We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
Half-Day Kuala Lumpur City Tour
251

Book in advance
from
RM 144.48
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Merdeka Square
from RM 144.48
More Info
from RM 280.20
More Info
from RM 138.74
More Info
from RM 143.52
More Info
Reviews (1,585)
Filter reviews
1,585 results
Traveller rating
399
748
395
38
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
399
748
395
38
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sultan abdul samad building royal selangor club malaysian flag flagpole colonial
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 1,585 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2019

the place is very good also has a very big garden and is very nearby to samad building. there was also a ramzan market when we visited.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank kamal_innovaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 May 2019 via mobile


Not much to see, might be of historic significance but not to look at other than buildings around it, (but the whole city is buildings of some description) and a flag pole.

Not worth visiting especially.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Jonofromcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 May 2019

The Merdeka square is situated in the heart of the city. It was here in front of the sultan Abdul Samad building that the Union glag was lowered and the Malayan flag was hoisted for the first time at midnight on August 31 1957. Ever since then, the Merdeka Square has been the venue for the anual Merdeka Parade. At the square, you can also visit the KL library, Kl City gallery and the impressive Moorish-architecture Sultan Abdul Samad building which is quite a sight at night when it is illuminated.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Lance_Kerwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 May 2019

This is the location where independence was declared in 1957. the 100-meter flag pole is one of the tallest in the world. There is a lot of construction work going on at the moment so some parts are inaccessible.

Date of experience: April 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank KatielouAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 May 2019

Manage to catch this place whilst on our way on KL Hop hop off. Interesting buildings around. Nice place to chill out .

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank 119shamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews