We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manja @ Old Malaya”
Review of Manja

Manja
Ranked #38 of 5,351 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Price range: US$9 - US$44
Description: Medley of local and international flavors
Restaurant details
Description: Medley of local and international flavors
Reviewed 8 May 2017

Dined at Manja recently with a group of friends and found it to be a hidden gem!

The restaurant is housed in one of the century-old houses that had been lovingly refurbished and you can tell that the owner of this establishments has really good design taste! The restaurant has a unique menu, fusion of east meets west, and the ambiance is simply cozy.

A great place for a quiet dinner for two, and even a place to chill with friends or colleagues!

Service is quick and attentive and the servers are always with a smile.

Will definitely be back again!

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank boo_tofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

519 - 523 of 752 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2017

Had dinner outside w/ KL tower in sight ;-)
Food was really good, yet limited options for vegetarians - many seafood dishes

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank 426patrickr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

We had to wait 45mins to get our first main dish and another 20mins to get our 2nd (by then I had eaten mine). They did rectify the situation with complimentary drinks and a 15% discount which we appreciated. The kitchens were under pressure with demand but they could have told us there would be a long wait for the food when we entered...HOWEVER the food here is EXCELLENT and makes it up for it just about!

Date of visit: May 2017
2  Thank PianoSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

Very disappointed. Waited an hour plus for the food. Service is very slow. Serving is small for a long wait.

Date of visit: May 2017
5  Thank serenar430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

I recently celebrated my birthday with my family here. The initial 10mins was disappointing, we had a table for 7 booked, only to arrive and noticed wet cutlery and tablecloth due to the leaking air conditioning which was right above the table. It amazed me that none of the 5 waiters buzzing around had NOT noticed this prior to our arrival.
Everything from them was excellent!! They immediately saved the day by fixing us a table upstairs, brought us complimentary welcome drinks to help calm the situation.
Overall service is a little slow however the food was amazing, very creative fusion menu featuring elements from Sri Lanka, Malaysia with a western twist.
The waiters also ended the night bringing out an extra desert with a candle for my birthday celebration +7 shots to compliment it.
Overall a very good experience and I would highly recommend it and will definitely go back!

Date of visit: April 2017
1  Thank SK29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manja also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Manja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.