We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere in small Hotel located in the old center”
Review of Pousada do Pilar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pousada do Pilar
Ranked #59 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Having booked for a large family room (3 beds: for parents and two children) we had a terrace with a terrific view on the Bay Todos os Santos (4th floor), close to the partly open air breakfast terrace (third floor). Friendly personnel with humor, breakfast is good and tropical. Excellent bathroom. Daily life is just lively enough in an also quiet street, at walking distance to the Carmo church and Pelourinho square. Pousada expires arty ambience with paintings (Gilberto Gil!) and colourfull walls.

Room Tip: fourth floor with terrace, Bay as well as street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2017

The pousada is close to the Pelourinho. Our room was clean and cozy with a small balcony to the street and the breakfast very good. We would like to thank Nilton and the rest of the staff for the warm and friendly stay. Kind regards from Micha and Rosi from Germany.

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank Rose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

very good value, large room with bay view, balcony, nice furniture. the staff is friendly and good breakfast on the terrace with bay view.
very well located on the old town, santo Antonio near Pelourinho.
one of the best hotel i had in Brazil (5 weeks).

Room Tip: rooms with bay view are more expensive but are worth the spending.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank arzklh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juvan Batista J, Gerente at Pousada do Pilar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Dear,
Thank you for reporting me on TripAdvisor and we were extremely happy with your satisfaction with our pousada and that you and your wife were able to enjoy unforgettable moments with us.
We count on your return in the near future.

Kind regards,

Juvan Batista | Manager
Pousada do Pilar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Our room was Big and had a View over The Bay. It is located in The Upper part, which is close to restaurants and shops. Breakfast was moderate. But with a Nice View. The staff varied a bit, from extremely Nice to average. It was great that we could hold our room longer on The day of departure. Shower and bed where good!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Caroline1896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juvan Batista J, Gerente at Pousada do Pilar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Dear Mrs. Caroline,

We appreciate your comment about your stay at the Pousada do Pilar.

Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind regadrs,

Juvan Batista | Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We staied two night at the Hotel Pilar. The hotel is very nice and has big rooms. Unfortunately the service was not so good. the reception lady didn't greet us and was not really friendly. Also the ladies next to the breakfast buffet were both not really in the mood to take care of preparing breakfast. We felt a little bit not welcome there.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtlessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_do_Pilar, Gerente at Pousada do Pilar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Dear,

Thank you for your stay in ou Pousada!

We appreciate your comment, and we will improve every negative point mentioned.

Kind regards,

Manager | Pousada do Pilar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.3 km away
Pousada Colonial
Pousada Colonial
#46 of 110 in Salvador
223 reviews
0.2 km away
Pousada des Arts
Pousada des Arts
#50 of 110 in Salvador
175 reviews
0.2 km away
Pousada Villa Carmo
Pousada Villa Carmo
#83 of 110 in Salvador
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Studio do Carmo Boutique Hotel
0.3 km away
Hotel Villa Santo Antonio
Hotel Villa Santo Antonio
#80 of 110 in Salvador
65 reviews
0.6 km away
Pousada da Mangueira
Pousada da Mangueira
#42 of 110 in Salvador
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada do Pilar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada do Pilar

Address: Rua Direita de Santo Antonio 24, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-280, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Price Range: RM246 - RM462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada do Pilar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historical centre of Salvador, this beautifully decorated inn overlooks Baía de Todos os Santos Bay. Its colonial building provides guests with spacious rooms featuring city and sea views. Rooms at Pousada do Pilar have all been restored. With high ceilings and traditional décor, each includes a TV, air conditioning, a minibar and a safety deposit box. Free Wi-Fi is provided too. Breakfast is served on Pousada do Pilar's rooftop terrace. Guests can enjoy regional items while admiring panoramic bay views. The hotel is right in front of the bay. The neighborhood Santo Antonio Além do Carmo is a great choice for travellers interested in architecture, history and old town exploring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Pousada do Pilar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Pilar Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing