We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terribly Disappointed”

Big Texan Steak Ranch
Get food delivered
Ranked #14 of 527 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Voted as the #1 Eating contest in America by Huffington Post.Voted as 1 of the top 10 places by Draft Magazine to drink a beer at.The list goes on and on. This place is full of action and what the Wild West was all about. 2,000 Square foot gift shop that even has a live rattlesnake in there. We have 12 Hand-Crafted beers made on site with a beer style to fit almost any beer drinker. From Raspberry Wheat to Whiskey Barrel Stout with Seasonal beers to fill in such as Oktoberfest Lager & Pecan Porter. Same Lee family for the last 54-years serving 3-generations of guests. Young man, We fed your grandfather! We're Glad your Here!
Reviewed 27 November 2020

We visited for the first time on 11/23/2020. Everything was perfect. We drove all the way from Flagstaff, AZ to have dinner there again on 11/26/2020. What a difference. We were guaranteed we could order off the menu. We asked 3 times! It was Thanksgiving so they'd had a buffet, closed when we arrived. We ordered garden salad plus a rather expensive meal. The salads were filled with leftovers from the buffet. Fruit and raw vegetables. We wanted just lettuce, tomato and cucumbers. Not possible our waitress said. Well, where are our rolls? Not possible the waitress said. We waited for utensils and finally she remembered. The tea was terrible and no lemons. The biggest problem was a really rude and irritated waitress. I understand busy. I worked as a waitress for years. But there is no excuse for bad service and no excuse for not being able to get was we had gotten 3 days before! We left without eating or paying. Very disappointing! They advertise that you can order off the menu 365 days a year. Not true!

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank HappyGram5310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (5,628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 5,628 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2020

The service we experienced, by our waiter Alex, was exceptional. He was knowledgeable, attentive, and made the evening a lot of fun. Food was a very mixed experience (averaged to a 3 since one of the entrees was a 1 star). Alex recommended the Tres Hombres beer with salt and lime. A good suggestion, as the great taste required a second beer. We started with a ½ order of the Mountain Oysters. We discovered a half order can feed about 6 people, so many went to waste. However, they were perfectly seasoned and lightly fried – delicious. We also tried the onion rings. They were some of the best onion rings we have had, but again too much for two people. It would have been a good amount of rings for 4. By the way, the dinner rolls are excellent. On to the entrées. The Porterhouse was very good. It was perfectly cooked medium rare and very tasty. It was accompanied by Beef Steak tomatoes and onions (not very good and would pass on this option) and green chili cream corn. The corn was very spicy, but a wonderful flavor. Finally, the only disappointing option of the evening. My wife had the Ft. Worth Cut ribeye (12 oz). It was ordered medium rare, but arrived almost paper thin, well done, and very greasy. It was not edible. She was full already and despite me wanting to alert our server and send it back, she did not want to complain. If that was all we had ordered, we would never come back. They need to have more finesse on the smaller cuts of steak. Her ribeye came with fried okra and a garden salad, both of which she enjoyed. For what we had prices were very reasonable. We sat in the upper level with a view of the poor souls who tried to eat the 72 oz steak challenge. All failed while we were there and were likely sorry for a few days after. We also enjoyed the live music. I think the upstairs is the best place unless you have a large group. Definitely an experience!

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank JohnJ583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y7853ECpatrickl, Marketing at Big Texan Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2020

This is in-depth review. We certainly appreciate this kind of feedback. Our portion are very large, which most of time is a good things for most folks. However, we can understand that it can be overwhelming for just one or two guest to enjoy. We can look into adding a notice on our menu about how many guest some entrees can feed. We are disappointed to hear that your wife's steak was not to her satisfaction. We will take this criticism into consideration to make sure situations like this won't happen again. Thank you for stopping in with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2020

I really enjoyed this place, it is a very nice restaurant and invite to participate in the 72 oz Steak Challenge

Date of visit: November 2020
5  Thank manohpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2020 via mobile

My family and I stopped here to have a taste of the steak, and was not disappointed. Everything was delicious, and the service Shawna E. provided to us was wonderful. She was on top of everything, constantly checking if we needed anything, even though she already had provided to us everything we need to have a good meal/service. Unfortunately I was not able to get his name, but we also had a lovely gentleman come around the table and sang his personal song. Overall, thank you.

Thank you Big Texan for the experience!

Date of visit: November 2020
5  Thank claudiasZ697KG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y7853ECpatrickl, Marketing at Big Texan Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2020

Very happy that Shawna did such a wonderful job taking care of you and your family! She definitely shows that Texan hospitality spirit to all our guest! Also, the gentleman who sings and plays guitar for guest in our dining room is David Waddle. He has been with us for many years and was also featured in a movie that was filmed at the Big Texan, Waking Up in Reno. Thank you for the great feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2020

Great food and great waitress!! 115 shawna E was the best we will be back! Thank you shawna for taking care of us today

Date of visit: November 2020
5  Thank G979FTjosephw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Texan Steak Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Big Texan Steak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Malaysia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.