t recommend. Came here to avoid the fairly comercial Nobu but wish I had gone there as Nobu always delivers, prefer to over pay for quality

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank mallorca_by_lis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampachi R, Operations Manager at Kampachi Troika, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear Elisabeth,

Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations.

We will certainly be reviewing this matter with the manager concerned, but please be advised that while we do not carry Tattinger champagne, our wine list also offers similarly-priced Moet & Chandon NV as well as Veuve Clicquot from RM475 per bottle. Dom Perignon ranges from RM1,100 to RM2,500 depending on vintage, while the RM4,000 figure you mentioned would likely have been referring to the vintage Louis Roederer Cristal we also carry. We certainly apologize if our Maitre’D did not do a better job of explaining our offerings.

The situation you described is certainly out of character and we certainly hope you will allow us the opportunity in future for the Kampachi to deliver to you the kind of high quality and standard that is best known for. We’d appreciate any further feedback you might wish to share with us that will help us improve and you may reach us at kampachi@equatorial.com.

May I take this opportunity to extend our wishes for a Happy New Year and all the best for 2018.


Sincerely,

Theresa Wong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Visited here as the client my company was meeting wanted to have the business lunch in this restaurant.
I can say that food for the price is over rated and not that great.
At the same time despite there been what seems a lot of staff around the service was slow and food took ages to arrive.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Ismail77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampachi R, Manager at Kampachi Troika, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear Mr. Ismail77,

Warmest greetings from Kampachi.
Thank you for dining with us and we regret to hear that the service quality had failed your expectation. We would certainly re-double the effort to ensure the food delivery quality and we hope this one-off incident would not deter you from visiting Kampachi. Once again, thank you for taking your time to share with us your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

So nice evening, excellent japanese dishes.. One of my best japanese, certainly a place to discover, I will return when I will be back to KL. Very nice atmosphere, and the service was excellent. A place to go in KL

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank francois111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampachi R, Manager at Kampachi Troika, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Dear Mr. Francois111,
Warmest greetings from Kampachi!
Thank you for dining with us and we are glad that you have had an enjoyable dining experience with us. We look forward to your next visit when you are back in KL. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Excellent and enlightening evening in the company of 40 year old friends learning about the origins of Japanese whisky and how Nikka & Suntory whisky share the same founder in Masataka Taketsuru from Donald Lim.

The wide omakase repertoire served by Sushi Master Shibata-san was delightful and heavenly. Double thumbs up

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thecjchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampachi R, Manager at Kampachi Troika, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear Mr. Chang,
Warmest greetings from Kampachi!
It was our pleasure to be at your service and we are glad to know that you had an enjoyable experience with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Good food, good service. Evething was excellent. Will definitely be back. İt's really one of the place to go in KL

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank 247Carpe_Diem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampachi R, Manager at Kampachi Troika, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear 247Carpe_Diem,

Warmest greetings from Kampachi!
We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your dining experience in Kampachi, we hope to see you again in soon future.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kampachi Troika also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Kampachi Troika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing