We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Manila Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Armada Hotel Manila(Manila)
US$60
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
US$115
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$55
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Manila Central(Manila)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel H2O(Manila)
US$79
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Knight Hotel Intramuros(Manila)(Great Value!)
US$38
US$30
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimberly Hotel(Manila)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$42
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lotus Garden Hotel(Manila)(Great Value!)
US$38
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,634)
Filter reviews
1,634 results
Traveller rating
781
571
182
63
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
781
571
182
63
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe ilang ilangchampagne roomylang ylanggrand dameswim up barhistorical hoteldouglas macarthurgeneral macarthuroldest hotelrizal parkclassic hotelbreakfast buffetgrand lobbyfive star hotelhotel lobbychinese restaurantbay view
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 1,634 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel itself is beautiful with exception of a very bad smell round the pool.

The service was poor ... they were either rude (reception staff were very rude on check in and messed up payment details leaving me very confused) and whilst other staff weren't rude, they just weren't as friendly or helpful as in the other (cheaper) hotels I stayed at were they can't do enough for you.

I'd read that if you don't have a credit card (which I don't) they remove the mini bar so expected it but just feels a bit pathetic as every other hotel I stayed at would trust their customer and check the mini bar on check out.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

The iconic Manila hotel is a classic hotel, survivor of WW2, even after Manila was declared an open city, now resides as an honored neighbor of Intramuros and Luneta Park.
The history is written in its decor, the uniformed staff and the vibes are transformed throughout this huge complex, in an impressive style, not to be experienced elsewhere.
The pride of the hotel refer to serving their guests for approx. a hundred years, including General Macarthur and other prominent figures, who visited Manila.
I personally enjoyed the Tap room, with its decorated walls of interesting guests, the live music, and a traditional English style, where I could enjoy sipping brandy while smoking my cigar.(where else are you allowed to smoke nowadays??)
Located within walking distance to the walled city of Intramuros, with the highest concentration of sights in the city, makes The Manila Hotel a favorable choice.
You can also stroll through Luneta Park, only 5 minutes away, which hosts many great statues of Filipino heroes.
I was also surprised to know how easy the transfer to the airport went, as the traffic runs smoother along the bay, away from the narrow streets, this is mostly two lane traffic.
I can only recommend this cocktail of a great way to stay in Manila, and I learn something every time, even after travelling 20 years to the city.

Room Tip: Book at the highest floor possible(17th) for the best views.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank crawlingken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Positives:
1. The location was right by Manila Bay and Luneta Park. Very close to Intramuros, Malate, Ermita. Close to malls.
2. Manila Hotel has old world charm. From the decor, furnishings, it exudes its 5 star status. As soon as you enter, you are greeted by hosts wearing the Barong...that is class.
3. I can feel the security of the hotel. From the sniffing guard dogs, to the armed guards outside. I felt very safe and secure.
4. The room was big. The bathroom was huge. Everything was clean. Everything was luxurious. Bed was comfortable. Towels were great. Bathrobe was warm and cozy. Pillows were fluffy. Complimentary mineral water, fruit and coffee.
5. Pool, sauna, exercise room. All excellent.

Negatives:
1. The restaurant. Food was great. Service was lacking. I already wrote a separate review on this.
2. You can't open the windows.

I will come back! I would recommend this hotel to anyone. And the price is very reasonable for what you get!

Room Tip: I had a room on the 6th floor facing Manila Bay. It was great!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaredxtian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

It was a pleasant stay all throughout..although it was a busy day during our check in but the receptionist was swift and quick. the staff are genuinely accomodating and are really sticking to their mantra of filipino hospitality.
Breakfast buffet has decent offerings but very few filipino breakfast staples. If you want to eat out better go to the nearest mall like Robinsons Manila since the only resto i saw nearby is Shakeys. 711 is also available across the street. Manila ocean aprk is just a few minutes away so is Luneta Park and Intramuros. Love the turndown service and my kid is always looking forward for the chocolate.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank l_neveph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

PROs
- Beautiful decor; sort of old school like you'd see in movies (Watch "Somewhere in Time"; the facades are similar); beautiful corridor
- Nice room with a view of intramuros
- Complete room amenities - bar, toiletries, fresh towels, cable tv, stationery, safe, etc.
- Privacy, security, peach & quiet
- Most reasonably priced 5 star hotel in the area
- Free parking
- Wide selection in breakfast buffet

CONs
- TV remote for the T&B was taped up and kind of busted
- Carpets need to be cleaned; room was a bit dusty from the carpet which had visible dirt stains near the door
- Food is mediocre & of course, overpriced; breakfast meats like bacon and sausages were oily and too fatty; I should've stuck to the fruits, bread, cheese and smoked salmon
- Unfortunately, and this isn't Manila Hotel's fault, Manila Bay stinks. You can smell it from the pool area.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the upper floors -- they seem to have already been renovated
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank melotripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinaKarenina, VP of Marketing at The Manila Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

We thank you for the feedback you shared about your stay and how it was evocative of the history and the affordable luxury that you enjoyed. We will address the other concerns you raised - TV remote being busted; the carpets and stains and ensure that the Housekeeping is proactive about managing every detail of the guest rooms.

Sad to hear that you found the food mediocre as we have a plethora of choice - from fresh fruit, organic vegetables, succulent meats, delectable Asian cuisine as well as western choices, Filipino street food and topped with mouthwatering desserts.

The maintenance and management of the Manila Bay is an ongoing project with numerous stakeholders and we hope that a better bay welcome you on your next visit.

Please do let us know would you be coming through on your next visit. Kindly email us at marketing@themanilahotel.com and t.necio@themanilahotel.com or call us (632) 527 0011 ext 1384.

Sincerely,

Therese

Therese Necio-Ortega



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews