We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$166
US$132
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$108
Curio.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Craddock Terry Hotel(Lynchburg)
US$139
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Lynchburg)(Great Value!)
US$100
EconoLodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Lynchburg(Lynchburg)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
27
18
8
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
18
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclean bathroommini fridgewould stay againwithin walking distancemotelshowertvantiquingdryeramenitiesluggagepillows
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

My family and I stopped for a night on the way to DC to get a night’s sleep. The room was very small, but had incredibly comfortable beds and pillows. Clean bathroom, but the world’s smallest shower. Coffee and simple pastries for breakfast. You get what you pay for, nothing more.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

The Amherst Inn is fastidiously clean, neat as a pin! Looks like it was once an old-fashioned motor court. My room had everything I needed. The mattress was really comfy. Room was well decorated. The innkeepers even provide a number of small touches that made me feel cared for -- books to borrow in the room and in the lobby, coffee in the lobby. Staff was courteous and professional. It's a bargain. I've paid twice as much for half as good a hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Comfy beds, clean rooms, good showers and friendly owners in a good location just off the highway. Fresh fruit available at breakfast.
Only negative was noisy aircon - but that was maybe just us not being used to it.
Would stay again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank sands3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, General Manager at Amherst Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay. I apologize for the a/c units being louder than usual. They are all new units installed last year but we will make sure they run very quiet. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

This was our second time to stay at the Amherst Inn. I love how clean and nice it is. The family that own and run it are very personable. Each room offers a mini fridge, microwave, flat screen TV, and a well-working air conditioner. If I had to nitpick, the showers could be larger. Nevertheless, we will always stay here when we come to visit our family. Great choice when you visit Amherst, Virginia!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, General Manager at Amherst Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you so much for for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

Recently spruced up, this family owned and operated motel does the job. Clean and comfortable, quiet, and accessible. Grocery, fine dining, fast food, convenience store, gas station, pharmacy, post office, and a pub are all within walking distance. Stay on a Thursday in warmer seasons and visit the nearby farmer's market. Take a walk down main st. after 10am for thrifting, antiquing, and dining.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Japangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews