We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the pousada: please read till end as review contains both standard street view room & standard bay view room”
Review of Pousada do Pilar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada do Pilar
Ranked #59 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2015 via mobile

Please read review till the end as it contains review for two rooms one is standard street view (room 5) and the other is standard bay view (room 1). The pousada (hotel) is 30 minutes away by car from the airport. It is located in the Santa antonia area which is 10-15 minutes walk away from the pelurinhio (old town). We were advised by our tour guide to be back in the hotel before dark, so not safe to be walking in that area or to the old town at night was not recommended. The walk to the old town in hilly and rocky so make sure to wear either sandals or trainers. The pousada is owned by a couple: the lady speaks English but never smiled and seemed stropy. The man spoke only portuguese and Spanish and was much more relaxed and it is entirely due to his courtesy of changing our room from 5 to number 1 that I give this place two stars for room 1 otherwise definitely a one star for room 5. There are three kinds of rooms available : standard street view, standard bay view and I think do not quote me on this but a larger bay view room too and prices in asc
We were checked in by the lady owner and me and my husband didn't feel welcome at all. No information or recommendation of surrounding given. A cat was also on the premises.
Room 5 is located on the second floor ( in total there are three floors) and we were taken up by and extremely slow lift ( we counted that it took 41 seconds to go from ground floor to the third floor where breakfast is served on a roof top overlooking the bay). Room 5 if I was to describe it one word than it would be called a dungeon! Please at all cost avoid getting this room. The layout of the room was awkward with only one window and the neighbours across could see in completely so if this window was shut it was extremely dark as the lighting in the room was very poor. The only chandelier in the room which had three bulbs but note only one was working so it was very dark. The room and the bathroom both had a distinct smell ( not nice) that both this room and room 1 also had. You will also see the other reviews mention about the smell. The bathroom shower was very good with good force and warm water. The towels were old and thin had seen many uses. Bath soaps were the only thing provided. Two single beds were joined together ( no doubly bed) and pillows were stained and had hair on them (room 1 same issue ...pillows stained and hair on them). The room had stairs that led to an upstairs small area which was poorly lit and had a mattress on the floor. Room didn't have a safe ( same for room 1). There was a cupboard in which a mini bar was provided but no prices ( same for room 1). I was disgusted at the sight of the room and therefore asked the lady owner if there were other rooms available and she informed us that there was one bay view one but we had to pay extra so we didn't bother. At night you could hear the footsteps of the kids ( owners kids) and other guests going up and down as the bed was so close to the door. Saturday night music was blasting from the nearby restaurant but the rain saved us as the music stopped. The room
Next to us number 5 had a better layout with two windows ( do not know if it was better in terms of light or disadvantage due to the outside music, also had an upper level like our room). Sunday afternoon the place across was actually a converted garage and you could hear the person using the kracher car machine to clean the car. The music from the nearby restaurant had also started playing from midday and even if you are a music lover this music was extremely load and you could hear the thumping in your heart. We than went to reception and asked the man owner if other rooms were available. He instantly knew without telling that the noise was unbearable for us and moved us to room 1 which was a bay view room located on the ground floor just at the back of the reception for no extra cost. Please note that other standard bay view rooms on floor 1 and 2 are better than ours ( we had a quick glance at the rest of the rooms) as it gave a better view of the bay as ours was blocked partially by trees and also less noise. In our new room 1 we could still hear the music from outside but it was masked. I have put pictures of the room 1 so please have a look. Room 1 definitely bigger in size ( all on one level). The knob on the hot water Shower tap was falling out and both me and my husband on multiple occasions had to pick it up to fix it whilst showering. The room had a chair and sofa settee in side the room and in the balcony there were two chairs and a table. The lighting was much better in the room. The a.c was directly situated on top of the pillows which I personally think was a bad position to have an A.C. On on of the night an ice cube fell out of the A.C on my husband face which at that time even though hilarious was quite dangerous. Both me and my husband felt water sprinkling out of the A.C on two occasions. Salvador in general has presence of red ants and these were visible in the rooms and also during breakfast. The balcony has mentioned before, we had a partial view of the port as it was obscured by trees. Damn smell and towels which were old and thin again in room 1. Breakfast in general was ok with the chocolate cake on one of the days to die for. There were two cereals, tea sachets,coffee, one kind of bread, passion fruit, water melon, mango, papaya and pineapple available. Two kind of sweet pastries/cake also available. Three different kinds of juices. Scrambled eggs on request but we didn't ask for them. Two pots of jam available not sure of flavour. Cheese and slices of ham also available. Nice view of the harbour from the breakfast place. On whole what you pay for is what you get. Read other reviews and see pictures before booking.
The two places within 5 minutes walk from the pousada , cafelier ( coffee and snacks place) and al cormo (Italian restaurant) I definitely recommend. Will be writing reviews on them so please have a read.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Kav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2014

I am Brazilian, therefore quite positively biased towards anything Brazilian, but the way the owner runs this pousada is embarassing. The building has been very beautifully rebuilt and is a gorgeous property. The rooms are great, but the way it is advertised is deceiving. We booked the Bay View Suite...there is only 1 of these...but when we arrived we were given the standard bay view room, which is half the size. When we mentioned it to the owner (I do speak portuguese without a hitch), we were told that according to his paperwork...which turned out to be a scribbled sheet of paper taped to the desk...what we did on the internet was of no concern to him, or how the rooms are misrepresented on the internet was not his fault nor was he going to involve himself. We had booked the bay view suite for 3 nights and were more than willing to pay the full price, but this was only the beginning of the inadequate and very unprofessional treatment. We asked his wife to call a cab for us (safety at night in this part of Salvador is not good at all -- like I mentioned I am Brazilian and love my home country very much...but honesty is important here) -- we were told to call down again 5 or 10 minutes before we needed the cab...we did and her child picked up the phone (they are the prevalent members of the administration, in the lobby most of the day) and said he would call the cab, and that we should come right down. We stopped what we were doing and headed downstairs, only to find out 15 minutes later that no cab had ever been called. ONce again, no one taking any measure of addressing the issue, no apology or explanation, and no recognition that any inconvenience even existed. It seems to us the owners were either burnt out or just not meant to be in the service industry.

Room Tip: do not expect anything in the way of hospitality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Carioca-Sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2014

Really loved this hotel, lovey character property. However, rooms at the front can be a little noisy very early in the morning. Cars start driving down this little road and sometimes tooting there horns as early as 4.30am. Also, we were right opposite the restaurant which the lady working there began setting up at 6am which could also be noisy, so if you have a choice, ask for a room at the back and maybe away from the restaurant area. That said, the restauarnt was lovely, open air with a view of the harbour. The lady working there doesn't speak any English but with a lot of joking about making chicken actions (which made her laugh a lot) in the mornings, we managed to get some cooked eggs, how you get them is a surprise shall we say! Maybe scrambled, maybe fried! There is a little bar just down the road and opposite the hotel where we had drinks in the evening but it does shut at 10.30pm

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2014

The Pousada is in Pelourinho which is a very good location for seeing the historical sights. The room was very spacious and the owner was friendly although only speaking portuguese. The breakfast was not that great but for the price still ok.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RicArt43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2014

There were many things that we enjoyed and appreciated about our stay here but also a few that we didn't. The pousada is well located to access the historical centre, it is well decorated and we had upgraded to a sea view room which was beautiful. It had a large balcony where we sat in the evening to watch the sunset over the bay and also had a very good ensuite. Breakfast is taken on the top terrace where again the views are good and the choice of foods fairly extensive but unusually on the 3 night's we stayed did not offer yogurt. Our stay included a Saturday night, we were pleased that we did not overlook the street as the noise was very loud until the early hours of Sunday morning. Our main complaint was that as previously mentioned noise does carry in the pousada and on Sunday evening for several hours there were children running up and down the staircase, this continued on Monday morning. The staff on reception were mostly very helpful apart from1 mature lady who was very offhand.

Room Tip: Pay extra for seaview
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Warks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.3 km away
Pousada Colonial
Pousada Colonial
#48 of 110 in Salvador
217 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Villa Santo Antonio
Hotel Villa Santo Antonio
#81 of 110 in Salvador
65 reviews
0.3 km away
Studio do Carmo Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Pousada des Arts
Pousada des Arts
#49 of 110 in Salvador
172 reviews
0.6 km away
Pousada da Mangueira
Pousada da Mangueira
#43 of 110 in Salvador
246 reviews
0.1 km away
Pousada Villa Carmo
Pousada Villa Carmo
#82 of 110 in Salvador
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada do Pilar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada do Pilar

Address: Rua Direita de Santo Antonio 24, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-280, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Price Range: RM253 - RM443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada do Pilar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historical centre of Salvador, this beautifully decorated inn overlooks Baía de Todos os Santos Bay. Its colonial building provides guests with spacious rooms featuring city and sea views. Rooms at Pousada do Pilar have all been restored. With high ceilings and traditional décor, each includes a TV, air conditioning, a minibar and a safety deposit box. Free Wi-Fi is provided too. Breakfast is served on Pousada do Pilar's rooftop terrace. Guests can enjoy regional items while admiring panoramic bay views. The hotel is right in front of the bay. The neighborhood Santo Antonio Além do Carmo is a great choice for travellers interested in architecture, history and old town exploring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Pousada do Pilar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Pilar Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing