We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old is gold” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sungei Wang Plaza

Sungei Wang Plaza
Ranked #49 of 261 things to do in Kuala Lumpur
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sungei Wang Plaza which literally means 'River of Gold' is located in the premier district of Kuala Lumpur's Golden Triangle, Bukit Bintang and is one of Malaysia's pioneer and top ten shopping malls centrally located at the bustling Jalan Sultan Ismail which house more than 600 tenants and offers a wide array of local and international merchandise, food and beverage outlets at affordable rates.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
623 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
“Old is gold”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2015

Sungei Wang Plaza is simply a serious shopper's paradise, offering affordably priced articles from clothings to gadgets. After recently undertaking a medium scale refurbishment, the complex now looks a little more up to date. Having withstood the elements of commercialization & strong competition, Sungei Wang has now been given a new lease in life after opening its doors more almost 4 decades ago.

Jammed packed with bargain deals offered by retailers covering a massive hundreds of thousands of square feet of the complex. It is highly recommended for serious shoppers and not so much for people seeking an evening leisure. Finding a spot in the basement parking can be quite a challenge, so best to come early

Visited October 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank D_Jekyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    221
    147
    26
    16
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nothing interest me in this mall”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2015

1-Went to Sungei Wang Plaza on Apr 2015
disappointed that [CRAYON SHINCHAN (Lot G071)] is closed

2-It's neighbour shop [Bukit Bintang Plaza] is closed.
surronding was blocked for major renovation

This place is spacious, yet no crowd.
Nothing interest me in this mall.

Visited April 2015
Helpful?
Thank Sonic-love-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tainan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
93 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Place to shopping”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2015

Last time I came here because I wanted to visit "kedai upin ipin", but I just gave up after asking many people and still couldn't find the place! This place was also nice to sightseeing, you also can buy some souvenirs with reasonable price.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank kartika14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Still my favourite place to shop in Kuala Lumpur”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2015

I love shopping here. So many interesting shops on so many levels. Supermarket located in the basement, close to our hotel, so we can stock up on drinks and snacks here.
I always call into Kum Wah Watch & Pens Dealers at LG077. Lovely chinese man owns the shop. We have bought so many watches from him.
I call in Concetto Boutique for costume jewellery at KG7 on the ground floor.
I also buy stickers that they print your name on from a stall on the 2nd floor.
I find the Parksons dept store, much cheaper than the one in the Pavilion.
I always buy my grandkids shoes from Parksons. Well made and lots of variety.
But there are hundreds of other stores, that I shop at.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank danutaperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Shoppers paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2015

Loved the experience, would definitely recommend this mall. We did this mall during our 7 hour layover at KL, enroute to Penang. Use the KLIA express train which leaves from the airport and takes you directly to the city, the is called KL Sentral. The return ticket is for RM 70. From there you take the LRT, which is another train service and get off at KLCC. Use the exit that leads you directly to the Petrona towers. At the base there is a mall called Suria outside which is a free bus service which takes you to Starhill and Pavilion, which are two high end malls. From there the BB Plaza and this mall, Sungei Wang Plaza are about a 7-10 minute away.
Greàt shopping of the local brands, very reasonable shopping and nice styles. Can easily spend a couple of hours there. Also good food. A fun place !! Enjoy the experience.

Visited March 2015
Helpful?
4 Thank Shivli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sungei Wang Plaza also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Sungei Wang Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing