We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pousada Solar Dos Deuses
Nearby Hotels
Mercure Salvador Boulevard(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Salvador Aeroporto Hangar(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$99
US$89
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bahia Do Sol(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Intercity Salvador(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Quality Hotel & Suites Sao Salvador(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Salvador Business & Flat(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bahiamar Hotel(Salvador)
US$48
US$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hit Hotel(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$46
US$33
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
126
26
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
26
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast is servedhistoric center of salvadorlocal culturecentral locationcomfortable bedcharming hoteleasy accessenjoyed our stayold townminute walkfranciscosquareheartpelourinho11pmpousadafurniture
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2017

Loved this place! It was in the city center and the rooms were HUGE!! The breakfast however was not necessary because the portions were so small. I usually got 2 portions of cereal and it sumed up to about 1/4 of a cup if not less. The utensils were not clean and the bread was very stale. Not impressed at all. I will say stay here again for sure because of cleanliness and location but skip the breakfast.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Victoria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solar Dos Deuse... S, Manager at Pousada Solar Dos Deuses, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Dear Mrs. Victoria,

I have shared your review with our team and we all thank you for the generous words about how you enjoyed your stay.

Although our breakfast is highly appreciated by our guests it seems we have failed in some aspects. I understand that you felt the portions were small. Some people eat more some less and we try to avoid waste. But our guests should feel free to ask for more. And we even have it written on the menu. Also the idea of staying with us is feeling like at home so our guests should not hesitate to let us when they are not totally satisfied with something.

All utensils should be clean and we take this very seriously. Since you have pointed it I will verify with our team and make sure ALL utensils are cleaned. So I deeply apologize for this.
The bread is homemade and again I will be working this aspect with our team to make sure we always keep the quality of our ingredients.

And we want you to come back once again, not only because of cleanliness or location but also because of our (usually very appreciated) breakfast!

We really enjoyed your good energy. It make us believe in what we do.

See you!

Kind regards,
Francisco Pimenta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

This hotel is very nice and overlooks the square. The breakfast is ok and the staff are very helpful.
But here are the things to watch out for:
- The music in the square below does not stop until midnight, so if you need to sleep earlier, this place is not for you.
- They do not have an airport shuttle or transport from the hotel. When the hotel mentioned they can arrange an airport transfer, we thought it meant the hotel shuttle or a local taxi. Instead, it was a private taxi that charged me and my husband individually and the price was through the roof. I understand that the tourist office booked the hotel for us. I suspect that they own or oversee the hotel and I learned they booked the taxi. I felt really cheated because we were not informed of the rates earlier and felt seriously ripped off by the process. Watch out for this and take a local taxi from the airport.
- We went to the Tourist Office behind the hotel and spoke to Michael (Wilderer?), who was helpful; We went on a tour with the guide Biere, who was excellent. He knows the history, takes an interest and explains everything well and went out of his way to help us find a local taxi for transportation. Michael made the arrangements for us when we met with him in person.

Room Tip: The price is luxury, but hotel is mid range in other aspects. Rooms are noisy
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thirsty7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solar Dos Deuse... S, Manager at Pousada Solar Dos Deuses, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Dear guest,

Let me first thank you for sharing your experience and for your kind words. I remember your stay quite well and it was a true pleasure to meeting you.

I'm disappointed that you referred to some negative aspects such as music running until midnight and the price of your transfer.

It is true that in the square below we have music (excellent music by the way) every day but it always finishes 10 p.m. the latest. So I am trully surprised about your comment.

As for the transfer we always do our best to provide the guests the best experience. So we offer a private transfer in an executive car, which we think follows the service pattern of our Hotel. When we offer this service we always inform the price and of course one is free to accept or not. And the guests are also free to ask about other options (which some of them do). Since we have our guests in high consideration we obviously have the duty to assist them with information about taxi when requested.
Also on our website we inform some other possibilities to reach our Hotel such as the airport shuttle or regular bus.
So once again I am intrigued about your words. We don't want to make profit of our guests. Instead we want them to be treated with a high standard service. And that's exactly what we do.

But above all I would like to emphasize the pleasure of having you with us. I hope you can come some other time.

Wish you great travels!

Kind regards,
Francisco Pimenta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

We had a super charming and very very spacious bedroom, the staff from the receptionist(s) to the kitchen helps were super helpful, accommodating and kind.
The hotel is very very well located, in the heart of the historical center, with most sites to visit just around it. There are also many restaurant options around the hotel.
The slight drawbacks to be aware of: there is no real hot water system (and it was slightly chili when we were there) or at least it does not fully function (it's more a drizzle!), there are no real communal parts in the pousada (the hotel does not have a street facing reception, you go up a flight of stairs). None of these really bothered us

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alterite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solar Dos Deuse... S, Recepcionist at Pousada Solar Dos Deuses, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear Guest.

We are pleased to know that you appreciated your stay and are deeply grateful for your review. It really help us to know how exactly we are attending our guests expectation and to try to improve our service always.

We had this issue with the shower and we are very sorry about this. It was needed to change it and we have already done it.

We hope to host you next time you visit Salvador.

Our best regards,
Team Solar dos Deuses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

A FANTASTIC find right in the very heart of Pelourinho. The staff are amazingly friendly, kind and helpful. Breakfast is charming and served in your room and comprises of all that is good for manha!! There LOADS of excellent restaurants close by as well. But BEST, is the live music in the square most evenings.....muito bem!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solar Dos Deuse... S, Recepcionist at Pousada Solar Dos Deuses, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Ms. Nina.

We are very pleased to know that you appreciated your stay and are deeply grateful for your review.

It really help us to know how exactly we are attending our guests expectation and to try to improve our service always.


We hope to host you next time you visit Salvador.


Our best regards,
Team Solar dos Deuses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

We so enjoyed our stay here. Just what we were looking for. It was comfortable and charming. The staff is polite and helpful. The breakfast was the highlight of my day.It is clean and very nicely decorated. Bathrooms are also clean and offers nice soap and shampoo.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank herbien66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solar Dos Deuse... S, Front Office Manager at Pousada Solar Dos Deuses, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Dear guest.

We are completely satisfied with your review!

We thank you very much for your kind words. We are always trying our best to make our guests feel like home at our place. It's important for us to see a review like that so we can keep improving our services in order to best attend you all.

We hope see you again at our Pousada any time.

Best regards from Salvador!!!
Team Solar dos Deuses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews