We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like beer, you must visit. ”

Central Waters Brewing Company
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

This was my first time visiting Central Waters on a Saturday afternoon. The two other times I've been to Central Waters was on a weekday afternoon to have a beer in the beer garden. The Saturday afternoon thing was a whole different vibe. Lots of people and lots of life going on all around us. I had a double IPA and thought it was great. We decided to take the 3 o'clock tour. It was a popular tour, probably about 30 people were in our tour group. Our tour guide knew his stuff and gave us a great tour of their facility. We especially liked the barrel aging building. The smells were amazing and the sight of those thousands of barrels was very cool. I knew that hidden in a few of those barrels were a few of my future evenings or afternoons. That gave me a warm feeling inside. If you like beer, especially barrel aged beer, you must visit central waters!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Soupman1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great beer"
in 13 reviews
"honey blonde"
in 3 reviews
"central wisconsin"
in 3 reviews
"barrel aging"
in 2 reviews
"bourbon barrel"
in 2 reviews
"memorial day weekend"
in 2 reviews
"fun place"
in 3 reviews
"pizza"
in 3 reviews
"great tour"
in 3 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 2 reviews
"taproom"
in 5 reviews
"beers"
in 26 reviews
"growler"
in 5 reviews
"cw"
in 3 reviews
"stout"
in 2 reviews
"palate"
in 2 reviews
"sample"
in 3 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

What a great thing for Central Wisconsin to have. Perfect on a Saturday afternoon, especially if you have visitors in town. It's a great atmosphere inside, live music, great tour - ask for Scott Frazier. Learned a lot about brewing and are really looking forward to tasting some of the best beer around.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank N1871SUjaned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

Nice, very Wisconsin feeling. Bartenders are attentive without feeling desperate. Facilities are nice, updated. Tour is free and fun.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank MrsSpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

After this was remodelled a few years back it has become a spartan but comfortable and relatively spacious taproom right in the middle of the brewery (read industrial). All of their regular beers and many seasonal beers which you will not find on store shelves are available. There is typically no food other than snacks. In the summer there will be a good truck outside at times and carry in is welcomed. Usually this place is not busy (mostly locals) and service is good. They will have live music on most weekends and evrnts on their Facebook page is the best place to check. If you new to craft beer you will probably be very happy.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

What’s not to love about CW??? Great food, wonderful staff, and a rotating lineup of bluegrass bands during their Anniversairy parties! My friends and I bloomed probably in excess of 600 of our closest friends in Amherst last night to help CW celebrate its 20th Anni and it was a HOOT! Center stage was their XX barrel aged stout with so many awesome stout variants right behind it (Blackberry, Maple, etc). It was a night of great music, great company, and great beers. Well done!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank I2432NFscottc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Central Waters Brewing Company also viewed

Been to Central Waters Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing