We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
IARA Beach
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Pousada Poesia(Salvador)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Malibu(Salvador)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
52
47
13
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
47
13
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

We found Iara Beach a great base to explore Salvador with kids. The hotel is located on a safe beach with a fishing "colony" and has a small but nice pool. The Itapua neighbourhood is lively and several of Salvador's best restaurants are less than a kilometre away. The historic centre is about a half hour away; Praia do Forte about an hour in the other direction. It helps to have a rental car. The hotel is new and nicely decorated with work by local artists. The missing fifth star is due to a sort of stinginess that seems to come from the top, because individual staff members were almost all very friendly. For instance, they charge for calling taxis and skimp on things like mosquito repellent and toilet paper. ("Are you sure you need more toilet paper?") Also, our "partial sea view" room actually overlooked the parking lot. Staff were helpful with allergy issues but not well prepared for emergencies (for our son's asthma attack, we were sent to a hospital that doesn't accept kids). Still, even with these issues, we didn't see any place in Salvador that would be better for a family visit.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Iara Hotel twice during our travels in Brazil.
The hotel rooms are very comfortable and the pool area is very well maintained.
There are enough sun loungers for all clients.
We found the staff very helpful, especially around the pool, they were constantly asking if we needed their services.
We ate a couple of times in the hotel restaurant and found the food on both occasions very nice. Unfortunately, most clients, having spent the day at the pool, chose to eat out at night and therefore the restaurant was lacking atmosphere.
I cannot understand why they do not choose to advertise the restaurant, I think if hotel clients were to see more people dining they might consider eating here as well.
There were a couple of small issues that travellers need to be aware of, although it did not detract from our enjoyment:
1. We assumed the hotel would have a currency exchange service to change dollars, but they don't. So it is best to exchange at the airport before arriving.
2. The immediate surrounding area is not supposed to be safe at night and the beach is not so friendly, having said that, with such a lovely pool area, we did not feel the need to leave through the day.
It is recommended to take taxis at night if you want to eat out. There are lots of nice restaurants close by.
Although the town is not supposed to be safe at night, we walked there every morning and loved the lively markets.

Whilst there I recommended that the hotel should add their website to the Trip Advisor page.
Also, I think they could benefit from including an "info @" email address so that anyone with specific questions could do this by email prior to their visit.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank HazelEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Very new hotel with friendly staff. Excellent pool located right in front of a nice beach. Amazing sunset location !
We had two communicating rooms on the ground floor for a decent price with good bedding. Easy to reach from the airport. Excellent choice whenever you have a short stay in Salvador.
Improvement needed in the breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fabriceetpaola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

The Hotel is very beautiful and located directly at the beach. There is even an infinity pool which is lit up every night in different colors!

However dinner tasted very bad. For so much money and in a 5 stars hotel I expect my fish not to be chewy and the vegetables had no spices at all, not even salt. Therefore only 4 stars out of 5.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank alpacallama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016

The hotel is a great place, we spent a nice wekend with my wife here. The pool is amazing. The hotel is brand new, just opened when we arrived. I will be back for sure :)
The service is very friendly and kind.

Room Tip: I suggest to reserve the ocean view suits. Great room with a perfect panorama on the swimingpool and ocean.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Szakál A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews