We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice hotel for my quick visit to Austin” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Garden Austin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Austin
Ranked #56 of 200 Hotels in Austin
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for my quick visit to Austin”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

I stayed here overnight for a job interview in Austin. It compared well to other Wyndhams I've stayed in; and, overall my stay here was pleasant. My room was clean and comfortable. Check-in was smooth, and the staff were helpful. I have no complaints and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T_R_Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CKokoAUSWC, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Austin, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you very much for your nice review of the Wyndham Garden Austin. I share all reviews with our staff to make sure we are using your comments as training tools. I am very glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon.
BeWell, Casandra Kokoska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    471
    263
    128
    70
See reviews for
331
250
95
572
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
houston, texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Matt upgraded us to a suite at no charge since we had the dog and son. Our first garden suite (ground level) which had the king bed, someone had been smoking in (the entire hotel is non-smoking) so Matt tried another but only 2 doubles were available. The extra space was very nice. (Three sinks, fridge, sleeper sofa, small kitchen table, etc.) We had some issues with an a/c vent that rattled all night but the maintenance guy figured it out when we called in the morning. (I went to bed after the husband and son so they were already asleep when I noticed it - so no sleep for me.) I travel with a box fan for white noise, but the suite that we were placed in had way too much freeway noise even with the fan going for my taste. The second night, I placed towels between the door & the floor and braced a chair against both doors (There were exterior doors in the bedroom - back parking lot side & one in the living area.) to close them all the way. There was about an inch give and take on the doors even when the locks were engaged. There are several grassy areas for the pets which is nice. Housekeeping & maintenance came right away in the morning when we called before we left for the day - since we were leaving the dog alone in the room it had to be while we were in the room. This is about my 7th time to stay here. I'm pretty pleased for the price and breakfast was included! I would stay in the suites again now that I know the chair trick, but would request one on the back of the hotel away from the freeway - even the side of the hotel gets the noise since they are on a corner. All in all - good for the price and accommodating for our poodle. Beds are firm which I love.

Room Tip: If you stay in a 'garden suite' get one on the back of the hotel away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shallwetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CKokoAUSWC, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Austin, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you very much for your fine review of the Wyndham Garden Austin. I made sure to share your comments regarding our staff with everyone at the last employee luncheon. Matt was very excited to see his name on your lovely review. I also informed our engineering team about the inch give and take on your door and it has been repaired. I appreciate your bringing this to our attention. I hope we’ll see you and your family including your pet again soon.
BeWell, Casandra Kokoska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on a Friday night while visiting some friends in Austin. It was a pretty nice hotel, with friendly staff and clean rooms. Check in and check out was surprisingly fast, and check out time was 12 noon, which is convenient. The room was clean, and beds comfortable. The desk/work area was set up with handy internet connections and plugs where you could reach them. No crawling around looking for them. This would be a very comfortable and efficient hotel to stay at for work or a conference, which i gathered is this hotel's main clientele (because of the conference center). There was no charge for parking,and the toiletries in the bathroom were all Bath and Body Works products. There were instructions for the alarm, which was nice because who hasn't had trouble setting a strange alarm, or worse had one go off in the middle of the night. This alarm also has a large LED face which was a little bright for me, so I just covered it up with the notepad from the desk. My only complaints would be the hallway noise is a bit loud, but as it seemed there was some kind of girl's soccer game, so there were a lot of kids running around, and they are always loud. The bathroom was a bit small with only about 3 feet between the tub and the toilet, which did not bother me, but I could see how this might be a slight issue for some people. Also the shower water control was having issues keeping the water at the same temperature. All in all I thought we got a great deal for the night and I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BSands12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CKokoAUSWC, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Austin, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear Guest, I enjoyed your very detailed review of the Wyndham Garden Austin. It means a lot fo us all here at the WG that you took time to detail your visit for us. I informed our engineering team about the temperature control in the shower and it has been resolved. Everyone here looks forward to another visit from you and your family. BeWell, Casandra Kokoska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed here for one night, and as an overall hotel it was fine. Just a heads up though the address of south IH-35 does not work with the GPS. I think there is an alternate address (1600 Woodward or something) for the hotel as our cab driver took us for a bit of a "ride". My wife was sick and the front desk helped us get what we needed for the day. A nice average room, we pricelined the hotel for $55, and it included free internet, so all in a win for us.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JFcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Village, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Room was clean and completely serviceable for my needs. All the staff I encountered were very pleasant and helpful. Although the small lobby restaurant was quite busy the food was tasty and didn't take long to get. Overall a good place to stay for inexpensive business trip.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrs_KH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CKokoAUSWC, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Austin, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay and your food and beverage experience at the Wyndham Garden Austin. I look forward to seeing you again soon. BeWell, Casandra Kokoska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Austin Marriott South
#47 of 200 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Holiday Inn Austin Airport
South Austin
Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Austin

Property: Wyndham Garden Austin
Address: 3401 S Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78741-7852
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in Austin
Price range (per night): RM387 - RM743
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Austin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3 miles from downtown Austin and 4 miles from the airport, the Wyndham Garden Hotel is a prime destination. Enjoy easy access to the city's high-energy music, sports, university, arts, and business districts while delighting in a backdrop of scenic Texas Hill Country. Wyndham has teamed with post-modernist design legend, Michael Graves, to create a refreshing hotel experience. The result: upscale but affordable Texas Hill Country accommodations with unique features and products for an unforgettable Austin getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, AAE Travel Pte Ltd, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Garden Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Hotel & Woodward Austin
Wyndham Garden Hotel And Woodward Conference Center
Wyndham Austin
Austin Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing