We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Alexandria Mark Center(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$168
US$152
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
US$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
US$186
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
US$198
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Alexandria Old Town(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
US$197
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$218
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$206
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$179
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (615)
Filter reviews
615 results
Traveller rating
233
235
86
39
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
235
86
39
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmetro stationfree shuttleold townshuttle serviceking streetroom was cleandvd playeryogurtfirst flooran older hotelhotel shuttlefree breakfastdc areapleasant stayreagan airportfew blocksair conditioner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 615 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2017

The great- Parking was easy and even some spaces under the building. The breakfast attendant made sure everything was clean and filled. There were all kinds of fresh fruit to go along with all the usual motel breakfast buffets, even real silverware and dishes if one wanted!
The ok- We didn't realize there was no elevator, so our original second floor room request was our only choice. They refused to give a handicap person a first floor room when he asked. The easy chair in the room was unsafe as the legs were loose with no way to tighten them which we used to keep the non tightly closing curtains closed. The floor must be cleaned by an upright vac that leaves the edge dusty/dirty. First night no bath mat. Second night no soap or shampoo. Third night perfect! One nice firm bed; the other way too worn out. The box spring on that one was sagging.
Would we stay there again as frequent travelers? yes it is quiet and convenient.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dldngm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wil L, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Hello dldngm,

Thank you for your staying with us and sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We’re happy you enjoyed our complimentary parking, breakfast service, and food that we provided. I apologize for being unable to accommodate your request to be on the first floor. Unfortunately, we have very limited handicap accessible rooms, and are unable to relocate a guest if all available rooms are booked. I hope this did not cause you too much of an inconvenience. I would also like to apologize for the inconsistent room service. Please note, we are using your feedback as a training opportunity for our team to ensure this does not occur again. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your stay in more detail. We appreciate getting constructive feedback as it helps us improve, which benefits everyone.

Respectfully,

Wil Laura
Wil.Laura@Hotel-Alexandria.com
703-739-2222

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

We are flying away and wanted to leave our car under cover and sleep near the airport. Polite staff clean room and breakfast and a van to the airport. What else do u want. Oh and free cookies when u check in!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stuart_in_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wil L, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Hello Stuart in DC,

Thank you for your kind review. We’re very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found our freshly baked cookies perfect as a check in treat. We hope you had a wonderful vacation!

Kindest Regards,

Wil Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights during our annual mother daughter weekend. The hotel was convenient to sites of Alexandria, D.C. And National Harbor. We were able to visit an array of different areas and enjoy our time together.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank brien-duch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wil L, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Hello brien-duch,

We’re honored you made us part of your special annual weekend. It truly means a lot. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again during your next special weekend.

Respectfully,

Wil Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We needed somewhere to stay in Washington with parking which is difficult to find without paying a fortune to park so we opted for this hotel just outside at Alexandria. Location worked well, the hotel shuttle will drop you at the local metro station, if they remember to tell the driver you want to use the shuttle, and it is only 4 stops to downtown. They will also drop you in downtown Alexandria which turned out to be an unexpected highlight as King Street is a great place for a wander and evening meal. Hotel decor is tired and day staff lack some charm and not to bothered with details but compensated by excellent evening staff who could not do enough to help. Overall it worked well as base and the parking was ample and free.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wil L, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Hello swpw,

Thank you for staying with us. We’re happy you found our location ideal for your needs and discovered how beautiful Old Town Alexandria is especially during the winter when the streets are lit with holiday decorations. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in the area!

Kindest Regards,

Wil Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Window pain in my room was falling out. Bloody fingerprint on the wall. Had NO hot water for 2 out of 3 days. Also our rooms every were not cleaned uniting after 4pm. In my parents room their bathroom fan didn't work and was never fixed while we were there. Also their bathtub was leaking into the carpeted area causing the carpet to separate from the floor. Also they were not given a bath mat. Overall the staff was very nice. When I called about the window maintanence came right away it was a young lady who was very polite and professional and she fixed it. The front desk staff was friendly and accommodating. I feel the issue with this hotel is with management not keeping up the property. This hotel needs a remodel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are old and beat up.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 90steve52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wil L, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Greeting 90steve52,

First and foremost, I apologize we did not meet your expectations. We understand we are not the newest hotel in the area but the team works very hard to ensure the hotel is well maintained for our guests. With regards to cleaning our housekeeping team works very hard to ensure our guests’ rooms are cleaned to the highest standards. Every so often, rooms take a little longer which pushes service times. That said, we ask if service is required sooner than later, our guest use the “Service” door signage. I truly hope the noted items does not deter you from returning or recommending us.

Respectfully,

Wil Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews