We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn & Suites(Aiken)(Great Value!)
US$76
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
US$90
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Aiken)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$69
SleepInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Aiken(Aiken)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$85
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TownePlace Suites Aiken Whiskey Road(Aiken)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
104
59
18
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
104
59
18
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskgentleman workingmarriott chainfree weightsenjoyed my stayclose to downtownhitchcock woodswalking distancebreakfast hosteach morningindoor poolneeded anythingthe breakfast areadefinitely stay here againstayed one nightking suiteyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2018

This Fairfield Aiken is owned and operated by NMR Hospitality, which may explain our terrible experience. Service level was subpar from Marriott. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL if your plans may change or if you want a room when you get to the front desk. There’s a zero cancellation policy and there was no room for us when we arrived! Hotel is not with the spirit of the Master’s Tournament and Marriott. Very disappointing.
It sounded like a good idea to book this Marriott Fairfield for our Masters Golf Tournament experience. I booked a one night reservation through Expedia. Plans changed so I requested cancelation 7 WEEKS prior to our Masters stay date. Sent several emails and made several telephone calls to Expedia and hotel GM Kristina. Kristina said they accept NO CANCELATIONS (no exceptions) even if you book direct. Only option is to cancel with a full price penalty, not even the taxes would be refunded. Being a Marriott Elite member made no difference to Kristina.

Since we couldn’t cancel the reservation, we were forced to stay. I called the front desk two days before our reservation to confirm and tell them about our late arrival. When we arrived at 9pm we were told they did not have our room. They never even called us. They tried to send us to an NMR sister hotel that only had one bed. Our reservation was for two beds. After waiting for them to call other hotels they put us up in a lower class hotel. Manager on duty Courtney avoided us and was more interested in making cookies than addressing our needs. She left the responsibility to the front desk person.
So to summarize, we tried to cancel and they did not allow it, and when we arrived there was no room for us. This hotel took advantage of Masters travelers with mark-up pricing and no cancellation flexibility potentially pocketing the cancellation money. It’s disappointing as the room could have easily been rebooked with the demand and lengthy lead time. They assumed we were not going to show, so they booked our room with someone else. This hotel and staff put a major damper on our Master’s experience.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank techguy531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina G, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Mr.techguy531,

I would like to start by apologizing for having to relocate your reservation to another hotel 3 miles away. We do understand that it was an inconvenience, and for that reason Marriott standards provide that in the event unforeseen circumstances force such a relocation, we will cover charges for the night at another hotel, as we did in this case.

Specifically addressing your points, let me start by noting that of the more than 6000 hotels under the Marriott umbrella, the very vast majority are in fact franchised properties, which are all committed to the spirit to serve and the core Marriott values, such as integrity.

As you point out in your letter, hotel rooms for the Masters tournament sell out fast, I would add that they sell out early as opposed to last moment, and for that reason our hotel adopts special event terms for regular reservations, with payment in full at time of booking and a 90 day prior to arrival cancellation policy for a full refund. In addition, there are advance purchase and 3rd party reservations offering a discount against the clear commitment at time of booking of a non-refundable pre-payment, thereby accepting the inherit risk that in the event of a change in plans, deposits are forfeited. Surely you would agree that integrity dictates that we apply rate rules and booking terms equitably towards all our guests, and not arbitrarily on some but not on others. For that reason, unless there is a verifiable compelling event to prevent travel, we would not considered waving cancellation policies.

We take guaranteed reservations very seriously, but the well being and comfort of our guests is even more important. Regrettably in this case, we had no alternative but to put a room out of order and relocate your reservation at our expense.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your experience with us, and we hope to have a chance to regain your trust in the future, should you ever travel back to Aiken.

Yours in Hospitality,
Kristina Gilbert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

The room was very clean, the breakfast had a nice selection of hot and cold foods, and all the staff we had contact with were very pleasant and accommodating. It is in a very convenient location for visiting Aiken, close to Hopelands Gardens and Hitchcock Woods. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DaisyWalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtney H, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you for staying with us here at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Aiken. We appreciate your feedback and we are glad you were satisfied with your stay. Hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Recently had five day stay, Checking in/out very smooth, Brittany and Destiny very pleasant and very knowledgable of attractions, restaurants , and history of greater Aiken area. Aiken is a historical center for various equestrian events and close to Augusta Ga.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Z7200DZfredb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtney H, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you for staying with us here at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Aiken. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you again in the future as a returning guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Hotel appears clean on first view.However,pool and spa area are quite dirty and pool had moldy looking areas around outside edge of pool.Spa was closed down with green water in bottom.This was not disclosed on website.Staff at check in were pleasant but management was unresponsive and un helpful.Iwill most certainly pass this info onto family and friends who may be traveling to this area

Stayed: March 2018
Thank lovecapone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina G, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear Lovecapone,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on TripAdvsior.

Unfortunately, I do apologize about your stay with us was not up to standards. As you can see, this is not a typical stay here at our hotel. We have addressed your concerns with the appropriate hotel team to assure things like this do not happen again.

We hope that you will give us a chance to regain your trust in the future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Kristina Gilbert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed one night on a Monday. Check in was friendly and fast. I asked for the third floor and they accommodated. The first room they gave me was next to the elevator. When I requested a different room, they moved me. Room was clean. Breakfast was your standard continental. Nice location close to downtown.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank adharris0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina G, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear adharris0915,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us on TripAdvisor. We as well as other TripAdvisor travelers appreciate your feedback.

I am glad that they were able to switch your room away from the elevator as you requested. We are a great location as well, as we are conveniently located close to downtown.

We hope to see you back again in the near future!

Yours in Hospitality,
Kristina Gilbert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews