We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and confortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Was surprised how friendly and accommodating the staff were at the hotel. They have a nightly reception type event with had a different theme each night. They are right across from the courthouse. Amtrak station is close by. Hotel has a van to metro which can also take you to Amtrak station.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2017

This is a very nice hotel in the outskirts of Old Town. It's a little bit of a walk though and not close to the waterfront area. You can take a shuttle and you are only about a 1/2 mile from the yellow line metro station.

The studio room was nice and cozy. My room was overlooking the metro tracks which was kind of cool. The noise from the metro was minimal at least from the upper floors.
The furniture was fairly new since the last renovation. The bed was decent but the down pillows and covers were a bit much. If you have down allergies you definitely need to ask for changes. Not sure why hotels have gone to this everywhere.

The hotel has a bar that is open to 10 but seemed to stay open a little longer when there was a game on.

The free breakfast was fantastic and well stocked. Fresh eggs, sausage, and the waffle maker. Plus it had a little bit of a European flair to it with a meet and cheese selection.

Parking was not bad. There are several floors under the hotel and overflow space in another garage that is not as far as some people have stated. Also the check in process was pretty easy. There are four spots for temporary parking while you check in. I could see this being an issue on a busy day but when I checked in there was no issue.

Location wise you are close to theater and some restaurants. This hotel is closer to the courthouse and some office complexes. If you are looking to go to the waterfront area you'll need to drive or take a shuttle. If you don't mind a little walk you could also walk to the King Street trolley stop.

Room Tip: High Floor was nice and metro noise was minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coachgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquis S, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate the fact that you enjoyed your stayed and captured all the great qualities of our facility. We look forward to our next opportunity to host you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

As with all Marriotts it was very clean with lovely staff. The breakfast above average, the bed very comfy and room well appointed. The only negative is it's not really in old town its is a sterile business district. They charged us 6 bucks for a local phone call. Not a deal breaker and I would stay again. There was a shuttle bus to take you around too.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank kate e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

We got the 2 bedroom suite on the 14th floor. Very nice rooms, kitchen, the works. Very clean hotel overall. Awesome shower pressure (That's one of my pet peeves). Breakfast was about average for any hotel I've been to, eggs, sausage, waffles, etc.... I connected to the WiFi, but could never get anything to pull up, so i didn't use it. Overall, it was a good experience, would defiantly stay here again. Only draw back was that the Metro train runs directly behind it, so you hear the brakes and stuff from it.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank moonshinenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquis S, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

It was a pleasure to host you and your guests, we are glad that you enjoyed your time spent with us. We are looking into the WiFi issue now as well thank you for brining that to our attention. We hope to host you again when your in the area again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

We had a warm and welcoming greeting from a sweet Cordilia st the front desk. She was so wonderful. Our room is clean and comfortable. The on site parking is the only trepidation, tight and limited. Their breakfast makes up for the parking by being Excellent! We will stay here again without a doubt!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquis S, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with the Residence Inn Alexandria on TripAdvisor. Our number one objective is to provide exceptional customer service, and the fact you feel we have reached that means the world to us. Cordelia is a great asset to our team and we will make sure to share your comments with her and celebrate her success. We hope to host you again whenever your travels bring you to the Alexandria area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
The Westin Alexandria
#13 of 54 in Alexandria
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,516 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Address: 2345 Mill Rd, Alexandria, VA 22314-4608
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Eisenhower East
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: RM396 - RM983 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the growing Carlyle neighborhood just outside of historic Old Town Alexandria, Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle provides the perfect accommodations for corporate and leisure travelers visiting the Washington, D.C. Area. This 15 floor hotel features 181 studio, one- and two- bedroom suites including complimentary Internet access and fully-equipped kitchens. Additional on-property amenities include 1,025 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, state-of-the-art fitness center, 24-hour market, complimentary WiFi in rooms and public areas, and business center with print, copy, scan, and fax services. Along with well-appointed accommodations, guests enjoy complimentary daily hot breakfast and evening social hours (Monday-Wednesday, 6:00pm to 7:30pm). Ideal for extended stays, guest laundry facilities and pet-friendly rooms are available. This Alexandria, VA hotel is conveniently located near two Metro stations, offering easy access to key area businesses and leading downtown Washington, DC destinations. The hotel provides complimentary shuttle service to the Metro and Old Town Alexandria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South At Carlyle Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing