We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
US$127
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$146/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
US$142
US$134
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
US$143
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Host Travelers Motel(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
CandlewoodSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alexandria Motel(Alexandria)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
35
17
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
17
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree laundrylee annnetflix accountstayed weeksfull size fridgeseveral milescanadian baconwasher dryerwafflesfront deskfire pitone nightclean towelsnice breakfastwater pressure in the showerroad noisenice amenities
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We stayed at TownePlace Suites last year this very weekend and determined then it would be a yearly trip. I love this hotel, it is absolutely my favorite place to stay while visiting DC. The rooms are spacious and clean, the staff is extremely friendly and it is just a short drive away from downtown DC, approx 20 minutes.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle L, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Alexandria Fort Belvoir, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Shanda,
Thank you for your comments about our hotel and your trust in us that brought you back to our location. We look forward to your next visit.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Great new hotel, rooms are very clean and modern. The quality and service was exactly what I expected from a Marriott and very consistent with their other properties.

This hotel has free breakfast, which was pretty decent. Along with the standard offerings they also had some sort of hot egg and meat option every day.

It also has free laundry use in brand new front-loading machines (not coin operated like most hotels) when using your own detergent. If you don't bring your own, they sell single-use Tide and All Free & Clear detergents in the lobby, as well as Bounce dryer sheets.

The room itself was a good size and very clean. Bed was comfortable. Newer smart tv with Netflix (in addition to the standard cable package). Wifi was easy to connect to and didn't make me reconnect periodically like other hotels I've stayed at. Note that there was no safe inside the room, but we honestly didn't feel the need to lock up any of our items. We didn't use the kitchen, as we ate breakfast downstairs and lunch/dinner out, but it seemed to have all of the essentials if you wanted to cook your own food. Bathroom was nice and clean. Hair dryer provided was excellent (for those with long hair like me, this is a huge plus). Water pressure in the shower was decent, but not the best.

The only negative was that the room had a strong odor. We got used to it after being in the room for a bit, but it was very strong upon walking in every day. Not sure what was causing it. Maybe the A/C unit?

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank two55am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle L, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Alexandria Fort Belvoir, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear two55am,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay with us. We value your business and hope to see you again in the near future!

Warm Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

I have been in and around the D.C. area in recent months both for business and leisure. As is well-known, hotel rates in the metro D.C. area can get very expensive, plus some of the properties are not in great shape and/or are not convenient relative to getting around the area to justify the steep prices. As a Marriott Platinum Elite member, I tend to seek out Marriott properties first, so on one visit, I opted to stay out near Mount Vernon and Fort Belvoir after finding this TownePlace Suites in the lodging options. After my first stay, I have stayed there on three other occasions over the past few months for both business and leisure.

I have come to be a big fan of the TownePlace Suite properties in recent years, because the newer facilities have a great, fresh, modern, and comfortable room layout that provides excellent amenities at very reasonable prices. This specific property is no different. In fact, it very much feels like a relatively newly-constructed property. It is easy to locate along Highway 1, is less than 3 miles from Mount Vernon, even closer to Fort Belvoir, and just several miles from downtown Alexandria and - a few miles beyond that - to downtown Washington D.C.

The guest rooms and all public areas are very clean. Guest rooms are exactly as I have come to expect from the newer TownePlace properties in terms of furnishings, fixtures, kitchen area, storage, lighting, and bathroom facilities. The bed is comfortable, if just a bit firm. Wi-fi is easy to connect to, and works very well. TV selections are plentiful, and - as with many Marriott-branded properties - has options to access/view programs via your Netflix, Hulu, or other internet TV accounts.

Even on busy, high-occupancy weekends, the rooms and property at large was very quiet at night, so there were no disturbances to interrupt a restful stay.

The front desk staff is friendly, though on a couple of occasions they were slow to come to the desk to attend to guests. (On two occasions - occurring on separate visits - the clerk was back in their work room preoccupied with their cell phones). That was a minor drawback, but did not detract enough from the overall stay.

As far as the immediate area around this property, dining options are somewhat limited to fast food, with more options if one drives north on the highway closer to Alexandria. There is also a Safeway less than 1/2-mile from the hotel, which isn't the best quality store but provides an option for groceries if one opts to use the kitchen for basic meals or snacks.

Room rates - even on many weekends - have not exceeded $100/night for a solo guest stay. So, if one has a vehicle and is comfortable driving in to Alexandria and/or the metro D.C. area - and is otherwise cost-conscious in terms of travel expenses - this is a great option for area lodging.

Overall, I have been very satisfied with the TownePlace Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir on my stays there, and I would very much be inclined to stay there again on future visits to the area. I would also recommend it for business and leisure travelers (with or without families), especially for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Generic90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle L, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Alexandria Fort Belvoir, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay at our hotel, and thank you on being a Marriott Platinum Elite member. We appreciate all the positive things you had to say about the hotel, as we work hard to ensure all our guest are happy. We look forward to you staying with us again in the near future.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Decided to stay here for a couple days with the family while we ran from Irma. Nice hotel, friendly people, close to downtown DC. Breakfast was included and was above average. Rooms are comfortable, and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle L, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Alexandria Fort Belvoir, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Shawn P,

Thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you in the near future.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We stayed here one night for our family trip to George Washington's Mt. Vernon Estate and I can't say enough good things about this hotel. Everything in the room are clean and looks new. Strong water pressure in shower. Wifi has very strong signal and fast connection to the Internet. Our room has fridge and mini kitchen. The bed was so comfortable and we slept like babies. Even the TV "menu" was intuitive and pleasant to use. The TV is connected to the Internet and we were able to watch netflix, through our netflix account of course. Too bad that I don't think we'll ever be back in the area coz we'll definitely stay again in this hotel for sure if we do.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Noel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle L, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Alexandria Fort Belvoir, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Noel C,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your most recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed everything. We hope travels will bring you back to our area someday as we will look forward to your return.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews