We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bargains to be found”
Review of Sungei Wang Plaza

Sungei Wang Plaza
Ranked #50 of 294 things to do in Kuala Lumpur
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sungei Wang Plaza which literally means 'River of Gold' is located in the premier district of Kuala Lumpur's Golden Triangle, Bukit Bintang and is one of Malaysia's pioneer and top ten shopping malls centrally located at the bustling Jalan Sultan Ismail which house more than 600 tenants and offers a wide array of local and international merchandise, food and beverage outlets at affordable rates.
Reviewed 25 February 2017

This shopping centre has it all. cheap clothes, shoes, hair cuts , hobbies, jewellery, glasses. You can bargain for discounts on shoes and wallets and some other items.

Thank malcolmc812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SungeiWangPlazaKL, Marketing Communications at Sungei Wang Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear malcolm812,

Thank you shopping with us and your valuable review regarding your recent visit at Sungei Wang Plaza.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed shopping here at Sungei Wang Plaza.

Looking forward for your next trip to Sungei Wang Plaza in the near future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 52 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2017

six floors and not one attractive venue.
do not waste your time.
I'd avoid it like the plague.
We went for souvenirs and there were none to be had of any quality.
A couple of blocks away is the Pavilion Mall. The numerous eateries are pleasant and well priced, but couldn't afford anything at any of the hundreds of designer boutiques (MontBlanc, Chanel, Chopard, Cartier) but it's esthetically pleasing, beautifully decorated, and has a pedestrian walkway to the towers, a park, and the aquarium.
We did buy shampoo at the market on the lower level.
To reiterate, this is the Pavilion Shopping Center, NOT Sungei Wang Plaza.

Thank N0rah-911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SungeiWangPlazaKL, Marketing Communications at Sungei Wang Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear N0rah-911,

Thank you shopping with us and your valuable review regarding your recent visit at Sungei Wang Plaza.

We regretted to hear that your recent visit to our mall did not meet your expectation. We heard your review and it is definitely helped us on our improvement. For your information, we have transformed our 6th Floor to education and storage hub.

For souvenirs, we are strongly recommend you to visit our Culture Street, partnering with Karyaneka, a subsidiary of Malaysian Handicraft Corporation, Ministry of Tourism and Culture Malaysia. You may explore the delicate and handmade products which are direct from local vendors and makers.

Do stay tuned with us as there will be more exciting happenings coming real soon.

Looking forward for your next trip to Sungei Wang Plaza in the near future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Use to be bustling with tourists looking for cheap bargains. Now lots of empty shops and not many people. Hard for the stores to make a living with no customers. Shops suppose to open at 10.00 now opens at 11 or 12. It seems most people hasgone elsewhere like Time Square next door. I hope this mall can be rejuvenated again.

1  Thank kinetix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SungeiWangPlazaKL, Marketing Communications at Sungei Wang Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Dear Kinetix,

Thank you shopping with us for the past 39 years and your valuable review regarding your recent visit at Sungei Wang Plaza.

We regretted to hear that your recent visit to our mall did not meet your expectation. We heard your review and it is definitely helped us on our improvement. Do stay tuned with us as there will be more exciting happenings coming real soon.

Looking forward for your next trip to Sungei Wang Plaza in the near future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017

We can find some Hobbies shop that sells action figure here at the 2nd and 3rd floor, and the other floor were selling shirts and souvenirs at cheaper price, I suggest you check this place out to buy some souvenirs to bring home.

Last but not least : Don't forget to bargain, always! sometimes you can even reach buy 1 get 1 deal

Thank KingsenYan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SungeiWangPlazaKL, Marketing Communications at Sungei Wang Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2017

Dear KingsenYan,

Thank you shopping with us and your valuable review regarding your recent visit at Sungei Wang Plaza.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed shopping at Sungei Wang Plaza.

Looking forward for your next trip to Sungei Wang Plaza in the near future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Still remember the good old days when Sungei Wang was "THE" place for some real shopping, with shops cramped from corner to corner, selling much affordable items from clothings to accessories. Weekends were somewhat predictable back in those days - jam packed with shoppers.

Nowadays Sungei Wang has been reduced to just another regular mall in KL with nothing much to see of shop. Bargains and sale are not frequent and even then, the prices has gone up rather significantly. This is probably the reason why it was pretty empty when were were there. Plenty of walkway space with no crowd to plough through, something unheard of in its heydays,

Thank D_Jekyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SungeiWangPlazaKL, Marketing Communications at Sungei Wang Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Dear D_Jekyll,

Thank you shopping with us for the past 39 years and your valuable review regarding your recent visit at Sungei Wang Plaza.

We regretted to hear that your recent visit to our mall did not meet your expectation. We heard your review and it is definitely helped us on our improvement. Do stay tuned with us as there will be more exciting happenings coming real soon.

Looking forward for your next trip to Sungei Wang Plaza in the near future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sungei Wang Plaza also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Sungei Wang Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing