We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor:Temporarily closed
Bank Negara Malaysia Museum and Art Gallery
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Bank Negara Malaysia Museum and Art Gallery
from US$24.93
More Info
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
142
90
27
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
142
90
27
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central bank top floor economic history nice place to visit air conditioned currency malaysia collection exhibits bandaraya study lockers citizens muslim bags taxi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2020

We are not Muslims so we didn't quite know what to expect - but we were soon astounded by the history, the artefacts, the architecture and the mosaical patterns that belong to no other race/religion . The world of Islam stands by itself - it is VERY different from the European Western character we were used to - Islamic art, writings, clothing, rugs, ceremonial weapons, pottery and silverware has an ambience all of its own. There is an entrance fee. The building is air-conditioned, there is a restaurant and there are three floors in a huge complex. Nearby is the National Mosque of Malaysia.

Date of experience: January 2020
2  Thank ITomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2020

I would say it is more like a museum of banking and currency than art gallery as there are only 30 paintings at most but all are great paintings. Well furnished, many seats for resting and can take your time to enjoy the art. Free admission,lockers provided for bags. 10mins walk from lrt/mrt station:Bandaraya.

Date of experience: February 2020
1  Thank Luluhaha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2020 via mobile

Malaysia’s Central Bank has set up a museum/gallery for Its citizens combining history with education. I don’t know how many other central banks have done this or something similar, and so kudos. I actually came to see the art on exhibit (top floor) but it was not to my taste.

The museum is located a bit off the beaten track, in a place where you might find a taxi cruising once every millennium. Not having a mobile phone, I was unable to order one, however the kind people at the front desk were kind enough to do it for me.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank Hanan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2020

Excellent museum! It's good for young people to study about our currency and other related to finance. Very Innovative!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank iszzul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2020 via mobile

The art collection and museum of the central bank of Malaysia provide you with deep understanding of Malaysian culture and people, in addition to economics and moneytary system.

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank vebimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews