We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great white chicken !”

Nam Heong Chicken Rice
Ranked #145 of 5,092 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Price range: US$2 - US$7
Cuisines: Chinese, Singaporean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Nam Heong Chicken Rice specialty is Village Chicken Rice. The first restaurant was started in 1938. The original restaurant is still located at its first location in Chinatown, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Best white chicken around,
Soft and flavourfull, had half a chook, steamed lettuce with oyster sauce and rice, help yourself to the house made chilli sauce and dig in,,,, wash it down with a few cold beers ( not on the menu, just ask,)
Read some reviews about bad service but ive been here quite a few times over several years and they've always been nice to me,,,,, coming back for sure !

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank custard747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Gross. Dirty tables, flies everywhere, rude wait staff. I will never go back here, especially when there are so many delicious places nearby. Arabesque across the street is amazing, save the trouble and go there.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank empom58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Back to this restaurant after many years... have avoided it due to traffic & parking problems. It's a Sunday and we took the MRT instead... no problem. Place is relatively clean and service is pretty fast. Ordered free range chicken and we're not disappointed as the texture and bite size portion is chewy and pleasant. Gizzard and liver was also commendable. Char Siew & Siew Yoke was only so so. The oyster sauce lettuce & choy sum were surprising refreshing and crunchy. Their winning secret: chili sauce was not as good as I remembered but still suffice. Pounded ginger & black soya sauce adds to the wow factor. Prices on the up scale but serving portion is not small.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank ABossMTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Just had lunch at this place. The overall is only “so so” or ok only. The Chili is so diluted and when we ordered chicken breast, given mostly bone till we have to order 2nd service and emphasised that we want “breast meat”. Rice is very yellowish and typical Hainanese rice is not that yellow.

Hainanese chicken rice without parsley and good Chili = not so complete

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 869jazt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

not as i expected and the chicken is cold when served. the staff is impolite even after i told them regarding it. even thou the price here is very pricey but i dont expected to be tyreated like im not paying for the service and food. " Very disappointing"

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank KaerAmierul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NamHeongChickenRice, Manager at Nam Heong Chicken Rice, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hi Mr. Kaer Amierul! So sorry to hear that you had a bad experience while dining in our restaurant. First of all, we would like to apologize for the miscommunication between you and our floor staffs. Our floor staffs are not good in the English language. They only have basic English for simple communication. Due to the fact that they only have basic knowledge of English, they have difficulty explaining to you in detail about the food that was served to you. For your information, chicken served in Hainanese Chicken Rice is served at room temperature. Correct me if I am wrong, your definition of "cold" is actually room temperature. In fact, all chicken rice restaurants in Malaysia are serving chicken at room temperature. Serving chicken at room temperature is the traditional Hainanese style of chicken rice.
We hope you are now informed about the Hainanese style of chicken rice. We hope you will dine in our restaurant again in the near future. You will have a better experience in tasting the different style of cooking from different cultures in Malaysia.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nam Heong Chicken Rice also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Nam Heong Chicken Rice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing