We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good as always”

Rama V Fine Thai Cuisine
Ranked #294 of 4,222 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Price range: US$25 - US$60
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Just as good as always”
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We visit Rama V every month or so and are NEVER disappointed. The staff did a fantastic job in answering questions and accommodating us. There was a noisy group that made conversation strained and the staff immediately moved us across the restaurant to a quieter spot. Each of the four of us really liked our meals. I highly recommend the green curry dishes. I prefer veggies but the chicken is also very nice. Our two starters, chicken satay and fresh spring rolls were excellent. Only suggestion is to offer pitchers of water rather than forcing people to purchase bottled water. We don't live in a city where the water is dangerous to drink, why not provide that option to guests?

  • Visited September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    61
    36
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A webminar followed by dinner”
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Nice layout in the restaurant with a sectioned off area for our webminar, complete with projector and large screen at the stage end of the main dining area. They also have private dining rooms for up to 16 persons of more, in the form of mini houses.

Overall ambience is niece. Food portions a bit small. But taste is good. This may not be the place for kids, but if a family books a mini house, would not be a problem...

  • Visited September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food ”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

The setting is posh and the ambience is perfect for business and leisure.

The food is authentic without much local flavour influence.

Really a must try to experience.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Deric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Nice environment but average quality with high price ”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Since this is a fine dining restaurant I would expect the quality of food to be above average. The environment is nice but the quality of food for the price we pay is substandard. Simple example that the prawn in Tom Yam and other dishes are mushy, not justified for the price.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best Thai restraunt in KL”
Reviewed 2 September 2016

I think this is the best Thai restraunt in KL. It's not expensive and environment was quiet good. We asked a lot of things about Thai food, all steps were so kind. Definitely I will go again for lunch . There was reasonable price lunch set.

  • Visited September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank icehoneywater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rama V Fine Thai Cuisine also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Rama V Fine Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing