We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
5
22
32
18
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
22
32
18
21
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2017

The hotel building is quite old, so the hallways are narrow and its ceiling is low. The guest room I stayed looked like Japanese old flat room. The charge is proper. I recommend this hotel, if you don't give importance to the room.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sattanaka2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel site has so much potential that has not been used or delveloped. It is situated right on the lake with lovely views. Each room has sliding doors which lead onto a balcony less than a metre wide! There is a plain concrete slab in front of the hotel which has not been developed at all. I spent the week envisioning all the wonderful things that could be done.

We came to the Hotel as a time-share week but it is not at all a time-share resort. When we first went to our room we noticed a really musty smell as we made our way down to the third floor. However our room was nice and fresh and clean but very sparsely furnished - twin beds, a low Japanese table and cushions, a fridge, TV a kettle and five cups! The room was a reasonable size with the beds at one end as you went in and an area of tatami mats with table on them. The ensuite was very small. The room was serviced every day.

We had to boil our kettle on the floor and really had nowhere to put things. Other rooms had a desk like piece of furniture but not ours. However over the 6 days we were there we became quite fond of our room and enjoyed the views over the lake. We found a couple of chairs in the passageway and commandeered them to give our old bones a rest from the floor.

The onsen was good but it was best to go before the hordes from the tour parties arrived each afternoon. Although the staff did not speak much English they were helpful and willingly drove us down to Ona Station and picked us up again when we rang. This hotel is in the middle of nowhere and there are no shops around but by catching the little train at Ona Station or going on the ferry 15 minutes walk away you can see quite a lot. There was a shuttle bus went to a nearby city (or town) but we didn't use that. The meals in the restaurant are all buffet and at a set price and at 4600 yen we felt the dinner was pretty expensive for a couple who were small eaters so we didn't use it and managed with lunch either in the hotel or out and food we bought in a nearby town. You could purchase noodles in the hotel shop which sold many exotic (to us) packaged foods.

This hotel seem to cater mainly for tour groups coming in and staying one night. As I said in the beginning it has a great potential but at the moment is rather aged. We did enjoy our six days there despite the draw backs.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room lower than the third floor.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diob255114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We stayed 7 nights with 2 small children (4yo & 6yo) in a very tiny room with a tiny, but adequate ensuite
- 2 single beds (where the kids slept) and tatami mat space for futons (for the grown ups!)
- space so small we absolutely had to fold up and store bedding away each day (I know this is a Japanese thing to do, but this was the smallest space we stayed in for the whole 5 week trip)
- only 2 power points in the room
- fabulous view - particularly sunrise (see photos)
- thin curtains made sleeping hard for kids

Resort
- Resort is dated!! Needs an upgrade desperately!
- excellent lunch buffet (Japanese and western food) - reasonably priced
- staff reasonably helpful, but sometimes grudgingly
- staff not used to dealing with foreigners, even when they speak Japanese.
- Shared kitchen was old and basic, probably not much used. There was nowhere apart from the room to eat the food cooked.
- shuttle bus to/from station - needed a little more information on arrival, but generally good
- snug rooms, but breezy, cold corridors in winter - open to lake
Region
- a good base to visit the lake, Hamamatsu or Nagoya.
- local delicacies - "mikan" mandarines and "unagi" eel were great

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmxlalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: 格安プランが狙い目です
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: リニューアルした部屋に
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews