We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and drinks ”
Review of Opium KL

Opium KL
Ranked #12 of 4,395 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Introducing Opium KL! Established on 12th July 2014, this unique outlet focuses on Asian Oriental delights with a twist; such as Phoenix Dumpling, Fern Leaf Salad, Crispy Duck Noodles, Wagyu Beef Rendang, and the signature Beef Brisket & Tendon Stew just to name a few. Inspired by the Opium regimes of the east, the interior speaks for itself. Furnished with age-old artifacts such as an opium bed in the Rose Room, opium pipes and huge Chinese wine pots displayed vividly at the Communal area, the outlet aspires a 1930s-1960s look and feel. It's slogan, Eat Drink Man Woman takes a more subtle approach to distinguish Opium KL as the place for people to unwind and focus purely on the food, conversation and quality time.
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Came here for dinner and drinks. Service was very good and the butter prawns were amazing! Definately worth a visit and good value if you’re visiting! The 50 shades of grey drink is hilarious and has a back story and comes with handcuffs!

Thank a_13590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 41 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Good meal although more expensive than KL average - on par with London prices. Cocktails nice and mains were super tasty, served surprisingly quickly. Had a bit of live music too (Monday night). Didn't get offered dessert menu/options and did have a cocktail arrive I hadn't ordered, but otherwise all good. Worth a trip for food but not a cheap night. This place also adds 10% service charge which isn't usual for this KL area at least.

Thank Debs987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We went to Opium KL whilst on our honeymoon. The food was great, the service was very good, and the restaurant even gave us some honeymoon treats at the end of our meal as they knew that we were on our honeymoon, which was a lovely touch! It is a little more expensive than some other restaurants in KL but we would definitely recommending it!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sophia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WernersGroup, Public Relations Manager at Opium KL, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Hi Sophia, thank you for taking the time to write about us! It's truly a pleasure serving you towards memorable dining experience! Wish that you had a wonderful honeymoon here in KL! Looking forward to see you around soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

We stopped here to have a scotch and ended staying for dinner . We enjoyed the food , the atmosphere , the friendliness of the staff , the way our drinks were served , and the place as a whole that we returned here twice . Really good restaurant .

Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WernersGroup, Public Relations Manager at Opium KL, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Hi Erica, thank you for the lovely review! It's indeed a pleasure serving you towards memorable dining experience! Truly humbled by your compliment and support. Looking forward to see you around soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Visited this place a week ago. Sort of tourism restaurant, price is slightly on the high end. The food is generally good and some dishes are quite unique that I never tried before anywhere else. The lady serving us is awesome - full of warmth and no pressure at all

Thank Lingxiao S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WernersGroup, Public Relations Manager at Opium KL, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Hi Lingxiao S, thank you for the lovely review. It's indeed a pleasure serving you towards memorable dining experience. Glad that you enjoyed it. Looking forward to see you around soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Opium KL also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Opium KL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing