We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
12
22
34
12
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
22
34
12
15
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This was my first time in Brazil and was in Belo Horizonte for a conference. I shared a triple room with my friend and I have to say, it was a great experience. Some people wrote that the area was unsafe but I am a 32-year-old woman who had no problem walking around in the area at night with my (female) friend. The room was very clean, the beds weren't the most exquisitely comfortable, but they were fine, and the room and bathroom were spacious. There is no AC but we were there in the winter and didn't need it anyway. It is true that the hot water was challenging. I didn't have one hot shower there in a week. However I found the staff absolutely lovely (although none spoke English and few spoke even Spanish) and the breakfast was huge and delicious. Our room faced the very busy street and the noise level was definitely a challenge too. However I don't really feel that's the hotel's fault. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room that's not on the busy street (I can't remember the name of that street but they'll know what you mean).
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FreyaAriane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

This is really the first time I decided to say anything negative about an hotel. I never complain about any place I stay, but to keep quiet about this hotel would be a crime against unsuspecting travellers.

First of all the lobby looks great, but that is where it ends. No one in the hotel can understand anything else than Portuguese. The lifts are old and manually operated and not very safe.

The room was really small, but that wasn't what bothered me most. There was a giant hole through the outside wall where I assume the airconditioner once were. The hole was covered by a wooden plank, but the wind blew in through the sides and you could see the traffick lights changing colour from green to yellow to red right through the night, shining through the open sides between the bricks and the plank.

The sheets on the beds were worn right through. You could actually see the matresses underneath.

The shower curtain was made to hang from a used broomstick.

Although they advertised free internet and confirmed that in the reservation, they charged to use the internet.

Whats more, the hotel is situated in the worst part of Belo Horizonte and it is definitely not safe to go outside after dark as the front desk staff warned us.

The breakfast was quite generous though, although not very tasty. The fruit was excellent as everywhere in Brazil.

Whatever you do, don't stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BrutusWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

OK, so here is the deal, the location was amazing, and we actually felt very safe in room, however, you couldn´t lock the room. You could lock the door, but there was a large window (about 6´up) between the bathroom and the hall that didn´t lock. There was also a small table just out side our room that would have made it quite simple for anyone to climb in through the window.

The room didt have AC, so had to sleep with window open. From 3am until 5am a tractor trailer parked under our window and idled. The other nights (we stayed 3) the street noise was just a dull roar, but that night (first in country with Jet Lag) was miserable.

DID I MENTION NO HOT WATER... in a country where you can buy a showerhead hot water heater for almost nothing, there is no excuse for a hotel charging over 140 reals a night to not have hot water. They had two faucet handles, cold and colder. Guess the hot water heater was broken, I even tried taking a shower at 3am (see previous comment), still cold.

Elevator was interesting. It is an old manually operated elevator. We (me and 2x 20ish sons) got into the elevator with operator and maid and 3 carry on suitcases, and it didn´t have the power to go up. After a few failed attempts, the maid got off, and we were able to go up. We frequently took the stairs after that.

The hotel was actually really nice and I would like to recommend it, but without hot water, without the ability to lock the room, and with the noise level, I just can´t recommend it.

Stayed: April 2010
4  Thank RNJ45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2009

A wonderful Art Deco building with an ancient lift (manually operated) and an 8th floor restaurant with good views over the nearby streets and that could easily function as a ballroom (maybe it was, once!) The rooms are clean and the staff are polite and helpful. The drawback is that in the admirable interests of conservation, there is no air-conditioning; normally this might not matter but there was a heatwave when I was there, so the room was quite stuffy and there was also plenty of street noise. However if the building doesn't have planning protection, it certainly should, so staying there is quite an experience.

P.S. for information, Belo Horizonte is not in Mato Grosso as listed on Tripadvisor, but in Minas Gerais.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 16jamesdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews